We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”
Review of Rains Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rains Inn
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hospitable staff, good service, lovely complimentary breakfast, clean rooms with all basic amenities, spacious bathroom, good restaurant and everything decorated with lovely bamboo furniture. what more do you need for such rates? only one suggestion : it would have been excellent if bed size was bigger.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shah_Priyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainsInnGuwahati, Manager at Rains Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Ma'am,

We at Rains Inn are extremely grateful for your review. We hope to resolve the one issue pointed out by regarding bed size as soon as possible.

Thanking you.

Affectionately,
Management
Rains Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 153 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights on 9th and 10th. Bed size is very small and uncomfortable--width is between 1AC and 2AC bed width. House keeping is worse with no sense of timing. We went away with instruction to clean the room but to no avail. Restaurant was closed for maintenance and we were given food in room but food quality was bad. It was stale as well.Bathroom need improvement. Commode cistern doesnt spill enough water and took lot of time to fill up. Room lights were insufficient.Bath room needs taps also.

Room Tip: if you find another hotel go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_Jha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainsInnGuwahati, Manager at Rains Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Sir,

We are extremely sorry for not being able to serve you to the best of your expectation. It will be our utmost priority to sort out the many problems you have faced.

At present the restaurant has been moved to the rooftop. The restaurant is being upgraded to a "Live Kitchen" which been made keeping in mind our efforts to provide piping hot food in a clean environment. The restaurant will be functional by 20 December. Until then we will try to create a serene atmosphere at the rooftop so that guests may enjoy the winter weather in Guwahati.

We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience caused. Please do give an opportunity to serve you to the best of our capabilities and your expectations.

Thanking you.
Affectionately,
Management
Rains Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

stayed there on last week of october. rains inn is ok, but there is something missing. the reception staff are good, but there information about guwahati is very nominal. tourist normally asks them about places to go. WA the restaurant is good, but i think is overpriced. should tell abt complimentary breakfast. food varities of food. good taste.the room which i stayed was a executive one, but a.c was not working properly. the locking system was not working. needs lot of improvement. otherwise good people, friendly. should stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms are good. 402 is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajkohli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

First the positives:
- Great place; centrally located
- Good front office service( though in reactive mode)
- Excellent support of Mr.Biswajit Adhikari, in providing the tidbits of info on the local sightseeing in and around Assam
Definite Improvements needed:
- Property is not centrally airconditioned
- Room airconditioner works just about OK
- Housekeeping needs improvement in maintaining the property and the room as well
- Bathroom, shower lever doesnt work either to dispense the cold or hot water or the normal supply of water without the Shower
- Commode water pressure is very disappointing; takes lots of time to fill in
- Lots of junk, dated magazines and books lying around across the floor; instead they can provide one business and one normal shopping digest within each of the rooms
- Front office is completely unaware of the reservation advance that was paid by the customer
- Net connectivity in the rooms is abysmal; but front office has provided us the access to their staff laptop in their office and at the front office( which is just painful)
- overall, people and property is highly disorganized
- Breakfast is tepid, staid, and absolutely boring: with same Parathas and Puris that are dripping in the oil
- Service in the breakfast restaurant is pathetic; it needs definite improvement in terms of clearing up the table, preparing the table, cleaning up, refilling the breakfast items, providing water, and a fresh tea or coffee. It takes ages to have the response coming in
- Its even more disappointing to note that GM does stay at the top floor of the property and yet this phenomenon continues to dog the traveller. We have stayed for 4 nights at this property in so called deluxe double room
- There is no conscious attempt to provide proactive, positive professional experience to the consumer nor any attempt to brand their wares and offerings
- people are disconnected on a given point: ex: some other room's service bill is charged to us; there is neither signatures of the consumer who has taken the service nor the personnel are in a position to trace it out
- Ambiance is just about OK; furniture is made of bamboo/cane by the leading agency; but somehow aesthetics are completely missing
- It needs thorough revamp; lest no one believes that within 1.5yrs of its inception that it has reached such a sorry state of affairs

Room Tip: There is hardly any difference in the type of rooms: deluxe, superior, suites etc., except very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainsInnGuwahati, Manager at Rains Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are a new hotel and it is our goal to improve. We are experiencing the hospitality industry for the first time and with people like yourself advising us I am definitely sure we will improve.

Thanking you.
Affectionately.
Management
Rains Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for a day on our way to Shillong. Room and toilet were nice and clean. Food at the restaurant Wa was good. And bang opposite is a Bengali restaurant also. Location wise it is near the market area but could not find much stuff for shopping a traveller would be interested in such as local handloom and handicrafts. No view from hotel but then there is none in Guwahati I suppose. Kamakhya temple is in between not very far away and on the way towards the airport. Service was good. And the most nice part was the honesty of the staff. We left behind some stuff in the hotel and when we called from Shillong, the person at the reception assured us that if it is in the hotel we will get it back. And on our way back we stopped and got the stuff back. Special thanks to the people there. Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank deepmajumder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice rooms. Big windows. Good staff. Overall good sleep without any noise. Improvement required in cleaning of the room as I found some leftover cleaning tissues used by earlier occupant. TV in room not very good. The images were blurred. Wifi issues - wifi signal strength is too weak to be any use. Restaurant menu is limited and there is no Chinese items. Complimentary breakfast is fixed - aloo puri paratha and fruits. Apart from these minor issue which can be easily sorted out by the management, this hotel is definitely much better than the other established hotels in paltan bazar- hotel nandan, hotel trimurthy etc. Definitely recommended for travellers and tourists looking to halt at paltan bazar.

Room Tip: Book in advance as the rooms are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajkumar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is located in a very convenient location away from the hustle and bustle of Paltan Bazaar yet close to the amenities of Paltan Bazaar. It is a comparatively new hotel in the area and as a result the rooms are very nice. It also has a travellers library on all the floors which is a very nice touch on the part of the owners. There are 23 rooms in the entire hotel which means that if a large group arrives here you will find it full.
There was no variety in the breakfast menu and on all the days I stayed at the hotel I found it to be almost the same. Food prices at their Wa restaurant are also on the higher side. I ate at an ethnic Bengali restaurant named "O Maa Go" located diagonally opposite this hotel which has an excellent thali and also some totally value for money items on the menu.
The only reason I have given it a very good rating is because it is located in Guwahati where other hotels are not as good as this one.
However, Rains Inn has to maintain its standards if it wants to be popular with business travellers visiting Guwahati.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
120.3 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 67 in Guwahati
379 reviews
114.9 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 67 in Guwahati
174 reviews
122 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 67 in Guwahati
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
124.5 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#17 of 67 in Guwahati
94 reviews
125 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#2 of 67 in Guwahati
220 reviews
123 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#7 of 67 in Guwahati
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rains Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rains Inn

Address: Solapara Road | opposite Capital Tours & Travels, Guwahati 781008, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: $35 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rains Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rains Inn Eco Hotel,understands the needs of guests from distinctive cultures and nationalities. The management thrives upon core issues like good service, cleanliness and availability of best facilities within our premises. We hereby take the pleasure of introducing the hotel at khat khati. The name spells its distinct address meaning "An Eco Friendly Atmosphere" for people with style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rains Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing