We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place. Perfect "nature tourism" spot !!!”
Review of Solace Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kullu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solace Retreat
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kullu
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place. Perfect "nature tourism" spot !!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were initially introduced to Solace Retreat thru a friend. It's a 1.5hr drive off the Kullu-Manali highway. Since we drove from Delhi to Sojha, it was a long and tiring journey. But the moment we stepped into the resort, we completely forgot our drive.

This place is a nature traveller's heaven. As close to nature - and yet has all of the basic amenities one would expect. These guys have tried to preserve as much of nature as they could - and they've done a good job.

What I like most about Solace Retreat is the location of the resort and the warmth of the staff. The terrace next to the dining hall opens into a lush green valley with snow peaked mountains on the far right.

Manu (the owner there) and his team are "wondrfully warm" guys. Extremely helpful, took care of the smallest of the details - and that too tastefully. One thing worth mentioning here is that the quality of good is fantastic which is rare in typical hill station hotels.

Solace Retreat is a place "nature lovers" will love to be in. Each "floor" has a wooden balcony covered with glass. A perfect place to spend the day in the sun's warmth - reading a book and sipping coffee - no matter how cold or windy it is outside !!

The rooms are clean, spacious and have a very warm feeling. The entire staff is amazing - almost seems like family members to us. Added attraction is the treks and their own well informed guides (and treking infrastructure) available in the resort.

I will definetely be planning my next vacation to this resort soon !!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I thought that I had explored the complete Himachal till I came to know about The Solace Retreat -- Sojha.
The place Sojha became more special with the presence of SOLACE RETREAT there. The Solace Retreat provides all upto date amenities with friendly and helpful Staff. Food is delicious and served well. The Owner Mr. Manu Seth himself visualizes and organize things under his supervision. According to his quote- Customer Satisfaction is his supreme goal. He organizes Bike riding, hill trekking, sight seeing, yoga discourses etc etc. too that you find nowhere else with this quality and ambience.
The place is serene wtihout any sort of pollution - even noise pollution- that my ears and mind feel relaxed by being away of any kind of sound. The great part of this place is that there is no market, stalls or crowd. There is Peace all around and Natural Beauty which you have not seen anywhere in India or in any Hill Station.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkaastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I had been to Shoja earlier , but this fantastic Place ( Solace Retreat ) was not ready then. I stayed in PWD rest house., which was very nice. This time I was fortunate to get a place like Solace to stay. This Hotel is situated at the right place and the location is just perfect .I found its location better than the famous Banjara Retreat . But what makes the hotel unique and extraordinary is the " PEOPLE and their ATTITUDE ". The people of Solace made the Hotel - A Home - with their care , attention , warmth, genuineness and simplicity. They are not so called PROFESSIONAL - But they are More and More than a perfect Professional - They made us feel that they are our extended family members. It is very very difficult these days to find genuine and simple people ( human Being ) - I am extremely happy to find it , there in Solace, at Shoja. The most surprising and interesting part of this hotel , is the work culture - which is purely established
By Mr. Manu - there is NO BOSS and NO STAFF - ALL are MEMBERS of The Solace FAMILY and fully empowered to take care of the guest. A very friendly atmosphere. Our experience was fantastic , because of three reasons 1. The Place ( Shoja ) 2. The Hotel ( Solace Retreat ) 3. The Hotel Members ( Mr.Manu and all team members ) . I will recommend very highly to experience Shoja and definitely with Solace , otherwise it will be incomplete - excellent location , excellent staff and excellent service . I will again and again visit Shoja - its the right place to get a break from the crowded / polluted metro life .I will plan my trip , only if I get the Booking at Solace - For me its a JOINT VENTURE.
IT IS " SHOJA WITH SOLACE " - its a great experience.


*** Shoja is extremely RICH with Nature and you will learn what is the exact meaning of " QUIET "
*** Solace - A Beautiful Hotel and You will feel that , you have come to your close relative after a long period - this is the way they treat you as a guest.

Housekeeping - Very Clean and well furnished Rooms.

Food - Very Very tasty home style food and the Presentation of food is excellent .

THEY GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE YOUR STAY A MEMORABLE ONE.
THEY ARE NOT THERE JUST TO MAKE MONEY , BUT TO MAKE RELATIONSHIP.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suparnasarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Solace Retreat is one great place to come and relax in this quaint and lovely hill station called Sojha (which is all but one hairpin bend). We had a wonderful 3 days and the care and hospitality extended to us by Manu and his fabulous team was just out of this world. We felt right at home. The day trips were so exciting and I must say that my 7 year old daughter Komal had a real blast which included her first 8 hour trek at Jalori Pass along with Manu's team who are not only courteous and caring but a very friendly and accommodating lot.
The scenic beauty & weather here is just plain awesome. This is one holiday which will be etched in our memory forever.. we will definitely be going back to stay with Manu and team Solace Retreat. Cheers !!
Komal | Shivani | Akash.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axemathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Sojha has divine scenic beauty. Staying at Solace retreat was an extraordinary experience. The place is full of calm and natural energy. It is pure, clean and adventorous. Solace retreat offers you comfortable and peaceful stay. Clean rooms, good food and trekking trip arrangements also. It provides you with all the requirements of an adventorous trekking trip including equipment and a well informed guide. It has all the making of an adventure trip, while enjoying nature's most amazing gifts. Must be included in one's list of visiting once. Visit once, you will go again, I will definitely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivaniseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Sojha is a great place away from the maddening rush and crowd of humans. Its a very scenic drive from Aut, takes around 75 minutes to reach Sojha from Aut. We went from Delhi, the drive was a bit long but once we reached Sojha and Solace retreat we forgot completely about the drive.

Solace Retreat is not a fancy place with luxuries. Its a small retreat with about 8 rooms hidden / surrounded in the valleys and greenery. Its for people who love nature and want to enjoy the whole quiet / green environment. No sign of vehicles, away from pollution.....The owner Manu is a young energetic human being ready for any and every help. Its a home away from home. He took us for some great trecks, he is also a great chef, we enjoyed some great local and international cuisines at the place......

Ones gotta experience Sojha with Solace Retreat........

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohita70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Sohja is a beautiful place and Solace retreat makes this experience even better. From the roof adjoining the dinning area you get a fantastic view of the valley with snow covered mountain peaks on your right side (they were quite far off in october but still pretty) to luch green forest right infront of you. The staff is fantastic they went with me on couple of mountain walks nice and friendly. One great thing to note is the owner of this hotel is a former chef so the quality of good is fantastic which is not normal the case in typical hill station hotel. Over all a great value for money and a peaceful vacation. another thing which I liked is a sit out area they have developed all in wood with large glass window so no matter how chilly it is outside inside it is very warm and comfortable.

Word of caution If you are looking for a fancy, luxurious accommodation than this is not the one for you. It is offbeat but amoung typical mountain hotels it is fantastic.
I would highly recommend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nidhijseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kullu
1.0 mi away
Natures Lap Resort
Natures Lap Resort
#1 of 1 in Banjar
13 reviews
31.2 mi away
Kullu Valley Hotel
Kullu Valley Hotel
#3 of 17 in Kullu
16 reviews
31.1 mi away
Shobla International
Shobla International
#1 of 17 in Kullu
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 mi away
Hotel Aroma Classic
Hotel Aroma Classic
#2 of 17 in Kullu
8 reviews
25.7 mi away
Mashoo Resorts
Mashoo Resorts
#6 of 17 in Kullu
5 reviews
39.8 mi away
Tree House Cottages
Tree House Cottages
#2 of 70 in Kullu
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solace Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solace Retreat

Property: Solace Retreat
Address: 1 VPO Sojha, Kullu 175123, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Kullu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kullu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a place for nature lovers, trekkers and people who like peace. It is situated in Himachal Pradesh, India at a height of 8200 ft. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing