We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK OK Types”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalhousie Palace Hotel
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK OK Types”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

It is situated far from main point of Dalhousie. No proper market around it. One has to walk alot to reach gandhi chowk. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Service was gud. Prefer taking hotel in GPO. Overall nice budget hotel.

Room Tip: select the rooms in first floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This Hotel is situated at strategic location. Hence view from hotel room (especially corner rooms) is awesome. Hotel is at walkable distance from Subhash Chowk local Taxi stand. Its 10-15 minutes walk up hills from Dalhousie bus station. Location of Hotel is very quite & peaceful. One required to climb down 1-2 floors to reach rooms hence not recommended for physically challenged people. The corner room provided (Super Deluxe) also had glass balcony. One can seat in the balcony & enjoy beautiful view of mountains. On the negative side the whole room is constructed by using marble tiles including walls, hence at night it becomes very very cold. There was no carpet on the floor hence walking without shoes was nightmare at night.
We were charged 200 Rs per day extra above room charges for small heater which was totally ineffective in December cold. Toilet was clean but there was some leakage. Hot water available all the time. No complementary soaps / shampoo provided. Room quality was average. Small TV provided with working cable connection.
Food served in hotel was ok. Myself & my wife had bad stomach ache after first night dinner. Hence we restricted ourselves to only breakfast to be on safer side. Glad we booked only rooms. Staff is very cooperative & service is fast. Charges for hotel was Rs 1300 per night excluding heater (200 extra) which I think little higher for hotel standard provided.

Room Tip: Ask for super deluxe room on upper floor with glass balcony. Only corner rooms have good view. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkers_planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hotel is built on a slope as most others are in a valley, so the terrace is adjacent to the road while the rooms are all below. We had 2 rooms on the top floor at the end of the lobby and the last room had a private resting area with a grand view of the valley through full length glass windows. This room was also more luxurious with better furniture and bathroom fittings. The other room though more drab had a luxury of its own. It was a double room suite where the first room had a single bed and sofa seating while the inner bedroom had a double bed with attached bathroom.

The weather was quite cold and windy and we preferred to retire early to our room since there isn’t much to see or do in Dalhousie. The hotel provides old fashioned heaters for extra charge which are good enough to keep you warm, though they fall short of heating the entire room. We had a cozy evening with the heater to keep us warm and the breathtaking valley view to gaze at for hours.

The room cleanliness is average and some may even call the carpets dirty, but the room service and food were excellent. We ordered many varieties from the menu and the food was delivered within minutes. Repeat orders were also promptly served and the hot home cooked quality of food made our day! The staff was very courteous and we got extra blankets and pillows without any fuss.

Another plus point is the hotel’s location. It is just 10-15 minutes’ walk from the main market and we took its advantage by having breakfast in an open café under the warm rays of the Sun. The hotel is a complete value for money with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaRBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Since we just had a one night stay over in Dalhousie, we decided to go for a budget hotel. Dalhousie Palace seemed to be a good bet considering the price and the location, since its located very near to the Subhash Chowk.
We had booked a super deluxe room. The check in process was smooth. Its a small no fuss hotel.Though the room was small, it was clean. The best part was that the room had a sit out area covered with glass offering a lovely view of Dalhousie. In the morning, the view was breathtakingly lovely. The bathroom was small but neat and functional.
The hotel is not grand by any sense but a very good budget option with breathtaking views from some of its rooms.

Room Tip: Ours was the room on the last corner and had a sit out area covered with glass offering fabulous vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AradhanaVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This place is located near Subhash Chowk. We had done online booking for 2 rooms and thus check-in was very swift and efficient. We arrived early and were accommodated without any fuss. We asked for good view rooms and we were allocated a corner room with best view possible.

The best part of our trip was the view from hotel room! There isn't much with local sight seeing in Dalhousie. The corner room had full length glass windows which provided a spectacular view of the valley. This part of the room was the rest area apart from a bedroom and a bathroom. Kids enjoyed for sure!

The room service was indeed excellent! The food was good and the prompt service made us feel at home. We couldn't have asked for more when it comes to hospitality.

The only negative was the heater charge. A single coil heater cost us 250/- which was quite steep compared to others.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with glass windows provide a very good view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GopalAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The hotel is located near subhash chowk (the upper market of Dalhousie). The hotel, like the others, has the terrace adjacent to the road, i.e. you get to the top floor as soon as you enter the gate from the road.

When we arrived we found that only the uppermost floor rooms are operational. The rooms underneath were under renovation. But there was absolutely no disturbance/noise from this renovation and we had peaceful 3 days there. The quality of the rooms differs widely so ensure that your room is good before you move in. We were put up in the only available room on arrival but were shifted to other room the next day on request.

The restaurant wasn't operational but the room service was excellent. Both the quality and quantity of the food was worth above the price charged. We had kadhi pakoda (local speciality) and dal khichdi twice as we liked it so much. Our package had breakfast included and it was very filling and full of variety. Everything from the menu was always available. The service of the hotel boy Sonu Kumar Sood was outstanding and we gave him a handsome tip at the end of our stay.

The taxi stand is about 2 mins walk from the hotel. The view of the pir panjal range from the windows of (most of) the rooms was breathtaking, and I am attaching it as a souvenir of the memorable stay. There were many birds coming in at the time as well.

This hotel doesn't have "luxury" but brands itself as cozy with great service. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The staff is very cooperative. Hotel was under renovation and hence should be good to stay in May'11. Location is good - facing a valley and about 3km from Mall Road which is a good walk alongside a valley.

Room Tip: Rooms on extreme end have direct valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitinpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.2 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#23 of 36 in Dalhousie
91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#7 of 36 in Dalhousie
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar's
Hotel Kumar's
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
0.7 mi away
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
#5 of 36 in Dalhousie
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indraprastha Resort
Indraprastha Resort
#8 of 36 in Dalhousie
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalhousie Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalhousie Palace Hotel

Property: Dalhousie Palace Hotel
Address: Near Subhash Chowk, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing