We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit if you want to know about Assam”

Shrimanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra
Ranked #8 of 51 things to do in Guwahati
Certificate of Excellence
Guwahati
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Visit if you want to know about Assam”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a place where one can have an idea of Assam's reach culture & history. A well maintained garden is just an additional attraction. If you want a fun-filled outing, this is not the best place to visit. But somebody who wants to know about Assam's history & culture, this a must visit place. Being an Assamese, I love to take my guests to this place to show the museums, light & sound show (afternoon) and my personal favorite - Dr. Bhupen Hazarika's museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UtpalHazarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    42
    18
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont bother”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Not many things to do in Guwahati if you go there after Kaziranga shuts and are not big into temple hopping. So went to the Kalakshetra. What a waste! Big spacious plot, lovely setting. That's about it. The exhibits are a joke. Literally what the other museums would have thrown out. The only fun we had was the exhibition of papier mache / wooden sculptures. Purely one person's personal indulgence. Figures supposedly based on mythological figures, but totally ridiculous and some were hilarious. Only the big Ravan one was good.The doll museum has to be seen to be believed. There's supposed to be a sound and light show. They didn't start it because there were only 6 of us, and the minimum requirement was 10, i think. We'd kept hanging around till late evening just for that, hoping to salvage what was otherwise an utter flop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules-Verne007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikkim, India
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Just yet another Garden”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you feel, that this THE destination for the culture of Assam, then one is purely disappointed much as we have been on our recent trip.
Sure. Its a fairly well maintained garden and has a crazy building hosting some dilapidated stuff in the name of the Assam's cultural relics without much information( better than similar such shoddy attempt in Shillong)
- Best part is to take a popcorn packet around the garden after a useless walk and leisurely saunter around to feel the fresh air for some time and get out for your next destination

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duliajan
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Outing”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Liked the place for its landscape. enjoyed the train ride with the kids. But its quite a walk from the parking area to be in inside.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chukafa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Sheer waste of time - Don't let Driver/Locals fool you ...”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

- Unless you are art lover (though I doubt any art lover would like it), please don't visit.

- There are many halls in it like dolls museum etc etc. and anyone is not maintained. May be 15 years before, it used to be something but not now.

- If you are planning to go Shillong as well, then you have a strong point to not visit this. As Don Bosco is 100 times better than this.

- The staff is not courteous as well. It was so hot in April and there was no drinking water available !!

- Once we get inside, it was hard to find where the right museum is and we keep wandering here and there. Staff wasn't understanding us. Even when we got into the museum, we faced high disappointment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mastweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra also viewed

Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
 
Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
 

Been to Shrimanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing