We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hospitality”
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“excellent hospitality”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great location of hotel especially if you stay in the old building(vintage british); large rooms with prompt room service where in you are pampered to the fullest; good food quality and variety which adds to the overall experience.
children enjoy the in house DVD collection as well as the book house; moreover, there are enough games for them also.
located exactly at the bus stand makes it very convenient.
most recomended for stay for family in dalhousie.

Room Tip: choose a room in the old building which has great view of the mountains as well as the hotel's o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umang166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    346
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
907
568
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Panipat, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

A real relaxing hill station is Dalhosie.A beatiful place close to nature creations and away from the crowded Mall Roads,shopping complexes.Grand View hotel is worth statying to admire snow covered hills and valley from the room.The property has two wings an old and the new one with lifts but no enough open space to enjoy sun of a hill station.Bath room fittings need special attention.Clean rooms and big in size make comfortable stay.Food is good and staff is co-operative.Dining hall needs renovations.

Room Tip: make sure there is no DJ party on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinay-dhamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamnagar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Hotel is very good for stay with family. Excellent view from room balcony. Very good food quality. Ms. Radhika chadhdha is very co-operative and take care all the guest at the time of dinner in restaurant.

There is only problem is they are not asking any identity proof at the time of checking and also not provided any bill at the time of check-out. I have asked twice for bill but they are just show me their smile face on the receiption and finally I walked-up without bill as I have too late to go another place. They are taking 100% payment well in advance i.e. one month from the date of room required.

Room Tip: Room booked on top floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jatin_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I visited Dalhousie in April 2012 and was on my Honeymoon. The best feature of the hotel is its location. We had booked a Royal Suite for ourself. The room was excellent. The food was very good. The staff was very helpful and co-operative. Their customer service was remarkably good. Overall staying in the Hotel was worthy enough. We will surely go back to the same hotel during my next visit.So impressed with the stay that I have already recommended to all my friends that if they plan to visit Dalhousie must stay at Hotel Grand View only.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbhishekRamgadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in this property in March 2012. Their customer service was remarkably good. The property is also in a nice location. The best part is the vintage look and feel of cottages and the history associated with it. Their restaurant gives a sneak peek into that area's history (photo galleries etc). The architecture is very colonial too. In all, it was a beautiful experience.

One word of caution though is that all the good things about the property are reserved for their luxury and 'garden view' cottages only. We extended our stay by one more night. Since all rooms in the luxury/garden view category were booked out, they showed us the standard rooms. I found way that way too sub-par compared to other options you may get in Dalhousie. Naturally, we checked out to find some other place

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swami_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalandhar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

excellent accommodation and excellent food .......must must go to this hotel.I Enjoyed a lot in grandview hotel and dalhousie.we spent 5 nights over there breakfast and dinner was too much lavish with different variety.This one is the best hotel in dalhousie i recommend must go to this hotel for cool accommodation and lavish food dont go outside for food.

Room Tip: go for luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amrit-sonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The best place to stay in dal housie. I visited this place in November 2011. The view from the hotel rooms is just awesome at any time of the day. The food provided is also good.
The one thing i don't like is DJ system of the hotel.
If the hotel provides the in house DJ for any occasion. ask them to arrange or arrange it from nearby. Me and my friends are not happy with that.

Room Tip: Don't hire the in house DJ for your evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.1 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
0.1 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 36 in Dalhousie
151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#12 of 36 in Dalhousie
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#23 of 36 in Dalhousie
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Property: Grand View Hotel
Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing