We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalhousie's premiere place for value for money”
Review of Monal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalhousie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monal Hotel
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week.

It is an awesome place for a person who visits the mountains for their serenity and calm. This place is more like a resort amidst the middle of the town, yet in the middle of a jungle.

The best part of this place is the whether. In summer its windy and nice here. The breath is fresh and nice. In fall the aura of the entire town will hypnotize you and make you a fresher person when you are back.

The travel packages, offered by this hotel are awesome. They have convenient local sight seeing packages. It was reassuring to know that the cabs they hire are of people with 10+ years of driving experience. This unit is professionally run and I would say a little more attention to detail would make it all the more fun. Nevertheless if you want to travel dalhousie and enjoy the sun, the wind and the food there, I would recommend monal 4.5/5 for any keen traveller who likes to breathe!!!!
For couples I would say, the super deluxe rooms are just charming ideally, with great balconies, better wind and nice sun

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breathing_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Dear Tourist Dont Book This Hotel. Hotel Monal is Low Tariff Hotel But Hotel Staff or Hotel Quality is Poor. So Plz Dont Use this Hotel. or Hotel Location is Very Bad..
So Ignore this Hotel And Select another hotel..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
6  Thank Mitesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank HeroGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank DebajyotiPal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had booked 2 rooms in this hotel for my brother and his family. Due to some error the money transfer could not materialize but the clerk Rajat mahajan who was corresponding and talking on phone assured till his family reached Pathankot that rooms would be made available and that money could be paid on arrival or transferred on Monday. But the family reached dalhousie the same man changed tracks and refused to give room. He was rude and unapologetic.He had apparently sold the room to higher bidder! such honesty. Long way to go Monal!! My brother was ready to pay in cash but the man's greed knew no bound! steer clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank kumarnirmal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

me and a couple of friends of mine stayed at Hotel Monal for 3 days, we booked online and got a amazing deal. We booked the Super deluxe room, which was tastefully furnished but the biggest incentive was the amazing view of the snow clad mountain. We overall had a nice time.

Room Tip: book super deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank johnkalaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed there for three nights and booked the accommodation and some sightseeing together paying 50% advance. We reached Dalhousie by Bus, then took a porter to reach hotel via Subhash Chowk. This stretch was very long and we became tiresome but later we found that the hotel is very near (3-4min walking distance) from the Gandhi Chowk. The markets are very near. Still the hotel is at very good quiet location having very good view of valley. Most of the rooms have private balconies where you can take your tea and breakfast in Sunlight.
The entrance of the hotel is about 25-30Ft down from the road and the approach road is very steep, so it's not recommended for aged or heart patients, otherwise it's a good value for money.
Management and stuffs are good but they need to be a little more professional. Most of the time, nobody was present in the reception, though they used to take the phone calls while calling from room. They didn't make any entry in the registrar for our stay.
There is no restaurant, food is served in room. Some extension work is in progress probably they'll make some restaurant in near future. Food served is mainly veg with only egg items as non-veg. But they can bring other non-veg items from outside hotel on request.
There is some other hotels at the Thandi sarak side from where you can view the snow-capped peerpanjal ranjes, so those hotels are definitely better but this hotel is no doubt good for comfortable stay at Dalhousie.

Room Tip: Approach the hotel from Gandhi Chowk side. One room in each floor have views of two sides of the va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Traveller_Ambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cozy Nook
Hotel Cozy Nook
#23 of 36 in Dalhousie
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar's
Hotel Kumar's
#5 of 36 in Dalhousie
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#31 of 36 in Dalhousie
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Magnets
Hotel Blue Magnets
#13 of 36 in Dalhousie
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#21 of 36 in Dalhousie
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monal Hotel

Address: Garam Sarak, The Mall | Distt. Chamba, Dalhousie 176304, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: $28 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing