We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Its an excellent hotel. I was traveling with my family and everybody was satisfied. Food, Service, Ambiance, Rooms everything was very good. I stayed in two interconnected luxury rooms as suite rooms were note available. The rooms were nicely done with all the amenities. And the room heater was very helpful as it was snowing quite heavily. The only thing which was a bit of discomfort (and that too only for senior citizens) was the approach to the hotel. As the cars cannot reach upto the reception/lobby one has to walk uphill on the path. Although i enjoyed the small walk but it was a bit of an issue for my mother, and the heavy snowfall did not make things any easier. Although this was not a problem for me or for my kids, we all enjoyed the walk up to the hotel. The staff was very courteous, and they provided porters and attendants to take our luggage. The food was also very good. The buffet had quite a versatile menu and during our stay of 03 nights we enjoyed all the meals very much. Not even once there was any issue with the food. Even the snacks ordered through room service were also very good. I would highly recommend it for people visiting Dalhousie and even i would like to go back again.

Room Tip: I will suggest to book rooms in new wings because i stayed here and have absolutely no complaints. T...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaspreetBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
There are newer reviews for Grand View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,595 - 1,601 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is by far the best hotel in Dalhousie... Couldn compare it with any other hotel in Dalhousie. Although the walk to the hotel is not pleasing , but the hotel itself is very well located. Rooms are reallly beautiful. Excellent Buffet is served with beautiful live music. Room provides a "Grand View" of Peak. The service is excellent and quick.
I would love to revisit the Hotel. And would recommend this hotel to every1.

Room Tip: Prefer the Newly renovated deluxe rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niket144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a good hotel in Dalhousie. Very good rooms. Only thing they are a bit dark. More lighted would have been certajnly better. They serve excellent buffet dinner, with live music. We stayed in the recently renovated delux room. It has a beautiful view of the valley and the snow clad peaks.

Suhas

Room Tip: Romms are well placed and all have a nice view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suhas_bhatkhande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We reached the hotel after a long drive from delhi. By the time i dropped everyone and the luggage at the entrance to the hotel and parked my vehicle, check-in and shifting luggage to the rooms five floors u was over and there were ppl to escort me to the room. I dont think even taj is faster and efficient. The view from the rooms allotted was excellent and infact luckily there was no monkey menace in the balcony. Room service was top class and extremely prompt... it appeared as though they know what you are going to order for. The hotel organised a dance party for all the residents on one day and a personalised bonfire on the other in very professional manner. The recreation room is worth a visit during the long winter evenings with billiards and TT.

Overall an awesome hotel.... and a fantastic owner

Room Tip: Stay in the new block for great view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank jitendra w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

On recommendations from my friends and review on trip advisor, we booked garden view room in the grand view hotel. Not only the hotel is excellent, the staff was was equally very cooperative.
The food was nice, with great service
View from the room was simply great, we had garden view room

Mrs and Mr. Vinod doshi

Room Tip: Garden view room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinoddoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

we booked the luxury room (comes with b/f n dinner package) and did not regret. The view was amazing, the food average to good. Service and hospitality was on par. Rooms are centrally heated. Cons - The entrance is next to the bus stand and taxi stand so little crowed, also the walk to the reception is steep. Little away from the main market area, so if your main purpose is shopping then this might be quite a trek away.

Room Tip: Go for luxury rooms, they offer the best view and are at the top of the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyeonmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.1 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 36 in Dalhousie
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
2.8 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#28 of 36 in Dalhousie
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount View & Spa
Hotel Mount View & Spa
#20 of 36 in Dalhousie
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: $49 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing