We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Indeed!!!!”
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

It was really a pleasant surprise for me to step into The Majestic Grand View Hotel. Though its quite similar to the Club Himalaya Resort, Nagarkot, Nepal, but nothing comes in between Its Great Indian Hospitality, care and true affection shown by none other than its owner and her personal touch in each and every aspect of the hotel.... especially food and room decor.
If it has to be Dalhousie, than it has to be Grand View.
Evenings at hotel are splendid with light karoke music, awesome food, star gazing and spectacular snow covered peaks!!!
Really a must place to visit.
Three Cheers!!!

Room Tip: Simply amazing rooms Especially 2nd and 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Vikram # Faridkot .....stayed there for 3 days ..... an excellent property and wonderful experience. It is well maintained and worth every penny. The food is the best and so do their hospitality.... the views from the hotel is truly Grand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I Booked GRAND VIEW HOTEL On The Recommendation And Reviews Of TRIP ADVISOR.
And It was Excellent stay For 2 nights on 29TH JULY 2014. Hotel Ambience, &
The Staff & Location is Very Good. and
Above All Their OWNERS Are There To Take Care Of You.
i would rate it as one of the best hotels in India.

Room Tip: if travelling in winter go for luxury room or else go for other types of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satishghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Before travelling to Dalhousie I had put my bet on this hotel and it went only to proove me right! All your travel tiredness vanishes the moment you step into the place.

Amazing location with a garden that provides you the view of a beautiful mountain range right in front. Enjoy sunrise in the morning, a hot cup in the eve with beautiful sun setting right behind or star gaze in the night. An ideal stress buster of a place.

The room was a gateway into the ancient british era. The Garden Deluxe room we choose was one lavish space with a sitting space followed by the bedroom a nice dressing area and a superbly clean washroom. with that kind of space plus a garden right in front my kid just couldn't be happier.

The staff is soo courteous, mostly cheerful, very prompt rooms service which actually astonishes you at times. These guys are always happy to help :)

The Food - we were a vegetarian family and the hotel gave us every reason to make sure we dine-in at most of the times during our 3 nights stay. Every menu was different in all the meals we had with each dish giving a delight to your taste buds. I have to mention the green Chutney is something these guys should patent. The desserts whether it is a Baofi Pie or a gajar ka halwa were too good to let go. If I have to speak about food it would eat up entire review so all in all the food was excellent.

The location of the hotel is good too. You can walk down to Subhash chowk very easily else if you have your car that anyways gives you the well managed roads and routes to see nearby attractions. With this the case the hotel is away from the hustle bustle of the town and one can easily relax and make the most of their vacation.

The owners of the hotel are readily available to help, manage and make sure everything is well organized. I have never seen such a courteous management in my travel life.

Kudos guys keep it up. wish to visit this place often :)

Room Tip: While the newly built rooms are also quite nice. My choice will always be the Garden deluxe and Luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arunimashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is great in terms of location and the view it offers from the rooms. The rooms were clean but the best part were the newly constructed bathrooms. Really clean and spacious washrooms which was definitely a positive for us since all us being from Delhi needed really clean washrooms. The service was also good. However, one disappointing factor was the pathetic breakfast that these guys offer. Really not upto the mark and I would prefer people to go outside for the breakfast as I don't think that it is at all hygienic. Apart from this, a great hotel overall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitinkaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Planning to stay in Dalhousie?
Look no further, go ahead and book your stay at Hotel Grand View. Its a lovely property with oh so lovely view ! Flowers abound and warm ever helping staff make your stay even more comfortable. Food is the best you can have in Dalhousie. Its a place where you can unwind and chill in comfort.We had absolutely amazing stay at this hotel in June 2014 and have decided to come back again in winters.

The hospitality of the staff is overwhelming.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a better view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishwar_Bayad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Before starting the review of our stay at this hotel, I wish to express my heartfelt thanks for the TripAdvisor community for contributing whole heartedly and making us enable to chose the right place for our stay.

As observed from the Tripadvisor website, I selected Hotel Grand view for our stay during our very recent trip to Dalhousie from 22 to 28 June 2014.

Initially the package cost seems to be little high, but at the end of the day its all worth the experience. The property is really beautiful with the wide range of rooms ranging from deluxe to royal fitted with all the modern amenities at par with any high starred hotel.

The main attraction of this property is its location (right next to Dalhousie Bus stand) and the views of the Mighty Himalayas which are soothing for any tourist.

The entire staff right from the reception to the service people were extremely kind and friendly ensuring a comfortable stay during the entire duration. The Chadha family is very co-operative and everyday during the dinner buffet they attend all the guests catering to their needs and also monitoring the food.

The breakfast and dinner which forms an important component of the itinerary in this hotel are absolutely scrumptious with large diversity ranging from Italian, Punjabi, South Indian and sometimes Gujarati dishes too.

Overall during our week long stay at this hotel we felt completely like at home with the warmth and friendliness of all the people associated with this hotel. The live karaoke singing accompanying the dinner and events such as housie games, DJ nights, etc. also added up to the fun and frolic.

I give thumbs up to this hotel and strongly recommend to try this out whenever one visits Dalhousie...:)

Room Tip: Chose any one out of Luxury or Royal Suite for a clear view of the Himalayas and if fond of garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUMESH_D2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.1 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
2.8 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#28 of 36 in Dalhousie
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#21 of 36 in Dalhousie
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: $51 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing