We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOSIY” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vishwaratna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vishwaratna Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Naestved, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NOSIY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

On our way to Shillong, we had booked the hotel for one night in the end of Jan. 2013, through CLEARTRIP.
We got a last room at the end of 3rd floor. A lot of disturbance from outside - traffic, dogs barking & kitchen below.
Along with other disturbances, most of the night the staff was moving furniture on the 4th floor.
Since the rooms are not isolated, this was quite irritating.
Our complaint - twice - was as deaf ear to the management & reception staff.
The only respoance we got ``Sorry Sir´´

On our return from Shillong we were compelled to stay again 1 night in Feb.2013, as we had payed the hotel in advance through Cleartrip.
In the evening when we were ready to go to bed, we saw, when we lifted the carpet that on the bedsheet there were hairs and liquid from human private parts.
On complaining the bedsheet was changed & again ``Sorry Sir´´ thats what we got.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the end of corridor, expecially 3rd. floor. Check the bedsheets immediately you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKRaymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    48
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
10
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night in Feb 2013. The access to the hotel is very bad but upon entering its a pleasant surprise.
Pros
Good Food
Clean

Cons
We checked in at 1.30 pm and rooms were not ready, we had to wait for more than half n hr for the rooms to get ready.
The rooms were clean, but had only one towel. When we asked room service for another towel , they replied that they supply only one towel per room...talk abt love of sharing
The service at the restaurant was bad and when we reordered the veges we were told they wont be available and we could only get dal
But the worst was yet to come ... at night we were looking forward to our good nights sleep as we had a early start and had to leave for shillong and cherrapunji. And at sharp ten at night the blaring music started, we called the reception to check till when will it go on , and every time we were told another 10-15 mins . Eventually the music stopped at arnd 2.30 . So much for sleep.
Next day when we complained to the manager his response was it was in the restaurant so they couldnt do anything, as if the restaurant is not part of the hotel

So i would advice to stay away from the hotel if you value your sleep

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel in the month of February.

Nice hotel with all the comforts. Service and food are very good.
The saloon at the first floor of hotel is nice.
Swimming pool is opened from the month of March hence I couldn't see that.

Hotel is situated inside the city and do not have much things outside.
I could not even find some good restaurant outside.

Rest all is good and one can feel comfortable without expecting anything outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParikshitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathmandu
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed just for a day.the hotel is centrally located so good to stay near the market .the rooms were clean and decent but the lobby was stinking and dirty.the carpet was too dirty in the lobby.the food was good in the hotel but again the restaurant was smelling.so I can say very average only for business or transit types.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silchar, Assam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Its a very good 3 start hotel at Guwahati, located at the main business center AT Road (near Fancy Bazar). Offers value for money. The beauty parlour at the 1st floor is very good. Swimming pool at the 6th floor helps you relax in the evening and they serve quality buffet breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid road side rooms, prefer 3rd floor rooms over 4th during marriage season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravipatwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days last week. Went for a business tour along with my colleague. The location is fantastic right in the middle of CBD. Paltan Bazaar is only about 5 mins away. So the road is congested...with wholesale shops on both the sides. If you want to take a walk outside the hotel...forget it.
Once you enter the hotel the experience is quite different. The hotel is clean and quiet, the reception area very spacious and comfortable. The rooms well furnished. Beds comfortable with clean linen and upholstery. The housekeeping is neat. Food available 24 hrs and quality of food is good.The staff is friendly and efficient. There is rooftop swimming pool but couldn't check it out because it is winter. Overall a good experience. If I personally missed something is a gym/fitness center. That would be a great value addition.
If you are looking for a business trip...highly recommended not if you are on vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathuspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Was there for an event during Durga Puja and the hotel is centrally located and staff is very courteous. Always ready for the help. Comfortable rooms and the parlor in the hotel is excellent. The services were so relaxing. Food is good. They have also been helpful to serve us beyond their closing as we used to be late everyday due to our event. Overall, its a good place to stay in Guwahati. Thanks Vishwaratna for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANJEEVOHRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lilawati Grand
Hotel Lilawati Grand
#45 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rains Inn
Rains Inn
#4 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#7 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#5 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#12 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vishwaratna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vishwaratna Hotel

Property: Vishwaratna Hotel
Address: A.T. Road | Onkar Plaza, Guwahati 781001, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vishwaratna Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vishwaratna Hotel is situated in the heart of Guwahati, the nerve centre of North East India. This top-of-the-line hotel is nearest to the LGB Airport in its category and is near the city's prime commercial and shopping centres. It is ten minutes from Guwahati Railway Station and the city's hub of public transport service. The hotel is centrally air-conditioned to make stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Vishwaratna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing