We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mongas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalhousie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mongas
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Me and my husband opted for honeymoon package at this hotel, we were given attic room numbered 403 and its the perfect room for honeymooners.
Awesome view, great service, delicious food, staff makes you feel at home and most comfortable.
At the second day of our stay we requested for candle light dinner, but by evening I fell ill and cancelled candle light dinner at end moment, staff at mongas took perfect care of us and by the very next day I was completely fine and they arranged candle light for us the very next day.
Special Thanks to our room attendant "Kewal", he proactively did everything, always a call away.
I am surely gonna stay at this place when I visit Dalhousie next.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smita_Angadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    144
    51
    18
    15
See reviews for
211
117
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed in Mongas during the last week of May and booked the Attic. The room as described in other reviews was awesome ! The wood decor alongwith the attached balcony(though small) is awesome to relax. To clear the doubts, the main market there is the Gandhi Chownk which is just 3-4 mins walk from this hotel which is good to roam around in the evening.

I chose the MAP plan and the food served in the morning and night was awesome. The hotel staff was really helpful and our room attendent "Kewal" was equally good. Always a call away and proactively checking us with ordering our food.

Only small area for improvement is the pre booking communication. I had to call up a lot of times, even a lot of emails asking for my room / taxi details which should definately come to a customer once we book a hotel. There was a DJ being organized for a group on the terrace which played till 10PM. Though my kids enjoyed it in the room (attics being next to terrace) but if you are a real peace lover, it can be disturbing.

Room Tip: Stayed in 404 - Attic. Lovely room but you have to test your strength while locking the bathroom doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during the second week of May 2013. I had booked a Honeymoon package. The experience was very good. The hotel staff is very cordial. Also the owner of the hotel Mr Karan Monga is very cooperative and willing to entertain every genuine request from the guests. He even arranged for a taxi during my entire stay Dalhousie and Dharamsala at very competitive prices.
I stayed in the Attic room with a view. The room was good and well furnished. Also we could have a good view of the hills from the balcony. Balcony is a bit small but it can easily accommodate 2 chairs. The location of the hotel is such that one can't have the view of the Himalayas from the hotel. However, it is just 100m distance from the Gandhi chowk. One can easily walk up to there and have the view of Himalayas.
Restaurant was under renovation during the period and hence food was served in the room. Quality of the food was good.

Room Tip: Attic rooms with a view are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a kind of hotel it is, I chose this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor but was not aware of the surprise I was going to get. I asked for best room in the hotel but it was good as nothing. There was no resturent in the hotel, so food was coming to the room, when asked for room service, hotel staff left the bedsheets in the room and they were taking so much time for every call, we had to change them ourselves. Paking was horrible, it was on the road, morning a staff came to wake me up to remove the car so that the car behind mine can be removed. Not only this, one mporning I was sitting in the room and balcony door was open, suddenly a monkey jumped in the room. What else you can expect. Finally I had to cut short the long vacation in Dalhouise and I left for Kullu where I stayed in Apple valley resort, which was worth.

Room Tip: Hotel is not worth, even for the sake of visiting the place you can visit Dalhouise otherwise its no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rohitz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Mongas and it is an ideal hotel for large families. located very close to the Mall and the heart of Dalhousie, Mongas offers 4-bedded rooms with extra beds, just in case you are a large family getting together after a long time wanting to spend time with each other.We enjoyed watching IPL matches together as one large family, the hotel arranged for a bonfire which too was thoroughly enjoyable.
Hotels are high priced in Dalhousie and among the hotels there, Mongas definitely is a good value for money proposition. The customer service is great. None of the waiters or staff out there give NO for an answer.They try to accommodate all the guests requests.
Rooms are good and have all basic amenities in place. You dont have a centralized hot water supply and u have to depend on the geysers in the rooms but we didnt find it a challenge.
Room service closes at 11pm and not 24 hrs.
Food is decent and consumable. No specific call outs tho. All chinese gravies taste alike tho named differently. Pasta, if available, is the best pick of the lot.
The hotel has good view, responsible management, reasonably priced and basic amenities in place. Most important, they have great service which is the cherry on the cake.

Room Tip: When you opt for the inclusive of breakfast option, they serve breakfast of choice in your room. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had heard a lot of god reviews about this hotel before going but to my bad luck I didnt have a god experience at all. The staff there was not friendly at all, for them it didnt matter whether they get customers or not. They were not even aware that we stayed in the same hotel. Whenever we entered there were different people asking if we wanted rooms.
There was jnp privilage given to the driver that we had booked. If not a room at least a small place to sleep and freshen up should be given. As of the driver wasnt fresh and rested well how the hell would he make us see the hilly tops. The ghats are alos so dangerous while travelling.
The towel was dirty and there were no sign boards like do not disturb.
Half of the products mentioned in the menu were not available at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Halim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

One of the best hotel in Dalhousie, Excellent Location, Nearby Market Area, Delicious Food with satisfactory services....The Best Deal In Dahousie...The only area of improvement is service. Overall Excellent Stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sunil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.6 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
1.5 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
0.1 mi away
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
#6 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mongas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mongas

Property: Hotel Mongas
Address: The Mall, Gandhi Chowk, Dalhousie 176304, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mongas 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover yourself in the serene mountains of Dalhousie at the Mongas; one of the cleanest Indian hill stations. Mongas, thoughtfully appointed in the lap of nature yet in close proximity to The Mall, lets you take in the bounties of mother earth in a relaxing and leisurely atmosphere. Stay at Hotel Mongas, Dalhousie, is Ideal for those who just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing