We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, British Raj relic”
Review of Hotel Mount View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mount View
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Dalhousie
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Dalhousie is a beautiful place, and this hotel has glorius views. Some old Raj style suites, others newer rooms. Friendly service. Food - average 2/3 star.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopefully-of-help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 321 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2009

I had stayed Dalhousie for 2 days there for honeymoon. It is the best hotel there. The staff was too friendly. I have taken the Super Deluxe suite from yatra.com package. The package was too good. The breakfast and dinner was complimentary. The service was too fast. We had some of the bulbs not working in the room, they got it changed within few minutes. The quality was food was too good. They have arranged the bonfire for us and we have enjoyed there. I recommend this hotel for any purpose of visit. While we were leaving the room , they had given us the return gift and has packed the lunch for us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arora15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I have just returned from a weekend trip of Dalhousie. One of the best highlights of the trip was the Hotel Mount View. With ultimate view and environment, the hotel gives you a great relaxed feeling that you much desire on any vacation.

The food is good, though not above average and the room service is pretty decent. the very idea of attaching a room mate with every room gives a good customized feeling. Overall i would rate the hotel as above average

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HIllyBillyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Ideal location just on vally with beautiful rooms and best service/food. Just close to busstand but still quite and cozy place

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amit2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed here about a week ago.

The Grounds and Views: The hotel appears to be set up in a somewhat U like shape, with the inner part of the U being an open area with a fountain, benches, tables and chairs that allow for breathtaking views of the mountains and valleys beyond. Snow-capped still when we went. And there is a lovely windchime that simply will melt you into total relaxation as the wind blows and you enjoy a nice cup of warm tea looking at the view.

The Room: Our room was quite large (and frankly unexpectedly so). We were on the second floor on the side that looked at at the valley and mountains. Think of it being set up like a motel where each of the room doors faces the outdoors, and is not in an enclosed building facing a hallway. There were stairs (did not see an elevator, but there may have been one) to get to the second floor. The door of the room opened into a sitting area, which then lead through another door to the bedroom, which then connected to a very large bathroom.

The entire room was fairly dark. There were only windows to the sitting area. The room was fairly clean. Not perfect though. And mostly I think the problem was the wear and tear showing through. However, the bedsheets were clean, as was the bathroom, though I wouldn't have minded different interior design choices (I know, my own picky side!).

Meals: We mostly ate at the restaurant at the hotel. I believe it's called Dawat. It was OK in terms of flavors. Convenient. Nice decor. In the evenings they had a young man who wore traditional Himachal garb and played instruments and sang folk songs. He had a very lovely voice and it all added to the nice ambiance.

Gripes: I was peeved that after paying for two nights and meals, they didn't include anything for heating the room at night. It was still chilly in the evenings. And when we called to ask about heating issues, we were told we'd have to pay extra to get a space heater. We paid for it, and frankly it was only $3, but I don't like being nickeled and dimed by a place that advertises itself as a luxury experience in an area. At the very least, they should include that for the rooms.

Secondly, on our second evening there (a Friday night) we learned that maybe in the primetime tourist high season, the charming outdoor area of this hotel might also be it's worst feature as there were large families (with and without children) who were quite loud sitting out late into the night making a loud racket, and the Hotel Grand View next door had a DJ hosted party with thumping music going on quite late, too. Just be aware these may be issues if you're looking for something quite and romantic in the high season.

Overall: I'd stay here again. It seems to be the best that Dalhousie has to offer. The views really are spectacular, and there's nothing better than sitting out there with a cup of tea, in the winter sun, listening to that windchime. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neelapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Dalhousie Is Beautifull and Hotel Mount View is Just aWonderfull Experince we Booked the Rooms and when we arrived Despite a Heavy Rush in the Lobby We Found the Staff Attentive and Quick to our Responces and Check In We got what we booked ( andnot Like other Hotels were we experinced a Bounced Booking )The Room was Clean and Big the Toilets were great too with Good Aura We Liked the Food which was not in Buffet as is usual with Other Hotels but Could be Ordered from the Menu which was Exhaustive The Service and Ambeince of the Hotel the Landscaping and Gardeens Public Places and Entertainment in the Hotel are for us to Cherish For Long I Can easily recommend the Place to All and Everbody.GO AND ENJOY THE HOSPITALITY AT MOUNT VIEW
I can Say that it Easily Towers On the BEST Of Competaive Hotels
It has no COMPETITION

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nugels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: На втором этаже с балконом и с видом на горы
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Олег Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 37 in Dalhousie
1,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
1 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 37 in Dalhousie
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mongas
Hotel Mongas
#2 of 37 in Dalhousie
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 37 in Dalhousie
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount View

Address: Club Road | Opp. Bus stand, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: $50 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mount View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mount View are dramatically intertwined. This hotel is Dalhousie's first landmark. For more than a century, Today it's a number one hotel in Dalhousie and favourite destination for discerning travellers. The hotel is being constantly renovated, refurbished and modernised, it is Centrally Air Conditioned and "Offers The Best Exteriors And Great Interiors Our Terraces, Landscaped Gardens, Water Bodies, Public Areas, Lobby, The Kettle House Restaurant And Cedar Restaurant, Gabfest Conferences Anandam Spa, Bodywise Fitness Studio, Freebees Gameszone, Kids Junction, Jumanji Children Park, Local Folk Singer Evenings Tambola, Games, Covered And Safe Parking etc. All Take The Client To A Wonderful Experience, Suites Are Done Up In Individual Styles And Have The Best Of In Room Facilities , Which Face Either The Majestic Views, Lush Green Lawns, Flowerbeds Or Water Bodies And Our Terraces Overlook A 180 Degree View Of The Snow Covered Pir Panjal Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing