We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Service...Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Awesome Service...Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hi, We been to this hotel for our offsite and stayed there during 4th Aug,12 to 7th Aug,12. We were a group of 13 people and we had a great offsite. I must say this hotel is one of the finest hotel at Dalhousie. we all stayed in Luxury rooms. The rooms were clean, specious. The best part of this hotel is its Customer Service. The owner of the hotel , Mr.Ashish Chadha is a gem of a person. He never said “NO” to any of our requirements and went extra mile to offer us whatever we need. But pls do not think, that he did all this simply because we were a part of large group, he was also equally caring about individual clients as well. So I must say that the customer service at this hotel from the owner and the entire staff, makes this hotel special from any other hotel at Dalhousie. At the same time, other factors like food quality, location of the hotel, View from the room balcony, overall room & hotel ambience, cleanliness, room service , other amenities at the hotel are all of excellent quality. So if you are planning to go to Dalhousie, this is the right place to stay without any doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SangramPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    331
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
834
540
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights with my wife and 7 year old daughter. Overall i was very satisfied with my stay. The service is very good and the food is awesome. The new wing has better views and better rooms. But wherever you stay, you get to see the breathtaking nature. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was looking for a place in Dalhousie for my honeymoon. During my search on internet, I came across Hotel Grand View. I went through the rating on Trip Advisor. It was rated #2 and it immediately caught my attention. I went through the hotel website and was quite impressed.
I decided to book it and called up their reception. I was nicely directed to the person who handles the queries. After the discussion, I was informed that I needed to do an advance booking with 50% amount in their ICICI current account. After much thought, I did the advance booking for Luxury Suite under HONEYMOONERS SPECIAL PACKAGE (3 nights/ 4 days). We reached Dalhousie on 21 March 2012. We were happy to see the suite given to us.

Pros:
Cleanliness in rooms.
Staff behavior was excellent.
Good scenic view.
Room Heater.
Excellent Veg. food (don't know about non-veg food quality since I am a vegetarian).
All Package Inclusive commitments were made.
Steam, Sauna Bath and Jacuzzi at the ‘Nirvana Wellness Centre’
One LCD TV+DVD player in dining hall and one normal TV in bedroom.
Bone fire (private as well general)

Cons:
We were not able to use the bathtub due to some problem. We complained about it three to four times but to no success. So finally stopped asking them for it.
Hot water is a problem in across Dalhousie. Same is with this hotel. They are honest enough to tell you about it in advance. Hot water is available like 1 bucket in 15-20 mins.
Though they have movie library, but most of the movie CDs don't run in player. We asked for some new movie but they were not available.

Over all: Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel but missed to meat Mr. Ranbir Singh (Band Baja, Baraat fame) who was staying in the same hotel but had to leave in between due to some injury. And if you like Wine, you really like to have it here too.

Room Tip: For Honeymooner, I suggest to use Luxury Suite since it has ample place to enjoy with your life part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav_Khandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

we stayed at 3rd floor...hotel is at market area,.,,but the room is awesome....ull get the best view from the room...we njoyed it a lot....service is good...clean rooms...food is average...but mostly ull find tht type of food in himachal...facilities are few....u can njoy in gardens...and campfire at top....ull love it...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyankabhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 03 nights in the month of March '12. view from our Royal Suite room was spectacular, service was upto the mark and food was delicious... must stay if you are visiting Dalhousie

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasimsayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Grand view hotel is pretty much in the heart of the city.

We took an overnight train from Delhi and reached Chakki Bank early morning. Dalhousie is approx. 2 hours from Chakki bank. The drive is smooth and easy. The hotel is very nice. We had booked a Luxury suite for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. There was a bedroom and a sitting area which had a sofa-bed. The suite was spacious and airy. The only drawback was that the curtains were shear and there was strong light in the room in the morning. The bathroom was ok. It had a tub and shower area.
Food:
The food is outstanding and the variety is good. The dining area is airy and quite big. The chef makes very good food and one day he served Pahari mutton made in curd which was extremely good.
Sightseeing:
We went to Khajjiar which is approx. 1 hour away. It is a valley with lots of restaurants and fun activities. Kids did horse riding. We took a bedsheet and spread it out to just chill all day. It was good fun. We also got the photos clocked by the professional guys. They do a very good job. We also clicked pics with our own camera but their pics are better.
We also went to kala top which is a very beautiful serene place. It is amidst thick forest and is very tranquil. There are pretty trails around the place for going for long walks. It is just 40 mins away from Dalhousie.

We also walked around in Dalhousie. There are 2 very nice churches and a good library.

Room Tip: All rooms are valley facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Me and my hubby were here for two days in March 2011 and it was an experience we would never ever forget. It is so different than the other over priced hotels and what makes it so is it's ethnic look and the perfect location. I would love to recommend it to everyone who is a nature lover and please don't forget your cameras as you will get a lot of chances to click . It's simply awesome ..... :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrajZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.1 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#10 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
#6 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Property: Grand View Hotel
Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing