We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grand Starline
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Aizawl, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in april 2013. It is bang opposite Mizoram House in GS Road where I did not get a decent room for me and my ailing grandmother. The hotel looks grand from the outside but the rooms do disappoint a little bit. The Junior Suite where I stayed had a good bathroom and functional sofa set. However the location of the TV ( a large early 2000's LG) was most inconvenient - bang in front of the queen size bed. The food was amazing and I recommend you try the Assamese fare. The service is a bit slow and the personnel couldnt speak much English. What I most pleased about was the care with which the staff treated my 89 year old granny who had just been discharged from hospital. The elevator was a discotheque in itself with mirrored panels. :) All in all good value for money, although it lacks a certain 'warmth'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raylalmuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
3
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Starline grand greeted us at 5 in the morning with nice clean and spacious rooms. The next two days of stay was quite nice. Service was prompt and the complimentary breakfast was good too. The room we were offered were spacious and clean. The washroom too was well equipped and spacious.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the GS road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samrat146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itanagar, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Situated in a very convenient location in GS Road ,quite close to the railway and taxi stations. Its a nice hotel with nice rates and spacious rooms .Starting from around 2700 INR for a single deluxe room to 7000 plus for super deluxe double rooms..The bathrooms are spacious with running hot water and there is the usual electric kettle with sachets of tea,coffee milk ,sugar etc and a centralized ac plus a mini bar.The complimentary breakfast is passable.Parking space is ample and the staffs are well behaved.There is a small swimming pool too but please check it out before you decide to jump in because the last time I checked it was as dirty as can be.And the excuse was "It cant be".

Room Tip: Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxfreeknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

i had booked suite room for 3 ppl in this hotel... though d room was big but had a very bad smell through out.for d xtra person only a matress was provided which is unacceptable.i wud not recomend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Digvijay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel Grans Starline, Guwahati situated in Christian Basti on the upmarket GS Road is a comfortable and economical place to stay.
It is well equipped with a Gym, a small swimming pool, a restaurant and a banquet hall. Also equipped with a good wi-fi connectivity. Being centrally located it is approachable from all sides of Guwahati.
It is a nice cosy place to stay and enjoy a sumptuous complimentary breakfast. The food served has a lot of variety and is quite good,
On m y business trips to Guwahati I enjoy staying here since apart from the in-house restaurant a host of other restaurants and food joints like Pizza Hut are just a walk away in the vicinity.
Stay and food is worth experiencing. .

Room Tip: A host of rooms are facing the GS Road, overlooking the small swimming pool but away from the hussle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pankajoswal_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Whenever I go to Guwahati, I make sure that I stay there every time by giving a call directly to the G.M, Indrajit . I feel at home in that place. Staffs are very polite. Best things is, the rate is very reasonable being a 3 Star property that too in the hub of the city. Even the standard rooms of this hotel are bigger than the suites of other star hotel of the city. 24hrs check out time is very interesting with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimranK118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location and outer view of this hotel is good , lobby is nice , at the reception check out and check in was good , but what they lack is poor maintenance . the seat covet in the room are torn , bed sheet not properly cleaned also the mattresses when you sleep there is continuous sound of squeaking of springs . At restaurant they will provide you with tissue paper only when you ask . the rooms were all having smell . If you want to use their swimming pool they have strange timing only 7- 9 in the evening for male , no we can not use the swimming pool in the morning . Guests are taken for granted .. Only BUSINESS HOTEL , not recommended for family with kids , there is no other entertainment for kids except tv. Food quality was just ok

Room Tip: Take the room on FIRST FLOOR
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJITKHOSLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunview International
Hotel Sunview International
#46 of 61 in Guwahati
9 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 61 in Guwahati
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Majesty
Hotel Grand Majesty
#25 of 61 in Guwahati
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Millennium
Hotel Millennium
#39 of 61 in Guwahati
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#4 of 61 in Guwahati
122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palacia Inn
Palacia Inn
#30 of 61 in Guwahati
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Starline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Starline

Property: Hotel Grand Starline
Address: G.S. Road, Christian Basti,opposite to Mizoram House(old post office), Guwahati 781005, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Starline 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Starline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing