We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayur Hotel, guwahati, advance booking”
Review of Mayur Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guwahati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayur Hotel
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mayur Hotel, guwahati, advance booking”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Good hotel, I had the misfortune to checkout on designated date, as per my pre booked Bus Ticket for onward journey to Silchar, but on reaching Bus Stop, was informed that busses cancelled due to ethnic clashes enroute. So, had to come back to city and book another hotel - which was way below dignified human expectaions for a higher price.
Mayur Hotel is one the best places to stay in Guwahati. Very near to the Railway station and cost effective - value for money accomodation.

Room Tip: Please select Deluxe Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmlanRoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    17
    10
    15
See reviews for
38
9
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was our first time in Guwahati, we arrived Guwahati unplanned and had no clue of the room rents and the hotel services provided here in Guwahati. We had landed up in a hotel (not Mayur) with a big price tag. Unfortunately and unexpectedly, that hotel turned out to be too in-hospitable, dirty and unhealthy. We had to to shift, and we shifted to Mayur - the cheaper, cleaner, hospitable, homely home away from home. Bests to Mayur.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudiptochoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I arrived from Kolkata on summer 2012, and I stayed on this hotel for 1 days i have to move to Shillong. Before moving to Shillong I asked to book 3 rooms for our family, and they booked non-ac with security deposit of Rs 1000 each. After form Shillong when we entered the room then we have see the room was so smelly, dirty and unhygienic. there were various insects in the room. When we complaint about all these things to the staff they deny all this things and even did not provide us the better room instead of this. they said that there are rooms but we have to pay double charge.Also they didn't checked the room in front of us, when we checked out they checked the room and said that bathroom has been broken. But it was from very begaining and we were saying about this to staff they simply denied and also they said us that nobody is complaining why are we complaining only . Now they were charging the double amount form us, when we denied that we have not this they were just not listening and giving threatening to us. Though they are charging 1000/- security for each room still they demanded extra 1200/- for property damage as mentioned by them. They are having the rooms but when a customer is in require of the best room they charged double money from them which is a cheating. Even the staff are so rude, that they cannot speak good words. We were felling so helpless and they were taking the benefit of our situation. The staff did not provide any service when asked for. I strictly recommend all customers not to stay in this hotel as they are cheating peoples in the daytime. they are just a type of dacoit. I will rate this hotel as -5 points. The staff of mayur are so worst than before. They Don't know any hospitality. In paltan bazar area there are many hotels, so please avoid this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
24 Thank preety2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

Shillong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I was Travelling by Train from Guwahati to New Delhi as I had to take my Mother for treatment. I had reached pretty late as there was heavy traffic from Shillong and was concerned about her condition. Our train was at 7 in the morning, I approached the Hotel and asked for a room. I was ready to pay for whatever tariff they ask and whatever room I get. My mother infact is an IAS Officer and I'm also an Engineer. However as soon as I approached the Front Desk, they just refused to even attend to me and infact it took 20 mins for some staff to condescendingly refused me a room and said no rooms were available. What got me angry was when another person who also had no reservation entered 30 mins after me, asked for a room and they gave him a room with a smile.When I asked for the Manager they started shooeing me out of the hotel. I was brimming in anger but refused to fight keeping my mother's condition in mind. I have stayed in many 5 stars in my 27 years, but have never been shooed away and that also by such a low scale budget hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel before you all get shooed away also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank karikor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I had a misfortune of venturing into Mayur Hotel, Guwahati this autumn. I was returning from Shillong and needed a hotel for our 2 days' stay in Guwahati. At first they denied me of any room although I had booked the room in advance. The cheating policy of the hotel is if you want to book a room they'll assure that they've a room and will ask you to come over to the hotel though they'll not confirm your booking over phone. But when you'll reach the hotel they'll deny that they've booked any room for you. After much persuasion they showed a very shabby room. Though it was a A.C. room but the A.C. wasn't working. They said that they will charge INR 100 less due to that and this is the only room that they got. Though I needed an A.C. room but fearing that I may not get another room so I asked my wife to stay in the room and I informed the reception that I want to look elsewhere for the room but requested them to allow my wife to be in the room and in case I don't get anything better I'll take this one. They allowed me and I found a better room. But when I came back to fetch my wife and luggage I just heard that they've literally threw my wife out of the room. When I asked at the reception what's the meaning of this the reception shamefully denied that they've permitted my wife to be in the room. My suggestion to all fellow travelers is that avoid Mayur hotel like plague and try some other hotels around. There are lots of good hotels in the neighborhood. I went to Mayur hotel after hearing a lot of recommendations but by my experience I realized that the old days of Mayur hotel is gone and the new management is nothing but a bunch of cheats.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Satty2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel is close to ASTC bus stand and railway station. the staff is well trained and room are clean and tidy. Avoid the food as it is not wort money.We can definitely say that it is one of the most well maintained hotel in guwahati, well trained staff, 24 hours room services, standard reception services,lift, high-class interior, comfortable beds and all modern sanitary and bath fittings. Come and have a stay on MAYUR and feel its charmness

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pallavgoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The hotel is a cheap choice (room rates are as low as INR 350 per day) for travelers as it is located very close to the railway station and the taxi stand (for Shillong, Airport etc.)

It is usually full and it can be extremely irritating to deal with the reception. Rooms are unclean, insist on fresh linen. However, there is power back-up and basic television. Before you settle down in a room, check the loo.

Have never stayed for more than a few hours. Not recommended for tourists. Instead choose Nandan.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachitchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
2.8 mi away
Palacia Inn
Palacia Inn
#25 of 61 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#18 of 61 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sunview International
Hotel Sunview International
#46 of 61 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mahalaxmi Indo Myanmar
10.0 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#15 of 61 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
124.6 mi away
Rains Inn
Rains Inn
#5 of 61 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayur Hotel

Property: Mayur Hotel
Address: Paltan Bazar | opp. Shillong Bus Stand, Guwahati 781008, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very heart of the city, Mayur Hotel, Guwahati is only minutes away from both the business hub as well as the major shopping malls and markets. Mayur Hotel, Guwahati recognizes the importance of offering luxury facilities to the travelers. The newly renovated Rooms are equipped with a personalized workplace and entertainment center for your 24-hour workday. Time to experience Business Class. As a hotel , Mayur Hotel, the most popular hotel in North East India, lives up to its traditional benchmarks of service and takes pride in its warm and friendly employees and impeccable customer care. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing