We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverview Guest House
Ranked #1 of 93 Guwahati B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calcutta
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have been to Guwahati thrice and two out of three times I have made my stay at this guest house and it anyday is better than staying in a hotel. It has all the facilities of a hotel and the best part is that you will not feel as if you are away from home. All facilities are provided and the people too are very cooperative and its equivalent to staying in a hotel. Its location (providing a river view) awesome and is another nice thing about the guest house. I would recommend anyone visiting Guwahati to stay at this place and myself would always go for it whenever I am going there next. Thank You Mr. Manoj for all the cooperation and making me feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    13
    4
    12
See reviews for
37
24
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I was in Guwahati on work for a couple of days and headed to Aaditya Riverview Guest House hearing of its locality. It's located away from the bustle of the city and yet all conveniences are within the locality. Right across the road is the Brahmaputra river and the area has a nice coffee shop, broad tree lined roads. Exactly the kind of localities I prefer.

As far as service goes, the food is great and very unlike a hotel, customisable to certain extents. Manoj, is a great host and will try and make your stay as comfortable as possible. I'm sure to be back here if I'm ever in Guwahati again.

Room Tip: River facing rooms would be best if budget permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8yam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I was traveling on work and I needed a space where I could both do my work and relax. The guest house is particularly suited for this. It is very homely — the food is great. The accommodation is quiet and comfortable. It was on the whole a very homely experience — I did not feel I was traveling abroad or had to deal with errands related to travel. Great facilities, great location — I will be back soon. Home away from Home!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aparna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

A serene and cozy accomodation in a prime location of the city. You can customise your meals and feel you are at home. Manoj, the owner, is a nice human being and caring. The tariff is quite reasonable and one leaves with an overall feeling of satisfaction of a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Riverview, of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akscrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We booked this hotel for a 2 weeks stay in Guwahati for official work. We started by staying in a different hotel, but felt really uncomfortable and were looking for something homely for our long stay. And we found this lovely guest house! Riverview guest house is not a luxury place. Yet, we will always remember it fondly for the time we spent there.

Located in Uzan Bazaar adjoining the banks of the Brahmaputra River, it offers you everything you might expect for a comfortable stay. We had a room with a view of the River and Umananda. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the food was nice and right across the road from the guest house was the river bank.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run guest house. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they really make you feel at home. The price is also at par, or maybe even lower than other good hotels in the city.

It was a relaxing and quiet place and being there simply felt like home. If we ever have to go to Guwahati for work or leisure, this is the place we would stay at and we highly recommend it. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddhi_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Guest House owner, young Manoj Goswami is the USP of the place. He personally supervises all arrangements. Some rooms have a splendid view of the mighty Brahmaputra River, which makes this centrally located guest house in Guwahati a wonderful ambience. Don't expect five-star stuff, but rooms and toilets and spic-n-span, well trained staff take care of all needs and at these moderates rates I don't think you can get similar accommodation in too many places. We asked for homely meals both nights of our stay and were rewarded with some traditional Assamese fish curries, delectably cooked. I was more than satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitrachandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I thought this was a great place to stay particularly because of the location- a quiet neighborhood on the river with great walking and accessibility to sites and the bustling city. Our host was fun to speak with and breakfast was satisfying. Staff was available to meet our needs and food could be prepared at times other than breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancybjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.7 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#1 of 61 in Guwahati
184 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 61 in Guwahati
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
#13 of 61 in Guwahati
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sunview International
Hotel Sunview International
#46 of 61 in Guwahati
9 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#8 of 61 in Guwahati
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
Hotel Aarian Aatithya
#16 of 61 in Guwahati
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Guest House

Property: Riverview Guest House
Address: 152, M.G. Road | opp Sati Radhika Shaanti Udyan main gate, Guwahati 781001, India (Formerly Aaditya Riverview Guest House)
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us for a song i.e. sizzling summer rates starting at just Rs1300/- for A/C rooms with breakfast and WiFi. Welcome to the RGH, a top-rated property by TripAdvisor and overlooking the mighty Brahmaputra. It's located at only a 5 minute walking distance from the Gauhati High Court & The Brahmaputra Ashok Hotel. The tastefully done up rooms offer an enchanting view of the river & its islands and are matched by efficient services of the staff. The LGNB Int'l Airport is 45 min drive & city rail station 10 mt drive; world famous Kamakhya Temple 20 mt drive. Squeaky clean spacious rooms/baths, power backup,WiFi broadband for our patrons, delicious home-cooked meals, secured parking, an affordable homely ambience abounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Riverview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing