We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vishwaratna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vishwaratna Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Nepal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

A very average hotel. The room had dead insects and bugs. I needed to explain the staff about why extra towel was required. Breakfast was very average. Even had to wait for 30 minutes to get the room as it wasn't ready when I checked on which was after standard check-in time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    48
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
10
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel seems to have tried to renovate and modernise the hotel. However, rooms and especially bathrooms are old fashioned. Bed linens and towels seem to be very very old and gray. Restaurant is good for dinner but breakfast buffet is very average. I don't think I will ever go back to this hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SHM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel is very average in middle of a main market in Guwahati. Railway station is walking distance away and due to this approach to hotel is very difficult. Restaurants in the hotel are just above average. Morning complementary breakfast is USP and is really good. Apart from that the entire stay experience is just average or below average.

Room Tip: Please select rooms on 4th floor only. better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikas22in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Rooms: Interiors are decent, but there is no proper ventilation. Apart from that, rooms had a smell of cigarette smoke.
Location: The hotel is in a very bad location. You can get better hotels at this price.
Restaurant: The restaurant is very average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivekanand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good and comfortable rooms with a bit of smell of cigarette smoke. WiFi sharing needs to be improved. Restaurant food is very average. Average morning breakfast. Neat and clean hotel. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

To start: the receptionist seems to be in a wrong job. More suitable for a security guard duty. Security rules are pretty weird in India, but despite that I have experienced warm welcomes in a lot of places. After travelling back from kaziranga with my parents who are senior citizen, we expected a little relief on reaching the hotel. Instead we came up with this tough receptionist who insisted that we sign and complete all formalities before he even allows the oldies to go to their rooms. I requested him to allow the seniors to go through but since he believed that perhaps we were a security threat he kept everybody waiting till we painstakingly completed all formalities. And then he said : you may proceed now… almost as if he was on an airport duty… disgusting.
That apart the I don't suggest the hotel to tourists as the locality is a dirty old place and from what I saw around there are far better and cleaner localities even in old guwahati.
Coming to the basics; the rooms are small in size but ok, same with the bathroom, decently clean too. The housekeeping is pretty stingy with the towels. We found only one towel in each of the three double rooms we had booked and had to literally beg for more towels. Nothing to view from the rooms except for the next building just a few feet away.
The breakfast was good and the food was also ok, while tourist in go don't generally fuss over food.
Don't expect any help or leverage in the check out timings either. Our pickup vehicle was late and we requested late departure 2 hours extra for one of the three rooms, which they flatly refused.
Overall not suited for tourists and not exactly pretty cheap too. So the value for money thing doesn't count. Avoid if you are on a holiday.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayantan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basudev D, General Manager at Vishwaratna Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying at The Vishwaratna Hotel, Guwahati!!! and taking time to review it on this public forum.
* Front Office: It is our objective to provide a rejuvenating ambiance and impeccable hospitality to our guests for a hassle-free and happy stay experience. We regret that you were less than satisfied with our service and found our associates behavior unprofessional. Though we have been often praised for our outstanding service, we are disappointed to know about your inconvenience and assure you that we would look into this matter. However, Viswaratna is in line with an international 3 star hotel and we offer rooms of varying sizes, which are priced appropriately. Customers, who prefer bigger rooms, can choose an appropriate room while booking.
* House keeping : We are extremely apologetic and deeply concerned with the experience you had regarding the towels. I have since addressed the issue with the department head and initiated remedial action. I assure you that your feedback shall be dealt in all seriousness it deserves.
We would greatly appreciate if you could give us an opportunity to correct your perception and visit us soon. I would like to assure you I have personally addressed the same and I am sure you will notice a perceptible difference on your next visit.

Thanks & regards,
Basudev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Much better than the fake 'dynasties' around, this is no gem either. The morning breakfast was a horror show. The bread was hopelessly stale, can't imagine how could the hotel dare to place it on the buffet list. Rooms are clean and comfortable but again, the service suffers from the typical Northeast lethargy. I am a proud Northeast born citizen and hence it hurts even more. The business development guy was polite but that didn't help us one bit in making our stay worthwhile. The locality is all full of hardware stores, hence an evening walk is futile unless you are specifically looking for spare parts or electrical supplies. Stay here if you are looking for a budget deal for a night max.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudhir_Raikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lilawati Grand
Hotel Lilawati Grand
#45 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rains Inn
Rains Inn
#4 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#7 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#5 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#12 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vishwaratna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vishwaratna Hotel

Property: Vishwaratna Hotel
Address: A.T. Road | Onkar Plaza, Guwahati 781001, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vishwaratna Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vishwaratna Hotel is situated in the heart of Guwahati, the nerve centre of North East India. This top-of-the-line hotel is nearest to the LGB Airport in its category and is near the city's prime commercial and shopping centres. It is ten minutes from Guwahati Railway Station and the city's hub of public transport service. The hotel is centrally air-conditioned to make stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Vishwaratna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing