We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mount View Really A Heavan on the Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mount View & Spa
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Dalhousie
CHANDIGARH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Mount View Really A Heavan on the Earth”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed in this Hotel for 3 Nights in August 2012. It’s truly perfect place to stay on the earth.
We had booked a Super Deluxe Room and it was very neat and Clean, Very Spacious. Food was very good, Staff was very nice,Spacious restourent and Mr. Pardeep Cooperate us nicely, and room service was amazing.
I can say Every Thing Perfect ,well balanced it’s really awesome experience with this Hotel.
We would like to Visit Again .....

Room Tip: All room's of Hotel Mount View are WONDERFUL..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ANIL7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    97
    39
    10
    17
See reviews for
154
71
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were booked for three nights, came back after one only. Very old property not properly maintained. Too much construction sound. The rain water came in the sitting area of the suite we stayed in. Food was palatable . Staff was kind enough to cook as per our requirement ( out of the menu ) . Poor decor, low grade property . Probably the best hotel in town, so stay only if you have to visit dalhouise.

Room Tip: They were building some new rooms , probably they might turn out better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ajay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountViewDlu, Manager at Hotel Mount View & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We have tried our best to inform our customers of the renovation that is ongoing. now its done. now you can see the latest pics on our website, and we have informed all of the booking agents of this as well. I apologize for the noise that you experienced, and I will discuss this with our Executives. We hope that you will give us another chance to have you as our guest, as we do value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's truly awesome place to stay at Dalhousie. We had booked a suite and it was spacious. Food was nice and also their room service was too good. We were very much satisfied with the guy who served us for our stay of 4 days. It was price worthy too. I have booked for 3 days but there we want to stay for an extra day, we were given the same suite with little bit of extra cost.

It's really awesome experience with this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SubhashisMandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Expensive for what they are offering. It is located in a nosiy, dirty square where trucks and buses pass all day. The construction work is a big turn off. Noise and dust not ideal if you want some peace and quiet. The food is sub standard. Limited restaurant and dirty toilets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank alisonedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MChadha, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mount View & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Maam,,
A property of the Class of our doesnt have Communal Bathrooms, We dont know what you are talking about if you see the reviews most are in favour of the Hotel we dont know when you stayed here if at all you did, we will make sure your next visit is comfortable best and worth all
Pardeep Sharma Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We visited Dalhousie during Oct 2011 a the time of Deepavali and stayed at Hotel Mountview. This is unquestionably one of the best place of Dalhousie to stay and the panromic view of the Himalayas from the Lawn of the Hotel is awesome. No barrier ahead just a picturesque valley separating the Mountain and the Hotel , as it appear.
Service of the Hotel is reasonable and reception was warm.
Improvement is possible in the Restaurant.
One can definitely choose this place for their stay at Dalhousie.

We also viisited Khajiar and Chamba. Khajiar is a must visit place, a nice valley with lot of activities (Horse Riding / Para Gliding etc)for kids and aduts as well. But avoid Chamba as this is nothing but a Mandi sort of place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joyofeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I spent the last week of June 2012 in Himachal Pradesh. After a few days in McLeodganj, we headed up to Dalhousie for our 3-night stay at Hotel Mount View. I must say our experience was entirely positive but we have been travelling around India for long enough since moving here to know that our expectations need to be tempered for anything other than the established 5 Star properties.

The hotel itself is a charming throw-back to a different age. Sadly part of it was affected by a fire which is now being rebuilt. I only hope they stay sympathetic to the existing structures. While the entrance and reception are a bit underwhelming, once you walk into the property, the stunning setting and views take over. Location-wise it is a convenient stroll away from Subhash Chowk and an easy 10-minute car ride to Gandhi Chowk.

The food was excellent. Our package included breakfast and dinner (and one picnic lunch) and each of the meals we had were thoroughly enjoyable. Great buffet spread in terms of choice and quality.

The staff were very helpful and welcoming and truly made us feel at home. Special mention to Mr Pradeep Sharma (Sales head) for his personal attention to us. Nothing was too much trouble and having two (noisy) kids under the age of 5, we can vouch for how child-friendly this hotel is. Pradeep also had very helpful suggestions of what day trips to do from the hotel and had arranged for all our transportation in Himachal.

Our suite was admittedly tired but clean and comfortable. Likewise the bathroom has seen better days but again was cleaner and in better nick than we have been subjected to in other places. Frankly it could have been (and we were prepared for) a lot worse, so we ended up being very pleasantly surprised. The suite itself was roomy and airy and offered great views of the Pir Panjal range.

So, all in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly not hesitate to go back. The true test came when our children just did not want to leave. Actually, neither did we.

Room Tip: Room 16 (Super Deluxe Suite) gets two thumbs up for spaciousness and the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IyerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights from 22nd June 2012. We were told by our travel agent that this was one of the best hotels in Dalhousie. Our experience did not justify that claim. There is some construction work going on in the hotel, but that cannot be an excuse for the hotel to make you go through a dark dirty flight of stairs through a garage to the main reception. The reception hall can best be described as a cubby hole. We were told that we were given a classic suite which is supposed to be the best. The suite itself is quite big comprising of a front varandah, a sleeping room and a bathroom. First look at the room gives you a feeling of cheapness and ill maintenance. The wardrobe had broken hangers and stuffed with old newspapers and menu cards. The so called writing pad folder was empty and writings all over it. The bed itself was very hard and very low for comfort. The general manager to whom I complained tried to justify that it is a heritage room and hence he was not allowed to alter anything. I found this to be very funny as heritage does not mean not providing clean environment. He also said that the bad state of the room was due to the fact that a large contingent of school children had previously occupied the room. This was not again acceptable as no decent hotel would offer a room to its guest without first cleaning it. The room does not have any windows overlooking the valley and we had to step outside to get any view at all. I was told that none of the rooms have any windows with a view which I found to be strange for a star hotel in a hill station. Since on both evenings it rained heavily, we could not sit in the open outside. To get to the restaurant you need to walk outside in the open from your room which was very inconvenient due to the heavy rain. The only saving grace was the tasty food the restaurant serves. All in all it was not a happy stay.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can. Don't get carried away by the photograph in their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ananda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 35 in Dalhousie
1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
0.2 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 35 in Dalhousie
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#13 of 35 in Dalhousie
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 35 in Dalhousie
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount View & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount View & Spa

Property: Hotel Mount View & Spa
Address: Club Road | Opp. Bus stand, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mount View & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Dalhousie and The Hotel Mountview are dramatically intertwined. This hotel is Dalhousie's first landmark. For more than a century, the hotel has played an intrinsic part in the life of the city, hosting Maharajas, dignitaries and eminent personalities from across the globe. Today it's a number one hotel in Dalhousie and favorite destination for discerning travelers. The hotel is being constantly renovated, refurbished and modernized, to serve "The best of old world charm with new age amenities' Four Star Property "Hotel Mount View & Spa" is One Of the Finest Hotels and A Premier Resort in Dalhousie, Offers The Best Exteriors And Great Interiors Our Terraces, Landscaped Gardens, Water Bodies, Public Areas, Lobby, The Kettle House Restaurant And Cedar Restaurant, Gabfest Conferences Anandam Spa, Bodywise Fitness Studio, Freebees Gameszone, Kids Junction, Jumanji Children Park, Knick-Knack Store ,Jingles Cafe, Gazebo, Open Air Discotheque, Local Folk Singer Evenings Tambola, Games, Covered And Safe Parking etc. All Take The Client To A Wonderful Experience, Suites Are Done Up In Individual Styles And Have The Best Of In Room Facilities, Which Face Either The Majestic Views, Lush Green Lawns, Flowerbeds Or Water Bodies And Our Terraces Overlook A 180 Degree View Of The Snow Covered Pir Panjal Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mount View & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing