We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice!”
Review of Pragati Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guwahati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pragati Manor
Ranked #9 of 98 Guwahati B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This a nice choice for conducting your office get together and public meeting. The ambiance is good for business purpose as well as personal party's. But only thing is the house keeping facilities need to be improved.

Room Tip: Try to choose the rooms on the back end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aswin_vaishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Located in the centre of city, food quality is goos but expensive. Breakfast menu is very low and does not include any local food verity. Staff specially at reception are not entertaining the business customers very friendly. Airport is far away around 22 km. from there. You can get AC bus service to airport from Volvo service station (near Palton Bazar) which is 4-5 km. from the hotel. You can visit to Fancy Market for local fancy cloths and can buy Assam Tea. You can have a full view of Brahamputra River opposite to Fancy Market and can have a boat ride to have a feel of BRAHAMPUTRA.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAY_GARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is in the main GS road with good exterior. The lobby is small but adequate. The striking thing in the lobby is availability of so many newspapers..Times,Sentinel, Assam tribune, assamese papers etc.
The capsule lift is good and well maintained.
the rooms are well maintained and reasonably clean.
the bath room is a let down...the shower cubicle is so small with such big shower nozzle it is impossible to turn on the shower without either burning your skin or shivering in cold water.

The fruits kept( i was in a suite) were very ripe and not good .
the break fast was with very limited menu but food quality is o.k
over all o.k experience but could have been better

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel lies in heart of City G.S Road. i.e. Guwahatis best area to stay in. I am a regular visitor to this hotel, primarily because of the location, Price and food.
As i have already stated this hotel lies in very good area, one will be able to find all branded exclusive store like Levis, ParkAvenue etc.
Machaan ( Chain of Restaurant) is very close by. lot of Alcohol Shops and Bar ( for All Alcohol lover).

Rooms of the hotels are very clean and well maintained, Toilets are also very clean and this hotel 's AC room is available well within 2000, thats quite reasonable amount.

The Hotel provided round the clock menu and food of this hotel is tasty and quite reasonable.

The Famous Kamakhya Temple is some 25 min drive from the hotel and all commercial places like office ( Private/ Govt), Restaurants, Hospitals are very close to this hotel.

Well there is one issue , never ever book cab from the hotel they provide the worst taxis i have 2 bitter experience from this hotel, after then i never dared to try.

Anyways i will say this hotel is value for money

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvinashM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Visited after almost a year, and found no noticeable change (except that there weren't any billing glitches this time).
Was given a larger, though older room; my envy of my colleague's modern 'new' room on the 6th floor vanished on learning that the hotel had only one key for his room.
Poor chap had to ring or visit the front desk every time he needed to access his room!

Restaurant food is patchy in quality & taste; which is probably why they keep the place so dimly lit.
Live Ghazals on both days we dined there, and the singer is happy to take requests.
Housekeeping staff was cheerful & quick to respond to requests. Banquets people were somewhat self absorbed, needing several reminders for even basic conference needs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

The hotel is verly nicely located on G S Road which forms heart of city. All the markets and malls are very close (max 1 kms radius) and so nicely placed cool hotel for business as well as family purpose. Mostly Guwahati being transit stops for tourists travelling furhter to North East, one would not like to spend much on trasit stop. The prices very low around Rs. 2500 for a double room with excellent basic amenities and very good service... Staff is very coardial and gives flavour of North East....very warm. The hotel has a nice bar and restoraunt giving North indian delicacies. The room service for food or otherwise is very prompt.....Must stay in lazy Guwati town in this hotel..for some more shopping before going into tranquil NE states like Meghalaya and Manipur..stull bags with sweaters etc from the markets nearby,

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
Thank rligade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We have stayed here during our official tour to Guwahati for around three days.
This hotel is located on GS Road of GUWAHATI.
We have enjoyed here its nice coffee shop.
Food quality is also little bit good.
If you want to stay in budget hotel, this is not a bad option.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
3.0 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#2 of 67 in Guwahati
218 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
#9 of 67 in Guwahati
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Lilawati Grand
Hotel Lilawati Grand
#53 of 67 in Guwahati
96 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 67 in Guwahati
377 reviews
3.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 67 in Guwahati
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pragati Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pragati Manor

Address: G.S Road | Christian Basti, Guwahati 781005, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Guwahati
Price Range: $73 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pragati Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Northeast , maintaining high standard of hygiene , refreshment and well appointed 42 rooms and suits in the heart of city and near to official minutes from Railway station this contemporary yet comfortable central Guwahati will serve as your gateway to the capital’s best . Following a substantial investment, our modern and bright lobby and corporate rooms afford premier accommodation to the experienced business traveler, while our enviable location near world-famous culture and architectural landmarks will delight our leisure guests. Our great Pragati Manor hotel accommodation gives you everything you need under one roof affordable guestrooms , excellent restaurants , and flexible conference facilities all come together in one unbeatable location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing