We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well connected decent hotel for business as well as family”
Review of Hotel Nandan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nandan
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well connected decent hotel for business as well as family”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Hotel is quite old and decent one. Rooms are clean ( little old style ), although not as good as new one, but still good at this price..
They have 2 banquet, one in ground floor and other is on 5th floor. you would find most of the time ground floor is occupied by some company or family gathering. food is good and competitive price..
Most advantage for this hotel is it is centrally located near bus stand .. in market, you need not to go too far for any thing..

Room Tip: Take room in between 1st floor to 4th floor, on 5th floor they have Room service / banquet, so you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President, Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such wonderful feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality,

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President ,Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    64
    67
    14
    10
See reviews for
28
10
29
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel is in middle of the city or rather heart of city. it's a bit old hotel with average service. rooms are really small but food is good. complimentary breakfast is bit sad as the offering is poor. room service is fast and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikas22in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such wonderful feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality,

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel off & on for more than 7 years and this has been my favourite hotel in Guwahati. Great rooms , great food & great service has ensured that it remains the same till today. On a typical business day , you start your day with great breakfast buffet & go out. On your return in the evening you have a great bar. Restaurants serve continental , chinese , mughlai & indian food to suit the palate. Staff is very courteous & warm. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main road are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sourav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such wonderful feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality,

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Rooms are ok.
They serve breakfast & it looked to me as a ritual! it could be made better.
Few rooms does not have sun light coming to the room, Food is good, in fact they have a bar too which was decent!
The best part of the hotel is the location, PALTAN BAZAR. this helps all the travelers on business trips.
basic Service could be better, on being asked for few more tea coffee sachets, I was told we only give this much & pay extra if you want more! the way it was communicated was bad.
if you have been spoilt by other places please let your hairs down!

Room Tip: higher floors & the one with a view towards market
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnilBabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is a pleasure to read such wonderful feedback such as yours, which gives our team great motivation to do even better.

Thanking You,

Yours in hospitality,

Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are ok.They serve breakfast which is ok. Few rooms does not have sun light coming to the room. Food is good. Laundry bag was not there in the room. I informed reception to take laundry however it was not taken. Rest every thing was ok.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! However, please accept our apology for the inconvenience in regards to your recent dissatisfaction with us.
We are apologetic that the usual high standards of our Hotel’s services were not met in this instance to you.
To prevent re-occurrences, we have set up a verification procedure and assure you that the preventive measures will be taken to satisfy guest requirements.
Thanking you for your valuable feedback and assure you our best of services.
Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,
Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

And the lying was both obvious and unnecessary. I was turned away from my first choice hotel because it was full and selected the Nandan on the grounds that it was nearby and had in room wifi. The man in reception was adamant that they only had more expensive "deluxe" rooms available - all the standard rooms were occupied. He refused to consider any discount and it was only when I insisted repeatedly on talking to a manager that miraculously there was a cancellation, apparently notified to him by clairvoyance because he didn't talk with anyone or leave the desk. Why behave like that?

The hotel is a bit overpriced which is why I was trying to get the cheaper type of room. They also add around 25% in combined service and luxury tax. It isn't quite up to scratch in spite of trumpeting its 3 star credentials. That said, it is not a bad hotel when they aren't telling lies. There are bell boys in monkey suits right down to the flower pot hats - lots of them. I would prefer a cheaper tariff and fewer bell boys. All they did was jostle around for the privilege of opening the door and I was happy enough opening it for myself.

The room was reasonably well appointed with TV (the remote had a defect that only allowed channels to be changed down not up which was irritating but not major), kettle, good mattress and an excellent shower with ample hot water. The wifi worked very well throughout my stay. There was also a newspaper delivered to the door and breakfast was included in the tariff.

On the not so positive side, the shower box leaked so that the bathroom was awash most of the time.

The room was on the 6th floor which was mainly occupied with large function rooms and there were a couple of noisy birthday parties on the nights that I stayed. This isn't really a complaint because the parties finished reasonably early and I did force them to give me that room.

The weirdest part of all was the mandatory advance payment of the room tariff. I have never had that before, even in budget hotels.

The Nandan is an alternative if something better is not available. It is clean and well serviced and the wifi is excellent. Pity about the lying. My suggestion is you try for the much better Rains Inn which is very close by and if that doesn't work out then you always have the Nandan to fall back on.

Room Tip: My room 550 but on the 6th floor was noisy because of the function rooms but very quiet at other tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Madam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! However, please accept our apology for the inconvenience in regards to your recent dissatisfaction with us.
We are apologetic that the usual high standards of our Hotel’s services were not met in this instance to you.
To prevent re-occurrences, we have set up a verification procedure and assure you that the preventive measures will be taken to satisfy guest requirements.
Thanking you for your valuable feedback and assure you our best of services.
Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,
Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rooms has been slightly refurbished but it does not give a new look. There was a marriage or some function in the rooftop and the guests were staying in the hotel rooms. Whole night they disturbed me. The bells of the room were in the most awkward position so I am not even sure that they were sure which bell to press. From 9 PM to 3 AM my bell was pressed 10 times at least. The hotel staff has no clue as to what is available in menu. Food quality available in transcurry has detoriated considerably. Even the breakfast was not upto mark. Overall avoid if better option is available

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poonamsriram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrinalkanti55, Vice President Operations at Hotel Nandan, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Madam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback! However, please accept our apology for the inconvenience in regards to your recent dissatisfaction with us.
We are apologetic that the usual high standards of our Hotel’s services were not met in this instance to you. We are under renovation of rooms and upgrading some of the facilities as per guest requirements and some systems are under installation stage, which may have interrupted your recent stay with us.
To prevent re-occurrences, we have set up a verification procedure and assure you that the preventive measures will be taken to satisfy guest requirements.
Thanking you for your valuable feedback and assure you our best of services.
Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,
Mrinal Kanti Chakraborty
Vice President Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#15 of 61 in Guwahati
91 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#14 of 61 in Guwahati
167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#5 of 61 in Guwahati
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#8 of 61 in Guwahati
272 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
0.7 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#11 of 61 in Guwahati
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nandan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nandan

Property: Hotel Nandan
Address: G.S. Road, | Paltan Bazar, Guwahati 781008, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nandan 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nandan, Guwahati, provides warm ambience and ensures ultimate comfort. Well-appointed rooms with minimalistic interiors complement the warm hospitality of the hotel.Also, its easy accessibility to the railway station ensure convenience to both leisure and business travellers. Location: Hotel Nandan is located at G.S. road, Paltan Bazar. Tourist destinations that are close to the hotel include Assam State museum (Approx. 2km) and Kamakhaya temple (Approx. 6km). Kamakhaya temple located atop Nilachal hills is an important temple for tantric worshippers and Hindus. Sukreswar temple, Kaziranga National Park and Umananda temple are other distant places of attractions in the town. Distance from Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport: 21 km (approx.) Distance from Guwahati Railway Station: 4 km (approx.) Hotel Features: Guests are assured of convenience, comfort and a pleasant stay by the hotel. The basic amenities offered to the guests are room service, internet, 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, baby sitting, parking, travel desk, 24-hour security and and doctor-on-call. People on a business trip can ask for a conference suite. To convene meetings, conference rooms and meeting facilities are available. Multi-cuisine restaurants, Transurry and Mexitthachi satisfy the taste buds of food lovers.Transurry offers pure vegetarian Indian, Mughlai, Tandoori, Continental cuisines while Mexitthachi serves Mexican, Italian, Thai and Chinese cuisines. Guests can also chill and unwind at a semi lounge hookah bar known as Lords. Rooms: Deluxe a/c room and executive a/c room are two different types of accommodation available. The rooms are an abode of comfort with its elegant appeal and warm setting.Room amenities include colour television, internet access, safe and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nandan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing