We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor attempt in guwahati..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were there for 4 nights altogether in two bouts. The rooms are noisey and the accoustics not well done. While we were on the 4th floor yet were disturbed by the noises of a baraat party in the reception. the music played in the central speakers can be heard inside the rooms.
the bathrooms have a terrible drainage and the water collects after the shower...
surely the owners could have done it up better from a functional view point.
the only saving grace is the assamese restaurant on the ground floor. brilliant assamese food.
the other one which serves b'fast was CRAP...really.

Room Tip: we stayed in two different ones but sorry cant recommend any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhupendrasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

The infrastructure of the hotel is new, the restaurant attached has good meal, the rooms are clean and reasonably well equipped. A good place to stay. Some rooms have foul smell in rooms e.g. room no. 504. The people at reception are good but they can smile more. The breakfast in the morning can have more fruits, else it is a treat!

Room Tip: Ask for internet password at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vipul61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Guwahati needs more of such business hotels. As a globetrotter it's not always easy to be satisfied with accomodation and one can not compare Guwahati with Sydney or San Diego. However, my last couple of stays here were not disappointing. The rooms are okay but the bathrooms must have dry/wet areas separated - it's just a simple sense of cleanliness. The breakfast menu could improve certainly.

Room Tip: be prepared to be disturbed all the time by the renovation work or very noisy music in hall filterin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Have stayed a couple of times in the hotel...........one of the best Hotels in Guwahati...............food is good, staff is friendly, rooms are good............room rent is on a Higher side, but ok as long as you the service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I visited the Hotel this June end for my Friends Marriage. They have arranged our stay in this hotel. To be honest, It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is average, needs a little improvement.

I often have to visit ghy for business also, would surely stay with you from next time.
Thanks GATEWAY!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metali03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel is situated at a good locality on the main road but the tariff is not as per the value of money. The swiming pool is nto clean and no one actually uses it because it is on the top of teh hotel and not many guest knwo that there is a swimming pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameet_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

In the gateway to North East which Guwahati prides itself to be, it is surprising that there are not many options to choose from when it comes to hotels. I have stayed in Hotel Dynasty, which is in the crowded area, also stayed in Brahmaputra Ashok which has got a fabulous location on the banks of river Brahmaputra but has fallen into bad times from which it seems it will never come out. This time while visiting Guwahati I made sure that I will try out some place which I have never tried out before. I decided on Hotel Gateway which is on GS Road. I stayed in the night of 4th March 2011.

The good thing of the hotel is it is quite new, and also modern in décor and design. The room, no. 202 on 2nd floor, in which I stayed, was quite spacious in size. The room had LCD TV, tea/coffee maker, nice bed of adequate size. The bathroom has all the standard toiletries; the nice addition was a lofa (see pic) for scrubbing. The only funny thing in the room is that the LCD TV and the bed is not aligned in a straight line, so for people who like to watch TV while lying on the bed it becomes a pain in the neck. The sound proofing of the rooms, atleast the room I stayed in needs improvement as the sound from traffic was seeping in though the decibel was not high, also there is a banquet hall on the 2nd floor and as a party was going on its sound was also audible sometimes.

The biggest disappointment is the breakfast. The puri sabzi was cold, there was not much of health food – some papaya and banana, no sprouts, no salad etc. If bread marmalade and corn flakes are your idea of breakfast then only you will be satisfied. The service at the breakfast table is also tardy.

Overall the sleep quality is good, the room comfort is adequate, and room rent at Rs3168/-per nite is okay. I will recommend the hotel in Guwahati as the alternatives are limited.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saptarshi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateway2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Dear Saptarshi,


First of all , we would like to forward you our heartiest thanks for trying our hotel and also for your valuable comments.

As per your 2 basic complaints, first one was regarding the TV, Sir, due to some technical problem it was placed that way, we would rectify the same soon and the next time you would surely find it in the right place.

Secondly, regarding the breakfast, we would be very much grateful if you can suggest us with some ideas which according to you should be modified in the menu.

Thanks once again and looking forward to your valuable patronage.

Feel free to contact the undersigned for any further details.

Regards
Asha.
+91 96780 41009
+91 95085 89313

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 73 in Guwahati
519 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
0.4 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#7 of 73 in Guwahati
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Guwahati Address by Centre Point
2.6 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 73 in Guwahati
394 reviews
2 mi away
Novotel Guwahati GS Road
Novotel Guwahati GS Road
#14 of 73 in Guwahati
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gateway Grandeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Address: G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gateway Grandeur 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL GATEWAY GRANDEUR, Guwahati, as a city landmark and a veritable showcase of modern comforts and warm hospitality. Be it for pleasure or business, this hotel offers everything on a new level of luxury. The value is not just confined to the rooms, but also to the bar, restaurant and café. This business hotel has got the perfect ambience of every traveler in search of a comfortable stay, It is the perfect place where standards are not compromised but are raised up to a high level of their guests.Hotel Gateway Grandeur, A centrally air conditioned has 50 well-appointed rooms, including Presidential Suite , King’s,Queen’s,Princess Suites, Grandeur Club , Grandeur Bliss ,Grandeur Corporate & Grandeur Executive . The Rooms are spacious and tastefully embellished designed specially with the minutest details in mind to cater to the need and comfort of the guests in the best manner. All the rooms include a tea/ coffee maker, a well stocked mini bar, L.C.D. T.V., electronic safe lockers and other modern amenities in all category rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gateway Grandeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing