We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids feel like there is a ghost in the rooms.”
Review of Mehar's

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalhousie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mehar's
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Dalhousie
Hissar District, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kids feel like there is a ghost in the rooms.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed there on 17 & 18 june night. Rooms are horrible.. no cleanliness.. people can hear whats happning in the next room. A lot of insects in the room.. we have booked the hotel online thats why not able to cancle the booking after checkin. I have changed the room next day in the same hotel.they are also same. Bathroom and toilets are so dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank manibaniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The entire holiday experience was marred due to the stay at this hotel.
The hotel room was very dirty and there were no accessories. The linens were not changed from the one used by the previous occupant. Our request for a change of the towels and linens was also not entertained by the staff.
Extra bed was not offered to us in spite of it being in the package that we had booked. Insects, e.g millipede, centipede, spiders, lizards, etc. kept crawling on the floor, and the staff asked us to sleep on the floor.
On top of that, the hotel staff were extremely unfriendly and rude. They were drunk since evening and any attempt to get the above mentioned things corrected was rebuked.

The entire experience was harrowing and I would not recommend anybody to visit this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Never take this hotel as you will definitely have a terrible experience. There are much better hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GutsGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dalhousie hotels

Thane, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited Dalhousie during 19 May 2014 to 22 May 2014 . First day we stood in Hotel Royal Recidency. The room was average. Small bathroom. Hot water control is thro' reception. In the morning there was some issue so did not get hot water on time.

Next day we shifted to Mehar's Hotel.

Mehar's Hotel in Dalhousie is very nice. It's heritage rating hotel. Surrounding and location is very beautiful. Wi-fi facility is also available. Our room was very nice with a big bathroom. Hot water is available any time. Control is in our hand. Restaurant facility, room service is nice. Good food. Rate are also ok. Cleanliness and service is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swati P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had our honeymoon in Himachal. We covered from Shimla, Manali, Dharamsala & Dalhousie. The later place had become our most favorite place and we enjoyed Dalhousie at it best for having our stay in this amazingly nestled place.
its the oldest and largest hotel in Dalhousie. 2-3mins walk to the main mall area. My husband & I both got excited after we checked in and saw our room. its a huge property and one actually need 15-20 mins to cover the property by walk. the way the architectural is done and built is look like a small village on one floor. The ground floor room is also on at the height of 1st floor. Then you will enter on the big sitting area by a staircase where you can sit under the sun and enjoy nature along with your lunch or breakfast or you can enjoy dinner along with bone fire which we did. our room was like a cottage on the 1st floor. We walked through the big loby and take the spiral iron staircase (each this type of room has individual iron staircase) to enter our room and it was amazing. the floor (covered with thick carpet), wall, ceiling was made of wood with big glass windows. the bathroom was clean, cozy and fitted with modern fittings. One side window open to the loby area and another was to the green, green and greener hills.
The hotel was not with a 3-5star facility but the old 18th century look and the warm behavior of the staff really make this property worth like staying in a luxurious hotel. A magnificent view of the snow clad mountain peaks of Pir Panjal ranges adorns the frontal view of the hotel and from most of rooms.
Our great freedom fighter Subhash Chandra Bose had stayed at this hotel (it was not a hotel that time) during his visit to Pathankot. that room is now a family suite and guest can actually stay there though we did not since it was family room and we were only 2.
the hotel has room service (Prompt) and good in-house restaurant which serves good food.
All together it was a worth staying and will refer to everyone.

Room Tip: book the cottage type rooms which you need to enter by the sprial iron staircase to enter. these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parnavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

no doubt a budget place at the main centre of Dalhousie but it is in a real bad state! The property is huge with a lot of heritage value considering Subhas Chandra Bose stayed here. But guess they have really not looked after it since then!
The rooms and bathrooms are huge but be careful once you are in it. Do cross check for insects, lizards etc which would be residing at that place and might have their small family with them as well!

The door locks are just for show, if anyone just bangs once, the door might fall! ofcourse you can hear everything in the next room but be careful as from the cracks in the door, people might even be able to see you so use wisely the curtains provided!

i am not even going towards the food cause food can be arranged from wherever in Dalhousie so that should not be an issue.

the only reason I gave 1 star is for its heritage value and the fact that it hosted Netaji!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuchi_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This place is a total rip-off.... TOTAL!!
We stayed there in December 2011, considering a busy Christmas time booking was done well in advance. With half the tariff being paid in advance, even though our travel plan was getting hectic - we had to make it till there.

Considering we were on the road for more than 8 hours, this place was not worth as end of our tiresome journey. It has two wings - Super vintage and vintage; no kidding!!

To our surprise, despite being Christmas vacations there were hardly any guests beside us. First they took us to the super-vintage section. Here, rooms were smelly, dusty and seemed like not opened for eons. Next, they suggested staying in a charming room atop winding staircase. Even though the view was good, the room was crooked and floor was creaking.

At last they gave us a spacious room near the reception. We could actually hear word-to-word from their reception counter. As mentioned the room was spacious enough to accommodate us, but its bathroom requires a special mention. At the end of corridor with old plumbing system - modestly clean and sparsely giving warm water. All in all not a good experience.

As far as this hill station is considered; will suggest people to stay away during winters. We hardly came across any tourist. Lack of people resulted in lack of amenities. Like there were hardly any places open to eat, as this being low season.

If in search of good food, then would suggest Punjabi restaurant near Subhash chowk church. There are two of them, although we tried only one the next also seems pretty decent.

Room Tip: If you consider staying here, then go for relatively newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank charanti_inde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The location is excellent with good space to wander around. This is a very old building, but with some charming rooms (there are also some terrible rooms, so make sure to book a deluxe room). I had made an advancereservation but was shocked to see a pathetic room (ground floor , near reception). When protested the Manager was willing to shift to another block with OK room. Persistance (and luck) helped, and we moved to a charming block (I donot remember the block number, we got the upstairs room), but this is the last block. I definitely think they can do a better maintenance (for the money we spent 1200/= day). If not the peak season the rate could be bargained. There is a restaurant, but the food is just OK, and we preferered to eat out. We (my wife and daughter) enjoyed sitting down in the benches provided in the open space, listening to the chiping of birds, cacophony of langurs and feeling the mist engulf us.

  • Liked — One block has a colonial charm
  • Disliked — bathrooms could definitley need some rennovation
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pvajith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalhousie
0.0 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#31 of 35 in Dalhousie
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar's
Hotel Kumar's
#4 of 35 in Dalhousie
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 35 in Dalhousie
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
#5 of 35 in Dalhousie
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
9.2 mi away
Hotel Ashiana Regency
Hotel Ashiana Regency
#1 of 4 in Chamba
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mehar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehar's

Property: Mehar's
Address: Near Gandhi Chowk, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mehar's 2*
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing