We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come as Guests Go as Friends”
Review of Upadhyay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kullu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upadhyay Cottages
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Kullu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were at Upadhyay Cottages from 3rd November 2013 to 7th November 2013.
1. Location:
Upadhyay Cottages is located in an beautiful Apple, Persimmon, Walnut, Lime and lemon garden in the quaint town of Katrain. Located as it is equidistant from Kullu and Manali it offers you the proximity of either without the "crowded by tourist" feeling.
2. Facilities:
The cottage we stayed in had two independent bedrooms with attached baths and a "Fully functional" Kitchen cum Dining room. The room sizes were impressive. The Veranda outside was ideally located and furnished to laze out in the sun watching the hills, specially the white capped one playing hide and seek in fluffy white clouds. Sitting on the fore lawn swing listening to the gentle roar of the Beas interspersed with the chirping of the birds will gently soothe your city worries.

Both the Bedrooms have Comfortable beds with warm Razais, Comfortable Sofas and Table, and Cupboards for clothes. All windows and doors have Mesh doors to keep critters out. The Bathrooms are clean and maintained well. They come with independent geysers which in the cold November days were indispensable. All Bathroom fittings were of good quality and in working order. Toilet rolls, Toiletries and Towels were adequate. The hand wash provided at the Wash basin were nice thoughtful addition.
The Kitchen cum Dining room was fully functional with Fridge, Two Burner Stove, Vessels, Cutlery and basic masalas. The Kitchen sink too comes with own geyser. Mr. Rajeev also provided us a Speaker system to play our own favourite music right out of our Phones .
3. Cleanliness
The rooms, Toilets and general surroundings were absolutely clean. Every day we returned from our day trips to clean Rooms, Bed sheets and the Geyser thoughtfully switched on.
4. Hospitality
Rajeev and his team took care of our every need without being intrusive. From hunting down a bag we had left in the bus, to arranging for a extremely good car and driver for our local trips as also return trip to ambala, A camp fire surprise one evening to Diwali celebrations with his family on another. The entire Upadhyay family made sure that we ere well taken care of and they did this with a smile
5. Food.
Upadhyay Cottages offers good wholesome and homely food. Breakfasts were Omelettes and Parathas while Dinners were Soup, Dal, Roti, Chawal, Salad and Sabji. A fruit basket which got replenished with apples and persimmons regularly, always adorned our dining table. , Non-veg food is cooked in separate vessels as most of the Upadhyay family are pure vegetarians. One day we got some fresh trout from the Beas river and had it cooked for us.

A special thumbs up to Rajeev and his Team Shyam and Shomu. Thanks for making our holiday memorable

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gunnis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Upadhyay Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 302 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A very good cottage with a good locality.
Very pleasant environment.
Very good people to serve you.
Very convenient to travel to any sightseeing.
All at very affordable cost.
Overall a very happy experience in staying at Upadhyay Cottages.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Leo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here from 12 Oct for 5 nights. Like wine somethings just get better with time. Having stayed here in similar October month earlier in 2011, this was my second visit to Upadhyay Cottages. I had first read reviews about Upadhyay Cottages on mouthshut.com somewhere in 2007-2008 i guess., Thereafter I had the opportunity to stay for just 1 night in 2011 while on way to Leh via Rohtang Pass. But that 1 night stay experience in 2011 made me not even consider any other option this time around and I have now experienced a stay of 5 nights. This time around the Wifi option was available here at Upadhyay Cottages.

The place is very homely and surrounded by beautiful plantations. One gets to see variety of trees in the compound like walnet tree, peach tree, apple tree, pomengranate tree and a typical japanese fruit dont remember its name though. Lots of flowers and its just beautiful.

Its is a home stay with a very warm family and many thanks to Mr. Rajeev for his hospitality and service. And yes this time around Mr. Rajeev upgraded his bike to Classic Royal Enfield and I had the opportunity to rent it for these 5 days, had fun going around kullu, manali and rohtang on this bike.

Room Tip: There are cottages with 1 bedroom, 2 bed room and 3 bedroom options, all of them very well maintaine...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Upadhyay Cottages from 28th Sept to 5th Oct 2013. We had initially planned to stay at top rated hotels and resorts in Kullu and Manali towns. This fabulous place, which is a homestay in an orchard owned by Upadhyay family, beats the best amongst all. It is located in Kullu valley just 10 kms (30 minutes drive) before the Manali hill town in a village called Jong, Katrain opposite Naggar. The beautiful orchard and the cottages are surrounded by mountains and greenery all around. There are 3 cottages with totally 6 rooms. We chose the Cottage No. 3 which had 2 bedrooms with attached bath and a big dining and kitchen (with LPG stove, utensils, dishes, etc.). The rooms as well as the bathrooms were well furnished and absolutely clean. All cottages have a verandah and a garden which ensures privacy and quiet living amidst beautiful natural surroundings. My mother liked the homely atmosphere and home cooked fresh food provided by the Upadhyay family which lives about 100 mts away in the orchard. The orchard has apple, walnut, peach and other fruit bearing trees as well as vegetables and flowering plants. We bought a lot of apples and walnuts from them. There are many things to learn about orchards, trees, culture, customs, etc. in this excellent homestay as well as the surrounding village. In the mornings, we woke up to the songs of wide variety of birds. Rajeev Upadhyay and his parents had valuable advise and information on Kullu valley. The entire Upadhyay family was very helpful. The kids were loving and playful. The service provided by Shyam (who is from Nepal) was excellent, prompt and on time. The vegetable soup prepared by Shyam can beat the best chefs in town. Kullu and Manali towns are over built and over crowded. The shops at Mall Road were absolutely worthless. In Manali, we visited Hidimba Temple (it has beautiful surroundings in an otherwise ruined Manali), Tibetan Monastery, Manu Temple (Old Manali), Van Vihar and Nature Park. My mother bought the famed Kullu shawls from Bhuttico the weavers co-operative store. We also visited the extraordinary Naggar Castle built by the Raja of Kullu, which has a restaurant with breathtaking views of the mountains, valleys and the Beas river. The Roerich museum is worth visiting for lovers of art. The road from Naggar to Jana Falls, about 12 kms, has spectacular views of mountains, valleys and hamlets. On the way, there is Chamundadevi temple at the scenic and serene Nashala Village. We also visited the beautiful Solang Valley about 16 kms from Manali, which again has spectacular views of the Himalayas. It was a memorable journey and we plan to visit Upadhyay cottages again-- Utsal Karani, Mumbai (NGOs Bombay Environmental Action Group and Janhit Manch)

Room Tip: Cottage No.1 has best views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtsalKarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Aftr a long hectic journy almost from bottom(south) to top(north) we did land in a place we nevr thought of such a beautiful place in one word " heaven on the earth ". The hospitality recevd from rajeev was unforgetable , we really got a new relative, aftr being so far from ur hometown,the well furnished cottage, the best staff , the view of the mountains was eye catching .IN WORD IT WAS A HOME IN THE HEAVEN. What we paid to mr.rajeev was only for his cottage and no one can pay to the hospitality we did recive from him.I ADVISE TO MANALI TRAVELLERS TO VISIT HIS COTTAGE AS IT IS THE BEST IN ALL ASPECTS.FINALLY I THANK MR.RAJEEV FOR HIS UNFORGETABLE HOSPITALITY.
I hav uploaded few photos.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satiamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Aftr a long hectic journy almost from bottom(south) to top(north) we did land in a place we nevr thought of such a beautiful place in one word " heaven on the earth ". The hospitality recevd from rajeev was unforgetable , we really got a new relative, aftr being so far from ur hometown,the well furnished cottage, the best staff , the view of the mountains was eye catching .IN WORD IT WAS A HOME IN THE HEAVEN. What we paid to mr.rajeev was only for his cottage and no one can pay to the hospitality we did recive from him.I ADVISE TO MANALI TRAVELLERS TO VISIT HIS COTTAGE AS IT IS THE BEST IN ALL ASPECTS.FINALLY I THANK MR.RAJEEV FOR HIS UNFORGETABLE HOSPITALITY.
I hav uploaded few photos.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satiamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to Manali and we had already booked cottages in Upadhyay Cottages. The bus was late to reach Katrain, but Mr.Rajeev Upadhyay came to pick us up. From the main road you take a deviation, travel for about a KM and then you reach Upadhyay Cottages. It’s such a beautiful place surrounded by beautiful flowers, valleys and some apple orchard. The place is very peaceful; you get a good view of the huge mountain on the opposite side. The cottage is very spacious with a good room, kitchen, dining hall and sitting area. The roof and floor are completely wooden and you get a totally cozy feeling in these cottages. The best part is that there are only few cottages here and hence you don’t get the feel of a crowded hotel. Kids can literally play around as there is so much lawn area in the front.

As regards to the hospitality, it’s one of the best I have seen so far. The family lives in the same compound and they make you feel very comfortable. Mr.Rajeev himself will ensure that your stay is very comfortable and would plan the sightseeing, arrange taxi as well. One thing I would want to add that the taxi driver arranged by Mr.Rajeev for manali sightseeing was the best.
Also we wanted to go to Chandigarh and Rajeev arranged the taxi at very low price since lot of taxi which comes for drop to manali go back at reduced rates.
Overall thanks Mr. Rajeev for making our stay very enjoyable and memorable one. I will be coming with family in April and would stay at your cottage only. I would also highly recommend all to visit these cottages and enjoy your vacations there along with the very good hospitality of Mr. Rajeev. I have also attached some pics of the cottages along with one pic of Rajeev along with us.

Room Tip: Cottage 2 has no veranda, but a garden with chairs. The cottage is at the front of the property and...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishpujari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kullu
9.7 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#2 of 126 in Manali
459 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kullu Valley Hotel
Kullu Valley Hotel
#4 of 17 in Kullu
17 reviews
3.8 mi away
LaRiSa Resort
LaRiSa Resort
#1 of 3 in Haripur
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Shobla International
Shobla International
#1 of 17 in Kullu
77 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 126 in Manali
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tree House Cottages
Tree House Cottages
#2 of 71 in Kullu
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upadhyay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upadhyay Cottages

Address: Village Jong, P.O. Katrain, Kullu 175129, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Kullu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Kullu
Price Range: $47 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing