We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great time .....Mount view made the trip special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mount View & Spa
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Dalhousie
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a Great time .....Mount view made the trip special”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friends and i went to this beautiful hill station -dalhousie and what made the trip all the more special was this hotel .It has a convenient location and the biggest plus point is the parking of the hotel so one doesn't have to climb a steep road to reach its premises like some of the other hotels in the town .The best USP of the hotel is its augmented service ...(trust me it will actually take you by surprise like having in house excellent spa gym) and the breath taking view you will get of the valley from a well maintained terrace. my friends and me used to spend hours sitting at the terrace and sipping wonderful tea ......the whole experience was amazing....the front desk staff is really friendly and all its team take personal interest to make your stay comfortable.

P.s Beware of some hotels in the town who promise something else on their web site and their reviews show something else but once you visit the property it is totally a PAIN .

but this property (mount view ) provided us more than what we expected i would totally recommend you to chose this place for your stay. Just one advice to get the best view of valley try taking room at first floor ... :p

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geetanjali r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    97
    39
    10
    17
See reviews for
154
71
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in India.At a wonderful place like Dalhousie, this hotel has all the facilities. The spa ,body massage, gym and the Game Center was really gud where children could enjoy. The rooms were very clean and ambience was very good. The staff was very helpful and the room service was very convenient and helpful. The food was really good. The view from my room was very good from where I could see the pir panjal range and the whole valley.The terrace was very good especially in the evening where we would sit and enjoy our tea and enjoy the view. I specially recommend this property for people to stay as the hotel as all the facilities which people and can enjoy their wonderful stay.
"Excellent"

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Singla_manav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I really want to present a long list of problems with this hotel. But the incredibly friendly, accommodating and genuine nature of the staff at the front desk was such that my overall impression and memory of this hotel is positive. There's a lot of good about Hotel Mount View, but a lot more potential, and some urgent need of renovation.

The good: as mentioned, - the front desk staff, and most other staff members (with the exception of an overenthusiastic waiter who kept grabbing our dishes even as we were still eating).
- The spa: the hotel has a great spa on its premises which has a half-price happy hour during the daytime, meaning the long list of treatments are very inexpensive.
- The views: excellent unobscured views over the mountains.
- The hotel, while old, has a lot of character and charm.
- The room: I stayed in a large suite with a balcony

The negatives:
- The bed. A flimsy foam mattress did not make for a good sleep. Old, stained smelly bedlinen, not hotel grade. The duvet clearly did not get regularly washed, it was smelly and musty, as were the pillows.
- The bathrooms: absolutely awful. The first suite we were shown had a wall full of mould in the bathroom. ours had a little patch of it, but it's still there. The window in the bathroom doesn't seem to open, meaning there's absolutely no ventilation. There is no excuse whatsoever for mouldy shower curtains, anywhere, anytime. The toilet was strangely low to the ground, suitable for hobbits and 4-year-olds and no one else.
- The room: the carpet needs replacing, the armchairs and sofas need either a good airing or reupholstering.

I believe the hotel is being refurbished in stages; the restaurant and lobby have been done up, and I believe that some of the high-end rooms have been as well. I don't think it needs to all be done up in a generic modern way; our rooms had a lot of charm and character. But they need a good, thorough refurb. Also, they need ventilation: we had to keep our doors and windows firmly shut because of monkeys. Perhaps if nets were installed, we would be more free to open them up and let the mountain air in.

But first of all, the bathrooms desperately need to be renovated.

The price for the suite was about 4,500rs. This is far, far too much for what is essentially a bit of a substandard room. I think this reflects the scarcity of hotels in Dalhousie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are only two premium hotel in dalhousie. Hotel Mount View and Hotel Grand View.
Nice Place, Superb View even better then Grand View.
Nice Service. No problem at all.
Near Bus Stop. Nice Location.
Good Restaurant are also very near by.

Room Tip: Try Room on 1st floor and facing valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank uchitshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel MountView is probably the best hotel in and around Dalhousie. It`s perfectly located, overlooking the valley. It has been very well maintained and decor is beautiful. The staff is very friendly, room service is excellent. The quality of food is great. I wud call it a `Perfect Weekend Getaway`. We enjoyed our 2 nights stay and am looking forward to be here again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gursin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

"Just returned from 7 nights at this amazing hotel. Shaky start after a 6 hour trip from Amritsar , got allocated our room right away at check in, Assistant manager & front desk manager seen us right! Finally our room was fantastic with a hill view and massive bed so comfy ! Room serviced everyday and turn down. hotel can get crowded but we never had a issue getting a services, waiting staff around constantly to offer all the things we need. Mountview is central on the strip though everything seems close it still is a lot of walking. We dined in The Kettle House Restaurant, food was amazing so fresh and well presented. Freebees gamezone is free for hotel guests until midnight, though not our thing, nowhere to sit, only VIP seating!! had a wonderful and refreshing experience at Anandam Spa.

Room Tip: Room no 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Arora142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is an excellent hotel..with a perfect decor and classic maintenance.
Rooms are in perfect condition and the staff is very helpful..
There restraunt had amazing food...and also tehre was a local singer who sang Himachali song..
We didnt prebook d hotel..but since it was an off season..we got decent discount..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank chinks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 35 in Dalhousie
1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
0.2 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 35 in Dalhousie
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#13 of 35 in Dalhousie
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 35 in Dalhousie
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount View & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount View & Spa

Property: Hotel Mount View & Spa
Address: Club Road | Opp. Bus stand, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mount View & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Dalhousie and The Hotel Mountview are dramatically intertwined. This hotel is Dalhousie's first landmark. For more than a century, the hotel has played an intrinsic part in the life of the city, hosting Maharajas, dignitaries and eminent personalities from across the globe. Today it's a number one hotel in Dalhousie and favorite destination for discerning travelers. The hotel is being constantly renovated, refurbished and modernized, to serve "The best of old world charm with new age amenities' Four Star Property "Hotel Mount View & Spa" is One Of the Finest Hotels and A Premier Resort in Dalhousie, Offers The Best Exteriors And Great Interiors Our Terraces, Landscaped Gardens, Water Bodies, Public Areas, Lobby, The Kettle House Restaurant And Cedar Restaurant, Gabfest Conferences Anandam Spa, Bodywise Fitness Studio, Freebees Gameszone, Kids Junction, Jumanji Children Park, Knick-Knack Store ,Jingles Cafe, Gazebo, Open Air Discotheque, Local Folk Singer Evenings Tambola, Games, Covered And Safe Parking etc. All Take The Client To A Wonderful Experience, Suites Are Done Up In Individual Styles And Have The Best Of In Room Facilities, Which Face Either The Majestic Views, Lush Green Lawns, Flowerbeds Or Water Bodies And Our Terraces Overlook A 180 Degree View Of The Snow Covered Pir Panjal Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mount View & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing