We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourists please avoid”
Review of Vishwaratna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vishwaratna Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

To start: the receptionist seems to be in a wrong job. More suitable for a security guard duty. Security rules are pretty weird in India, but despite that I have experienced warm welcomes in a lot of places. After travelling back from kaziranga with my parents who are senior citizen, we expected a little relief on reaching the hotel. Instead we came up with this tough receptionist who insisted that we sign and complete all formalities before he even allows the oldies to go to their rooms. I requested him to allow the seniors to go through but since he believed that perhaps we were a security threat he kept everybody waiting till we painstakingly completed all formalities. And then he said : you may proceed now… almost as if he was on an airport duty… disgusting.
That apart the I don't suggest the hotel to tourists as the locality is a dirty old place and from what I saw around there are far better and cleaner localities even in old guwahati.
Coming to the basics; the rooms are small in size but ok, same with the bathroom, decently clean too. The housekeeping is pretty stingy with the towels. We found only one towel in each of the three double rooms we had booked and had to literally beg for more towels. Nothing to view from the rooms except for the next building just a few feet away.
The breakfast was good and the food was also ok, while tourist in go don't generally fuss over food.
Don't expect any help or leverage in the check out timings either. Our pickup vehicle was late and we requested late departure 2 hours extra for one of the three rooms, which they flatly refused.
Overall not suited for tourists and not exactly pretty cheap too. So the value for money thing doesn't count. Avoid if you are on a holiday.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Sayantan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basudev D, General Manager at Vishwaratna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying at The Vishwaratna Hotel, Guwahati!!! and taking time to review it on this public forum.
* Front Office: It is our objective to provide a rejuvenating ambiance and impeccable hospitality to our guests for a hassle-free and happy stay experience. We regret that you were less than satisfied with our service and found our associates behavior unprofessional. Though we have been often praised for our outstanding service, we are disappointed to know about your inconvenience and assure you that we would look into this matter. However, Viswaratna is in line with an international 3 star hotel and we offer rooms of varying sizes, which are priced appropriately. Customers, who prefer bigger rooms, can choose an appropriate room while booking.
* House keeping : We are extremely apologetic and deeply concerned with the experience you had regarding the towels. I have since addressed the issue with the department head and initiated remedial action. I assure you that your feedback shall be dealt in all seriousness it deserves.
We would greatly appreciate if you could give us an opportunity to correct your perception and visit us soon. I would like to assure you I have personally addressed the same and I am sure you will notice a perceptible difference on your next visit.

Thanks & regards,
Basudev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Much better than the fake 'dynasties' around, this is no gem either. The morning breakfast was a horror show. The bread was hopelessly stale, can't imagine how could the hotel dare to place it on the buffet list. Rooms are clean and comfortable but again, the service suffers from the typical Northeast lethargy. I am a proud Northeast born citizen and hence it hurts even more. The business development guy was polite but that didn't help us one bit in making our stay worthwhile. The locality is all full of hardware stores, hence an evening walk is futile unless you are specifically looking for spare parts or electrical supplies. Stay here if you are looking for a budget deal for a night max.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sudhir_Raikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Vishwaratna Hotel, is the Best Value for Money - hotel in Guwahati. In AT Road it is a good hotel. The service is excellent. But there is a lot smell of wine & cigarettes in all floors. Other things are good.....

The rooms are no doubt conjusted...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarawgiharshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basudev D, General Manager at Vishwaratna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We thank you for your feedback on your stay at Vishwaratna. We value all guest feedback and ensure that we work on them. We have noted the feedback of the smell on the floors and have taken immediate steps to improve the same. We are positive that we live upto your expectations, when you stay next at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

this hotel is placed in AT Road Guwahati. little bit congested but after you enter the hotel you will be out of the din and bustle from the city life. Room rent is also very reasonable. Swimming Pool is on the top floor but you cant use it as i found it inopertive during my stay. food is excellent. break fast is good. they give a coupon for every room with the morning news paper and you have to submit the same in break fast.
staffs are very friendly and co operative.
Kamakhya Mandir is very near to the hotel. Pan Bazar Paltan Bazar are also very near.

Parking your car is little bit trouble.

Room Tip: always take prime cab or My cab from air port to avoid harrasment Alfresco is a very good relaxati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayakrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basudev D, General Manager at Vishwaratna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We thank you for staying at Vishwaratna, an ISO certified hotel during your visit to Guwahati. It is a pleasure to know that our team effort made your stay special & exceeded your expectations. I would like to take this oppurtunity to thank you for your appreciation which certainly motivates us. I certainly hope that we will see you return to Vishwaratna soon and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Assuring you the best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the budget hotel in Guwahati, most of the markets are approachable from this hotel. Hotel staff is just ok and food Quality also not so good. Can be tried for at least one time if someone travelling to Guwahati.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vjain003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Except for the location the Hotel is good in every respect. Good food, clean and spacious room and courteous staff. The surrounding of the Hotel is very crowded but near to river Cruise and taxi stand, The main market and Malls are about 10 Km far from the hotel. The hotel has small swimming pool on roof top and is also open for general public (members). Hotel Taxi for airport has fixed charges which is lower than market. The Biryani in the restaurant with continental touch was excellent. On the whole a good experience.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is an attraction for swim lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drharishhanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We being travel agent keep our guest in Vishwaratna Hotel Guwahati, The service & the hospitality is comparatively better than any other hotel in Guwahati. Rooms are nicely furnished with designer walls and LCD TV, Mini Bar & Tea Cofee Maker. We rate hotel Vishwaratna Hotel as one of the best in terms of hospitality..

Room Tip: Front Side Rooms are bit Noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basudev D, General Manager at Vishwaratna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Partner,
Greetings from Vishwaratna,
We thank you for patronizing us with your esteem guests. It is a pleasure to know that our team's effort has consistently met your guests expectations. I certainly hope that we will see your guests return to Vishwaratna as usual and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming them.

Assuring our the best attention at all times.

Kindest regards,
Basudev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#17 of 67 in Guwahati
94 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 67 in Guwahati
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kiranshree Portico
Hotel Kiranshree Portico
#11 of 67 in Guwahati
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#12 of 67 in Guwahati
190 reviews
10.3 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 67 in Guwahati
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#7 of 67 in Guwahati
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vishwaratna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vishwaratna Hotel

Address: A.T. Road | Onkar Plaza, Guwahati 781001, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: $48 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vishwaratna Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vishwaratna Hotel is situated in the heart of Guwahati, the nerve centre of North East India. This top-of-the-line hotel is nearest to the LGB Airport in its category and is near the city's prime commercial and shopping centres. It is ten minutes from Guwahati Railway Station and the city's hub of public transport service. The hotel is centrally air-conditioned to make stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Vishwaratna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing