We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Gujarat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

People were extremely friendly and I made some great friends right upon arrival,Room and bathroom were very clean.The breakfast was ok, front desk people were very help full specially the night sift guy, well trained very help full...thumps up like to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravi546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Gateway Grandeur next time you are in Guwahati!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Adviser regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and it was our pleasure to host you.


With Warm Regards

Arup Roy

General Manager
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Guwahati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    86
    40
    8
    7
See reviews for
21
5
16
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am a frequent traveller in india and abroad and I have stayed in hotels throught my travel..so far this is the worst hotel I have stayed..I complete rip off.i advise people trvaelling to guwahati to pick a different hotel other than this one..ull be lucky if u get electricity in ur room..I stayed in some presidential suite which had no electricity during my entire stay in mid of summer.they didnt have the slightest courtesy to apologise either.their suite is the size of my closet and charges are 5 star hotel rates.pathetic!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damien120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed disappointing to note that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

We at Hotel Gateway Grandeur sincerely believe that guest feedback are stepping stones towards improvements; hence we look at each guest feedback very critically and work towards amends.

Arup Roy

General Manager

Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Guwahati
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed at the Gateway for 4 nights in January while attending the International Tourism Mart held at Guwahati. We were assigned hotels, so this wasnt my choice. Being my first time here, i wasnt sure what to expect, just that i hoped that the Hotel had decent free wifi.
Was put in room 503, size wise was quite big, though with tiled flooring. Fortunately the wifi, using password, was quite reliable and i was able to communicate with my family back home on FaceTime.

Breakfast was OK, although i was surprised they only start at 7:30am. Even then, the coffee and tea werent ready until maybe 20 minutes after that. Dont really know why they cudnt start breakfast earlier. Food selection wasnt great, and i was sick of the curry after the 3rd day.

Being a coffee drinker, the coffee here was TERRIBLE.

Had dinner one time at the cafe and asked for spaghetti aglio olio, and when it came, it was with tomato sauce.

Reception staff was not as welcoming from the expression of their faces. The bellmen and restaurant staff were better.

Went to see their gym and pool..... very very small pool... and the gym looked like an 80s gym... so didnt try it.

It was a decent stay as i was only using the room for sleeping anyway and was out most of the day.

Was told that over the next 1-2 years, 5 international brands are coming to Guwahati, so if anyone is interested to come here, wait until then.

Oh, lastly, the vicinity was ok to walk around, with some small shops and Pizza Hut and KFC walking distance (10 minutes maybe)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback. Your feedback will help us rectifying the mistakes. A drastic action already been taken by the management. We have changed the breakfast time to 7AM in the morning. We did also note your feedback on service at our Florentine Restaurant and taste of food. I assure you that we would certainly work towards improvement in these areas of concern mentioned.. Regarding the gym we have already ordered latest machinery. Staff meeting been conducted and training program for them also been organized.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel gateway Grandeur. Guwahati

Warm Regards
Arup Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS
Level Contributor
321 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location: at a busy street in Guwahati, only entrance for limousine cars.

Lobby and front desk: Good equipped, staff is not good skilled. Check-in and check-out is a nightmare.

Rooms: If you have a back room then all the night the neighbour dogs are barking. Room equipment is typical Indian. Air condition (heating) is not working. Wifi Internet is working and free, but very slow.

Breakfast: n/a. Better don't ask for a fast and good cofe. They don't bring it to you.

Room Tip: Don't take a backyard room if you don't like barking dogs in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mba4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate that you took out time from your busy schedule to give us your valuable feedback. We take all feedback in a positive way so that we can improve and cover all the loop wholes. Regarding the dogs barking late at night was an accident because we never got such complaints till date but I do apologies as you had a disturbed sleep. Regarding the wi-fi there may be so many reasons for being slow connection but we get complaints in very rare occasion. Then also based on your feedback we are getting a thorough check on it. We will be definitely looking into the service and the skill part so that on your next visit you can make the difference.
We will do our very best to continue to meet your expectations.
Thanks again. We look forward to serving you for many year’s to come.

Arup Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for a night on a business meeting. Although the room is average compared to the cost, the basic amenities are in place and cleanliness is maintained. One can have a comfortable stay on that count. Options in breakfast are limited. Not a great place if you are on a holiday, but ok for a day or two's stay on transit or a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for several weeks. The hotel is not bad and the staff are friendly but service in the restaurant is hopeless. Forget the international menu its not good.
Diet coke is Rs 140 from room service compared to Rs22 in the market, so Bacardi and coke is Rs 65 for Bacardi and 140 for coke!!!!
Swimming pool is not maintained and they didnt understand when I asked about chlorination.

As a water engineer I think its not safe to go into the water!

had a big problem with a disco from one of the function rooms. I complained nothing happened.

Looking for alternative hotels as I write this review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sir.
Greetings from Hotel Gateway Grandeur!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable suggestions. Sir, i can assure you that the management has taken this up seriously, As per your kind feedback regarding the Diet Coke @ Rs 140/-,Which is available in our Bar Menu. The room service must be served you from our Bar,Because Diet coke is not listed in our Room Service Menu, But We have Diet coke in our Mini Bar Menu @ Rs 75/-,Still your inputs have been shared with the F&B Team, Regarding Swimming pool, Chlorination, we do have a sophisticated filtration unit with chlorination dosser installed in the swimming pool which supplies required chlorine in regular interval.


We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcome you to at Hotel Gateway Grandeur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.4 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#5 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Guwahati Address by Centre Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
2.6 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#12 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kiranshree Portico
Hotel Kiranshree Portico
#8 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gateway Grandeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Property: Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Address: G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gateway Grandeur 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL GATEWAY GRANDEUR, Guwahati, as a city landmark and a veritable showcase of modern comforts and warm hospitality. Be it for pleasure or business, this hotel offers everything on a new level of luxury. The value is not just confined to the rooms, but also to the bar, restaurant and café. This business hotel has got the perfect ambience of every traveler in search of a comfortable stay, It is the perfect place where standards are not compromised but are raised up to a high level of their guests.Hotel Gateway Grandeur, A centrally air conditioned has 50 well-appointed rooms, including Presidential Suite , King’s,Queen’s,Princess Suites, Grandeur Club , Grandeur Bliss ,Grandeur Corporate & Grandeur Executive . The Rooms are spacious and tastefully embellished designed specially with the minutest details in mind to cater to the need and comfort of the guests in the best manner. All the rooms include a tea/ coffee maker, a well stocked mini bar, L.C.D. T.V., electronic safe lockers and other modern amenities in all category rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gateway Grandeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing