We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location but Worst Service”
Review of Hotel Shangri-La

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalhousie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Shangri-La
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Actually I had been in dalhousie earlier as a solo traveler and was knowing about this hotel, still I selected this hotel due to its excellent views from the terrace. Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't know the word "renovation" and have the rooms which are not renovated since 6 years. The rooms are spacious but have only an old age television with a traditional old age cable connection so expect hazy picture and frequent failure of cable TV. If you will try to tell the reception counter about this, a person will come, check the TV and would say "It is perfect"! Some bathrooms are having bathtubs but water geezer will be switched on for only 4 hours in the morning which will be able to warm up 3 or 4 buckets of water only. You can also hear your neighbor bathing as the ventilation of bathrooms are opening in terrace! You will be far more unlucky if you will get small clumsy rooms downstairs. Food is the worst part of this hotel. The restaurant is on the top floor and it might be possible that the restaurant fellow has put music so loudly that it can disturb you in your room even if you close the doors. Unpleasant food was given in uncleaned dishes every day. Still if you are going for this hotel, i would suggest to book room number 107 or 108 only as they have openings on terrace that has excellent view.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unoperative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

Love the location. just 5 mins walking distance away from main mall. Love the terrace, it's warm and suitable for couples Love the quietness of my room and it's view ( face away from the main road) Love the effciency of the staff

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivekmathur993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

the hotel is situated in the heart of the city and the food is excellent.Specially the mughlai food is very good. The staff is very hostile and disciplined.They help you in the the best possible way.You need not take your car everywhere as it is in the heart of the city,you can reach everywhere by a level walk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I was lucky to land at this hotel in only my second attempt in hotel hunting on my arrival in Dalhousie. The view from the terrace is amazing and catching the sunset every evening from the terrace was an experience beyond words. The staff is co-operative and the father-son duo who own the hotel wil also guide you to your local travel plan. Great phorographs of the Sach pass at the reception...

All in all - a great experience.

Anurag Sharma

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anuragsharmaNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We searched the internet and booked this hotel in advance. Got a decent package at a competitive price. The location of the hotel is good. Dalhousie being a small hill town with a very small market. The hotel was located at a walking distance from the main centre. The super deluxe room in which we booked had a great view of the Dhauladhar range from the balcony.
However the room was without any ventilation. The washroom was not very clean but ok.
The food was bad....and i really mean it. We had a MAP package but tried to have food there only once... even the paranthas...(a basic indian preparation) were bad...
the service also was pathetic to say the least. There was room service available however they always arrived 1 hour late and with the wrong order. The bedsheet and blankets were smelly and stained. We got them changed thrice and had to Tip the housekeeping guy to get the usable pair.
In Dalhousie, i would highly recommend the Quality Restaurent, its near the main market and Taxi stand. their preparations are really really good.
All in all the hotel was ok...as their price is low hence u cant complain too much...Can be recommended for budget travellers with less expectations.
Dalhousie is however the finest hill station i have ever been to!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alokbishnoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We reached dalhousie tired after a long journey from Chandigarh and hadn;t booked a place in advance and we landed up in this pathetic hotel. They charged us Rs 900 for a night (off season rate) and gave us a room which was closed like a jail. The room was dingy, it was smelling bad, the bathroom was not good, the towels were horrible. We checked out the next day and went to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livetotravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Hi,

i have been there last year in the month of march with my 4 friends they gave us room for 1200/ night and we actually like the room as it was all wooden furnished. beed was good. Morning view was excelent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shiv007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar's
Hotel Kumar's
#5 of 36 in Dalhousie
103 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#29 of 36 in Dalhousie
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalhousie Palace Hotel
Dalhousie Palace Hotel
#28 of 36 in Dalhousie
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#21 of 36 in Dalhousie
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La

Address: The Mall, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: $13 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shangri-La 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in the picturesque hill town of Dalhousie. The hotel is ideally located on the Mall Road with easy access by road and by foot. Ample parking facility, within the hustle bustle yet not crowded it is an ideal location for both business and leisure travellers. Great food, comfortable rooms, stellar service and absolutely views make this an ideal choice while in Dalhousie. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing