We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
birdsnchirps Homestay
Nearby Hotels
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Hotel President(Dalhousie)
$37
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Sagrika Resort(Dalhousie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mount View(Dalhousie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
242
78
7
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
78
7
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmrs bhallahome stayother guestsglass housebeautiful birdshost mrdalhousie townchicken currydelicious foodmouth wateringreached dalhousieexcellent place to staypeaceful placechaiparathaspecial thanksamazing experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 342 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Birds N Chirps has been a wonderful experience for us, right from the location, to the clean and cozy rooms and the hospitality of Doc and Aruna. Not to mention the wonderful food that was dished out to us, including the barbeque (Aruna - loved the garlic bit). Amazing place, great view, you can literally see the whole of Dalhousie from your room and great spot for bird watching – if your vacation is about being in the mountains then one must definitely stay put here – the climb to the place is nothing compared to the experience of the place. It is away from the crowd, with natural spring water supply 24 X 7 and is ideal for the ones who want the peace and quiet and not to forget the awesome food.
Would definitely recommend to anyone who is planning to visit Dalhousie to stay here and experience the place. Thanks Doc and Aruna for your warmth and hospitality. Aruna you rock and here’s wishing both of you greater success in your venture which you truly deserve. Ciao………………Savita S

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains and have an excellent view so any room is good
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swat098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhallakanwal, Owner at birdsnchirps Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest it was wonderful experience having you with us . Some Guests like you really make us feel that we too are having a Holiday with our Family . Indeed we could spend some Quality time together .We look forward to be with you both yet again sooner than later .Garlic roasted on Oakwood coal indeed comes out good . Cheers Dr Bhalla .

PS---- Mrs Bhalla thanks you & remembers you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

First of all, I am very much thankful to TripAdvisor.com for giving correct justice on their web-site to the first ‘Home stay’ in Dalhousie (Himachal Pradesh, India) i.e. ‘Birds N Chirps’. This ‘Home’ is slightly at the adventurous location and owned by welcoming hosts (Mr. & Mrs. Bhalla) amidst the nature, where many rare or local birds have made their home too. After staying here, anyone will come to know the secret behind giving such name i.e. ‘Birds N Chirps’ to their home.

Mr. & Mrs. Bhalla have made a heaven for the birds to visit this place, by gathering and arranging the natural things in a very natural way. So, you may not find any sophistication here. But, still every thing is very comfortable and mind pleasing. The hosts are being great in their own professions too, have taken a lot of efforts to make their home more and more beautiful. The place where this home is located, it is not very easy to cater a service. But, the hosts and their limited team provide the service generously, by very reasonably pinching your pockets. The important thing is that they do all these with a great passion and affection for their guests and bridges a soft channel between their guests.

We (me & my wife) were there for three days (Oct.2012) and had an unforgettable stay. Because, we couldn’t feel that we were living outside. We came to know many new things about their and surrounding areas, taste of authentic Himachali cuisine and ultimately ‘The Nature’.

I will definitely suggest this home as a destination to all those who are nature lovers and would like to explore the surroundings in slightly off-bit way. Also, I pay my all best wishes & regards to such lovely hosts and their team, to maintain their current position.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndiaLover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhallakanwal, Owner at birdsnchirps Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest thanks indeed for putting such a detailed Review about us . You put real effort & time to be so Explicit .Thanks for that too . We equally enjoyed having you with us . I remember your long Photo shoot sessions of the Birds with Mrs Bhalla .You are right about the Name to this Property but there indeed is another Secret to it so let me Share it with you all , it also is named after our Two Loving Daughters Chiriya ( Bird ) & Chichi ( Chirp ) . Of-course their nicknames .We surely look forward to have you with us yet again ----- Thanks Dr Bhalla .

PS --- Holidays need to be Pocket Friendly not Pocket Pinching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If ever one is to visit Dalhousie Birds & Chrips is the place to stay , especially if your looking for some peace calm & serenity up in the mountains , then yes this is the place to be in . Beauty at its best !!! Away from the madening crowd at Dalhousie but yet so close to civilization . This place is not to heavy on your pocket as well . Also the hospitality of Dr Bhalla & Aruna , is simply next to none , we woke up every moring to the chirping of birds , caught them on camera & then ofcourse enjoyed some amazing food cooked by none other than Aruna herself . The rooms very well maintained , neat & clean & definitely has the woman's touch ( a little bit of Aruna in everything ) . The weather was awesome & up in the mountains it gets only better . One must definately opt for a BBQ in the August company of Dr Bhalla & Aruna was great fun . For those who love pets , their little dogs were such a treat , they kept us entertained & amused all the time . Good luck Alia .....would definately recommend this place to any one heading to Dalhousie & this place will always be next to home .... Thanks Doc / Aruna you guys are amazing stay in touch !!!

Room Tip: If Dalhousi then Birds & Chirps is the place to be at ..
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavioSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhallakanwal, Owner at birdsnchirps Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest we are Glad we could share real happy moments of Life with you . Sure thankful to you for writing such positive information about Birds N Chirps . I am sure it would help future Guests to choose their Options . We really appreciate when Guests put their feelings in their reviews rather than just Rooms & Food . It indeed allows us to feel your Comfort Zones . Please do add some more Pictures of Rooms & surroundings if you have . Sure look forward to be with you all Again ---- Thanks Dr Bhalla .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nestled amidst the mighty Himalayas, lies a beautiful and pristine homestay "BIRDS AND CHIRPS" which takes your breath away at the very first sight. It is an ideal weekend getaway for the tired and the stressed soul, away from the hustle-bustle and traffic jams of the city. I visited there along with my husband and daughter. it was a great experience. We all did a lot of sightseeing together and have many memorable moments that will be cherished by us for life with Mr. & Mrs. Bhalla.We all were messmerised by the warm and familiar welcome though we have just been facebook friends and met them for the first time and i am glad that this wonderful friendship turned into a great relationship. The feeling was unexplainatory where you get a chance to feel the nature inside yourself and having a feeling of never leaving that place. Mrs. bhalla is a great lady . i have no words to describe her
We wanted to stay there longer but we had some other people accompaning us so we were unable to make it out. Mr. Bhalla is just like my elder brother and Birds and chirps is my second home. Sooner i am planning to visit here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archanavyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhallakanwal, Owner at birdsnchirps Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest thanks indeed for being with us . Though we have been Facebook friends for a while but you were always mesmerized seeing the pictures of us . We are glad you could see & feel all in reality . Relationships are made when one really comes across Face to Face .Though your Trip was a very short one but we expect you come soon again to be just with us as you have already seen Nearby Places . We are glad Ms Sanjeevni is coming back with her friend , need not worry she is a Family now . Thanks Dr Bhalla .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is was my 1st visit to Dalhousie, having spent 1 night in a typical 3 * hotel, i was looking for something unique and different since i got bored with the lack of quality which most of the s called 3 * hotels offer, and boy did i find it at Birdsnchirps.
It was a great experience 1st to meet Dr Bhalla and his wife along with the numerous pets they have. I guess their love for nature and life makes this a perfect Homestay for guests who after a long drive uphill and from their home stay look for.
You would always feel welcomed the minute you step in, yes the step climbing for 30 meters is not liked by some but then this a Hill Station you should expect heights right?

But once u meet Dr Bhalla and his wife Aruna Bhalla all your tiredness is gone in a moment- this is real time Service Industry Behaviour that one don't experience even in a 5 star property, they deliver what they promise i.e.- Real time Homestay with excellent home to home comfort and amazing food along with their personalised touch.

I will always be staying here whenever iam here and i want to encourage Dr Bhalla and Mrs Aruna Bhalla to open more such properties across India and to atleast educate other hoteliers about Service Industry Standard, where one would can experience home away from home.

Wish them all the success.
Best Wishes
Robinson
New Delhi

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhallakanwal, Owner at birdsnchirps Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest it was indeed a pleasure having you with us .Thanks indeed for putting your thoughts for us . You being from a Top Notch Travel Forum & being appreciative about us sure does encourage us to do even Better . We are glad you could feel at Home out here with us .It is our belief ----- You achieve the Excellence & the Rewards follow . We were indeed honored to have you with us --- Thanks Dr Bhalla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews