We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best”
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

here the owner is the directly touch with their customer. Great hospitality i have got ever. great view of mountain covered with snow. and specially food was very tasty. nice staff. our bonfire night was memorable. should must here the person going Dalhousie

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harshit_1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

After much discussion and research on sites like tripadvisor, we decided to go for Hotel Grand view during our stay in Dalhousie. Reviews on Tripadvisor seemed to good to be true. We were skeptical after making reservations, as tariff appeared to be a bit on the higher side. We took a 3 night 4 day package for two couples and booked a luxury room. As soon as we reached there, we were simply mesmerized by the hospitality and words suddenly fell short of describing the utter pleasure that we felt upon beholding the 180 degree Grand view of the mountain range, right from our bed. Food in the old Victorian dining area was sumptuous and kudos to the way they handle there Guests. Live singing sessions during the Dinner was something to be cherished for a long time. Children's play area was too good. They have a small library as well. The owner, Ms. Radhika, what a wonderfull and hospitable lady she is, knows how treat her Guests. She organizes games and bonfire Dj sessions after every couple of days, this is something we never experienced anywhere. It's a wonderful family place to stay and the mesmerizing charm of the place will sure to make you come closer with your loved ones.

A special mention to a wonderful gesture from the wonderful owners of the hotel. We made our reservations in April 2013, however due to some family emergency we had to cancel our trip. Halfheartedly, I called the hotel and asked if we can come later (considering that I already paid the advance amount). I was sure that i was about to hear a "No" and the amount that I deposited, won't get refunded. However, to my utter astonishment, they said "Yes, you can come later, we will keep the advance amount deposited with us." They sent me a mail and told me to reply on that mail whenever we plan to come. After a year when we planned to go to Dalhousie, i was still skeptical. I replied on the same mail with the dates on which I planned to visit Dalhousie and "Voila" we had our reservations made. I was completely won over by there hospitality, big 5 star hotels has something to learn from them. Hats off!!!

Grand View, we will definitely be back. Just because of you people, we will visit Dalhousie again. Keep up the Good work...!!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for an uninterrupted view of the Mountain range, choose luxury rooms on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nihalzfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at the Grand hotel in April 2014, just for a day but that was enough to show us, what a great place and what awesome hospitality. We even had to cancel 1 of the 2 rooms we had booked, a few days before the travel date as the couple travelling with us could not do so due to a sad demise in their family. The owners, Radhika and Ashish Chadda were so considerate and refunded the amount immediately.
When we reached the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised as we had also been upgraded to a big suite! My daughter especially loved the room and hotel as she had enough space to play around.
The food, selection and quality, the room, the view, the hospitality of the staff, everything was just fabulous. Great place and we will surely visit again with the entire family!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

really we didn't not wish the holiday would end.... best hotel in Dalhousie..clean , comfortable, with a fantastic view of the snow covered mountain, pleasing staff , mouth watering food with karoke in the colonial styled dining room! every dinner was special with the owner hosting the dinner personally! I recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: go for the luxury rooms in the top floor!with the view of the mountains from the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinksmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had been to Dalhousie in Month October 2013 all of us were 3 couple and 3 kids with a maid.

This was the start of the trip from jalander and the moment i landed in the Hotel, the Valley view with snow clad mountain view from the room.... was so heart warming and romantic. within few minutes the tiredness and the freezing weather notion was gone. We were 3 couple with kids and had a fab time.
There was a party in the hotel for a day, there is moon gazing in night make sure you take a view with your loved one.


Also this is the best month to go if you have infants with you. with friends however anytime is a good time.

I would recommend to stay in Super deluxe room which has grand view. This is no doubt that this is the best hotel with view and service and value for money in Dalhousie and has touched me deeply.

Don't think of other Hotels and than have a wish of coming back and staying here.

Pros:-
Very good and polite Staff
Good variety of food, buffet that we got , owner is a lady and she is very warm.
Nice cozy rooms with balcony makes you live there .
Kids playing zone
nice library with open air sitting and this place is covered with snow when the season is there.
Stay atleast for 2 nights to enjoy the place
Place to relax and get ready for Himalayas experience.


Cons:-
Not that i can think of.

Room Tip: Rooms at first floor and i think they are suite rooms. or suoer deluxe please check with the manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logochopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Situated on Mall road you can easily spot the hotel. There is no parking in the hotel but they have enough staff who will help you with your luggage till your room. We opted for Luxury room which was on the 3rd floor. Spacious rooms with all modern facilities & view to die for. So relaxing to sit in the balcony & sip hot coffee. Owners take keen interest in the property & you will find them in the dinning area every night. They have many programs for guests on daily basis like Housie, Bon fire & DJ which is good fun. Do not miss the star gazing facility at the hotel.Food has an awesome spread but taste was good not exceptional. I loved the live dosa & pasta counter during our stay. They have an in house spa which was been renovated, big let down. Also the DVD's are rented out for old rooms only as new rooms have direct cable facility. I would recommend this hotel if you in Dalhousie

Room Tip: Opt for rooms in new wing for awesome views & privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnocentGaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Must stay as owner is directly in touch with customer. I insist everyone who visit Himachal should stay there once. Exceeding the customer's expectation. Nice room views, nice service, nice people, nice Jain food & nice location. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alifecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.1 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
2.8 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#29 of 36 in Dalhousie
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#21 of 36 in Dalhousie
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: $50 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing