We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ye olde hotel”
Review of Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dynasty is rated as Guwahati's best hotel. This hotel is right in the middle of old bazaar area - fancy bazaar. It is a put-off the moment you come out of the hotel. This hotel has excellent banquet facilities and is popular with many companies for their north-east leg of cycle/business meets. It's a pity there are no comparable hotels with these kind of basic facilities in Guwahati. The rooms are big with a heritage touch. The lamps have pull down threads to switch on and off. The bathrooms are basic- with a low budget hotel feel. Food is good, staff friendly and helpful. With very less competition to this hotel in Guwahati, the management is expecting too much - they have progressively increased the room tariffs over the years without making any improvements in the room facilities.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manopai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Dynasty Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have to say: this is a beautiful hotel in Guwahati. I stayed in the hotel for one night. I arrived late in the night and was graciously welcomed by the hotel staff. I quickly checked in with ease. The room and the bathroom was very clean, spacious, tidy and beautiful. The staff are very friendly as they carried my luggage from the parking lot to my room, and furthermore, assisted me with any thing I wanted. The people at tand the buffet offers really great food. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank massi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DynastyGuwahati, Front Office Manager at Dynasty Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Dynasty has plush interiors and has a royal and regal touch in the entire setup. The staff and service is very good and it definitely seems to compete in the league of elite chain of hotels like Taj.
I suppose the Hotel is an old one in Guwahati and it does seem to give that impression in some places but there also seems to be a constant effort to renovate and move with the times which is evident through the Spa which seems like the latest addition.
It also has a fitness centre with some multi-gym machines, free weights and a couple of Treadmills and cycles each. The gym is pretty basic but good enough if one wants to catch up on the fitness routine.
The breakfast has a good spread and had some delicious varieties.
The only thing that I felt was a drawback was the location which is Fancy Bazaar,one of most crowded places in the city but it can very well work to one's advantage if one likes to be in the thick of action and would also like to do some street-shopping

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellerNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel is situated in a densely crowded market- no 'views' possible from the rooms.

That said, their airport pick-up was efficient as was the check-in.
Due to its location in the City centre, the drive has to necessarily take the main road which has heavy & chaotic traffic. Allow for at least 60-90 minutes travel time one way.

My room was spacious, although in need of refurbishing (since 2006 maybe).
Bathroom was strictly functional with limited toiletries; shower floor did not drain by itself and accumulated water was a risk.
In- room dining options were reasonably priced; service was good-natured, albeit slipshod.
Breakfast spread was surprisingly good, although the server made it a point to emphasize that Hot Chocolate (which I'd requested) was "not offered as part of breakfast".
Gym is hard to locate, but quite functional (some machines need maintenance) and looks out onto the market. Frequent power outages cause machines to 're-spool' often.

Dinner spread was quite good. Our banquet arrangements were handled well.
Check-out was uncharacteristically slow.

I found this Hotel to be good value for money; service needs to buck up a bit (and aim to serving the guest effectively).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is one of the premium hotels of Guwahati and is very centrally located. As you step out of the hotel you can get into the shopping area of the city. All other important landmarks of the city are also not very far away.

As regards the facilities, the hotel lives up to its reputation. The rooms are good and have all amenities; the lobby is spacious and the restaurant at that level also has a beautiful aura around it.

The staff are courteous and taking care of guests for all their needs.

All in all, my experience was warm and I would like to relive it soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JumboMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stay there egen in Guwahati! The lever of service is outstanding

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klaka1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

the biggest plus point of the hotel was that it is centrally located in city and it was quiet easy for a traveler like me to explore the city in my free time...
rooms are of decent size, breakfast spread was good and front office staff was quiet helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay_hapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
0.3 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#1 of 63 in Guwahati
206 reviews
10.5 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#14 of 63 in Guwahati
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#15 of 63 in Guwahati
93 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 63 in Guwahati
325 reviews
6.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#2 of 63 in Guwahati
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dynasty Hotel

Address: SS Road | Lakhtokia, Fancy Bazar, Guwahati 781001, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guwahati
Price Range: $62 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of river Brahamputra, in the business center of Guwahati, Assam, Hotel Dynasty is a 4 star luxurious and one of the best hotels of North East region, serving the guest from all over the globe for past 21 years. The hotel is equipped with spaces ranging from a Boardroom to Large Banquet Hall. It is ideal for business meetings or private events and offering various options for accommodation and food & beverage services to cater the need of both business and leisure travelers.The hotel is located within 1 km range from the Guwahati Railway Station and 24 km from the Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport.The hotel offers varied unique Dining Experiences. Fresh, local produce, natural ingredients and vivid regional curries make Dynasty Hotel a smart choice for any of your meals. Our kitchen never closes, so you can eat on your schedule or on a whim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dynasty Hotel Guwahati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing