We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Nandan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nandan
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Hotel nandan is basically a budget hotel, although they claim as stsr hotel. Overall experience is OK. Most of the rooms are having carpet on the floor, which is very stinking. But it's centrally located & the food quality is really good.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiruMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nandan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

Hotel Nandan is one of the better hotels in Guwahati but situated at a place which is in the centre of the market and too overcrowded. But its has good parking facility and a good reception which makes the stay at the hotel comfortable and hassle free. The rooms are also good and clean and the food also good.
Overall a good hotel and a value for money stay

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweettravellerIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I had stayed in a property called Ruturaj in Guwahati once. I bolted from there the first day. Terrible is a mild word for Ruturaj. Should have known better when I saw the tariff was just Rs. 900 (USD 18). The next time, I stayed at the Dynasty, which is probably the best in Assam but rather expensive at Rs. 4500 (USD 90). My discovery of Nandan therefore, was of great benefit since I got a decent, clean place at about Rs. 1800 (USD 36).

Nandan is located in a busy area, but the best is that it is a litte far off from the militancy-affected regions. Free wireless was a surprise, though its not exactly 512 kbps. Rooms were decent-sized, functional and clean. Bathrooms were clean and well appointed. Interesting to note is that the elevators open out to the floors and the rooms are all lined up on the edge of a quadrangle, forming an atrium in the middle. Given Assam's round the year rainy atmosphere, it does give the effect of a heritage property.

Food is okay. As is the service. Staff is professional but they seem to know that they are the best hotel in the range and hence don't really budge to requests for discounts for business/repeat travellers.

Unless you can afford the Dynasty, Nandan is the safest, best bet for a stay in Guwahati.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pr0metheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This was my personal trip. When I first checked in they said booking was cancelled but when on speaking to Yatra they solved my problem. Rooms were comfortable and clean. I was outside and location was good. Market was near to the hotel so there was no problem for my wife bcoz she loves shopping. Rest of the things were good enough for me.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishu_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I have been to Nandan a number of times in last 15 years.
I had some good memories about this hotel in mid nineties.
But during my recent visit I was shocked to notice how a good hotel is going down!
The room was just ok, nothing much to write about. The toilet plumbing(especially the health focet) is poor and as a result of which the washroom always remain wet.
You have only one powerpoint in the room. The moserbear TFT TV was a pain, it freezes every- time you change a channel.
Room service is sluggish and unprofessional.
Wi-fi internet connection is there, but nobody knows how to activate/operate it. The stock reply is 'server down' when in actuality it is due to the unavailability of the computer person the service could not be properly utilised.
Running hot water is not available 24 hours, but you will get running service! Somebody will carry bucket of hot water if you want that in the wee hours:-)
Food is average.
But the banquet manager was ignorant about the schedule of serving of drinks.
Finally the bottles and some snacks arrived when the guests almost finished their dinner!!!
There is not enough parking space for guest cars.
It was an awfully bad experience staying at Nandan this time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Sir,
With reference to your visit and the observations posted on Tripadvisor.in, we highly appreciate and value your observations which shall always encourage and motivate us to perform better. Our hotel has been under a major renovation and we have upgraded ourselves in all respect. The rooms have been well furnished/furbished and all rooms have SOUND PROOF WINDOWS. We apologies for the disappointing experience that you had during your stay and assure you that all the deficiencies pointed out by you have been taken care of and suitable corrective measures taken .
You have been staying at NANDAN for more than 15 years and PATRONS like you are our esteem Brand Ambassador and we deeply regret for the ordeal you went through. It will be a pleasure to welcome you to come and stay with us whenever you are visiting Guwahati next. Thank you once again for your observations. For any queries or clarifications, please feel free to contact the Vice President (Operations) directly on +9197060-81851. For your information we have guest feedback/ suggestion boxes placed at all our guest interactive points and the guest feedback forms are reviewed by our Managing Director personally every Monday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The hotel's website 'll cheat you. My family members started complaining immediately after entering the room. The beds were old and the bedsheets were stained and dirty. Cigarette butts were lying in every corner of the room. The entire room smelled like whisky. Service was horrible. If you love staying in a hotel located in a market place with extreme noise pollution then this hotel can be a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyTGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

May 31, 2010
With reference to your visit and the observations posted on Tripadvisor.in, we highly appreciate and value your observations which shall always encourage and motivate us to perform better .First of all we assure you that our website shall never cheat anyone. We projected ourselves as we are. It is indeed unfortunate that during the time of your stay we were having acute MAN POWER SHORTAGE due to mushroom growth of hotels and restaurants in Guwahati. Our hotel has been under a major renovation and we have upgraded ourselves in all respect. The rooms have been well furnished/furbished and all rooms have SOUND PROOF WINDOWS. The rooms do not smell like WHISKY anymore and the HOUSEKEEPING is to your expectations.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you to come and stay with us whenever you are visiting Guwahati next. Thank you once again for your observations. For any queries or clarifications please feel free to contact V.P.Operations directly on 09706081851 –For your information we have GUEST FEED BACK/SUGGESTION BOXES placed at all our Guest interactive Points and the Guest Feedback forms are reviewed by our MANAGING DIRECTOR Personally every Monday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Its a Hotel which has fallen from its heydays, but still a decent hotel. Clean,good service, free breakfast included. I had stayed there for 4 nights with my parents,wife and my six month old daughter. It is located smack in the middle of the city, 5 min walk from the railway station, about 45 mins drive from the airport

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.7 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#1 of 63 in Guwahati
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#15 of 63 in Guwahati
93 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 63 in Guwahati
325 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#14 of 63 in Guwahati
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#8 of 63 in Guwahati
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nandan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nandan

Address: G.S. Road, | Paltan Bazar, Guwahati 781008, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nandan 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nandan, Guwahati, provides warm ambience and ensures ultimate comfort. Well-appointed rooms with minimalistic interiors complement the warm hospitality of the hotel.Also, its easy accessibility to the railway station ensure convenience to both leisure and business travellers. Location: Hotel Nandan is located at G.S. road, Paltan Bazar. Tourist destinations that are close to the hotel include Assam State museum (Approx. 2km) and Kamakhaya temple (Approx. 6km). Kamakhaya temple located atop Nilachal hills is an important temple for tantric worshippers and Hindus. Sukreswar temple, Kaziranga National Park and Umananda temple are other distant places of attractions in the town. Distance from Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport: 21 km (approx.) Distance from Guwahati Railway Station: 4 km (approx.) Hotel Features: Guests are assured of convenience, comfort and a pleasant stay by the hotel. The basic amenities offered to the guests are room service, internet, 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, baby sitting, parking, travel desk, 24-hour security and and doctor-on-call. People on a business trip can ask for a conference suite. To convene meetings, conference rooms and meeting facilities are available. Multi-cuisine restaurants, Transurry and Mexitthachi satisfy the taste buds of food lovers.Transurry offers pure vegetarian Indian, Mughlai, Tandoori, Continental cuisines while Mexitthachi serves Mexican, Italian, Thai and Chinese cuisines. Guests can also chill and unwind at a semi lounge hookah bar known as Lords. Rooms: Deluxe a/c room and executive a/c room are two different types of accommodation available. The rooms are an abode of comfort with its elegant appeal and warm setting.Room amenities include colour television, internet access, safe and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nandan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing