We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dry Ginger, No Flavour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Recently visited Guwahati on a business trip and decided to try out Ginger as I am a fan of the Ginger concept and have stayed in their Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Baroda, Bangalore hotels. While I stayed in Gateway Grandeur last time, this time I had little extra time to kill and I thought let me try Ginger as I am getting it at 60% the rate of the other hotel. Here is my review:

The Good:
- Great view from the room of the green fields and distant hills. Calming effect on you after a busy day. Nice to stroll around.
- Typical and efficient Ginger room and bathroom with all minimal amenities.
- Food was surprisingly good in this Ginger (both the set meal they gave for dinner and the breakfast)
- Price.
- Almost the same time to go to airport as from the main city.

The Bad:
- The AC takes time to cool. One needs to use the fan in tandem to feel comfortable.
- The bathroom tiles were slippery.
- The towels were well worn, rough and uncomfortable.
- Limited channels on TV. No Times Now. No Arnab Goswami and that too in Assam. Unacceptable. Tata's should not have their strained relationship with TOI group affecting their guest choices.

The Ugly:
- No Wireless for the whole of day I stayed. Apparently their server was down. On top of it their own Tata Photon services are not available in Assam. I felt "withdrawal symptom" during the time I stayed there without internet.
- Pathetic Gym. There is just one cycle and one Treadmill. The Treadmill is in repair. The cycle looks old and worn. No TV. It was a disgrace of a gym.

Overall verdict. Stay when you have additional time to travel to the outskirts where Ginger is located and you are on a limited budget. Don't stay if you want to step out in the evening for shopping, restaurants or if you want facilities like Gym etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

We are sorry to hear that your dissatisfaction regarding the bathroom tiles which has been taken up with the relevant department. We understand that you were dissatisfied with the condition of the towels. Based on your valuable feedback, your concern was taken up with the respective department heads for corrective action. The towels have been replaced . With regards to the AC not functioning properly, the same has been brought to the concerned department's attention for a immediate action. Your feedback regarding the WiFi, TV channels and the gymnasium has been escalated to the respective department for which the changes have been planned.

We would however like to thank you for the words of appreciation for the view from the rooms, price of the hotel and food served, which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Delhi – Guwahati, and thank you for bringing it to our attention; your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best. You will experience a marked difference in our service during your next visit.

Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions. Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 356 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you are just looking for a clean bed, a good night sleep and a small but apt spread for breakfast, before you catch your flight back home; well this is the place for you. We were returning from our 5-day long north-east vacation in Meghalaya and Assam, and could not find better value place for all the aforesaid needs.
Anyone looking for anything further, you will have qualms about the place and your stay there. Because the location is quite remote (making it almost necessary to have a car at disposal to move around) and internet connection is choppy (mobile devices do-not or very weakly connect to wi-fi in the rooms). We did experience a non-working AC, but they promptly shifted us to the room next door.

Room Tip: Being a value business hotel, try for rooms on higher floors that are less occupied and hence more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SachinRustogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction, with the connectivity of the WiFi and the air conditioner in the room. We have taken this up with the IT and Technical team to have it resolved immediately. It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best service at Ginger, and hence, we genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We however appreciate your words with regards to the room cleanliness & the food served and will communicate the same to the concerned departments.

It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Cleanliness is so poor. Mosquitoes are available each and every corner of this hotel including your room. Overall housekeeping irritate you about this stay. Food off this hotel also average. I can't recommended this other.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravinder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Ravinder,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback and concerns. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness and the mosquitoes in the room, which has been taken up with the Housekeeping Supervisor for corrective action. Furthermore, the housekeeping staff has been briefed in this regards to be more efficient and ensure that our guests don't have to face any such issues. Your concern about the F&B offerings has taken up with the F&B partner & we have asked the team to ensure that food quality is up to the standard. You will experience a marked difference in the quality & taste of our F&B offerings during your next visit.

It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very mediocre hotel. No value for money. Located in the outskirts of the city with nothing around. Very bad service and average rooms. The wifi never worked. The breakfast also was not upto the mark. The only good thing was the Cafe Coffee Day outlet within the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virajgada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Mr. Viraj,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback and concerns. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

We understand that you were dissatisfied with the location as well as Wi-Fi facility of the hotel. Your concern regarding the Wi-Fi has been rectified immediately as it was a temporary snag. However, your concern about the F&B offerings has taken up with the F&B partner & we have asked the team to ensure that food quality is upto the standard. You will experience a marked difference in the quality & taste of our F&B offerings during your next visit. We also understand that you were dissatisfied, with hotel room size and the design is not upto the mark. Your feedback has been taken into consideration and the concerned team has been briefed upon the same. Regarding the room service we sincerely regret that the hotel staff was not competent to attend and address your complaints, which was shared with the Hotel Manager for corrective action. The teams have been briefed up to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't face such issues.

It has always been our endeavour to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations, Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The location of the hotel is far flung but the hotel does provide complimentary pick up and drop till Six-mile road which is about 2.5 km from the hotel from where you can get autos. There is no auto stand anywhere near. The food is good but a little on the expensive side if you want to indulge in the buffets. Room service of orders taken in the restaurant is available only at select times in the morning and evening. The rooms are cosy and have a good ambience and view. The elevator is also smooth and speedy. The only downside is that everything here mostly is self-service. Overall, a good place for a short duration if you don't mind the travelling.

Room Tip: Go for it if you prefer the peace and quiet away from the noisy and populated city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FaruK333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback and concerns. On behalf of Ginger Hotels, we sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with our warm hospitality; which is the general norm of our hotel. We note with deep regret that our services did not meet your expectation during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction, about the hotel's self service policy and buffet being expensive. Your feedback regarding the same has been taken into consideration and has been shared with the respective department. We do provide room service which is available at select times in the evening. We would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for rooms, ambience and complimentary pick up & drop facility, which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, thank you for bringing it to our attention; your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best. You will experience a marked difference in our service during your next visit.

Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions. Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Hotel Ginger, VIP, 6th mile, Guwahati along with a colleague. Nice clean rooms, albeit small for 2 persons. For a twin bed room, there was only one chair meaning one person has to be on the bed. Nothing for guests! Too many mosquitos, thanks to the water bodies around. Would have been good to put nets on the windows. Food supply needs to improve.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dipankar_Pakhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mr. Pakhi,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction, regarding the furniture provided in the room. Your feedback regarding the same has been shared with the respective department. Your concern about the F&B offerings has taken up with the F&B partner & we have asked the team to ensure that food quality is up to the standard. You will experience a marked difference in the quality & taste of our F&B offerings during your next visit. Also, your feedback to put nets on the windows has been taken into consideration and we have asked the respective department head to take corrective action. We would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for the overall cleanliness of the room, which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, and thank you for bringing it to our attention; your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best. You will experience a marked difference in our service during your next visit.

Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions. Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We reached Guwahati in the morning from New Delhi by Air.We had pre -booked taxi. This was a good decision as the hotel was quite far away. In some 40 - 50 minutes we reached the hotel. It is located quite out of city in Borbari village.
From outside the design of Ginger Hotels is same. There is a sprawling lawn as we enter the gate with very thick fence of shrubs and luxurious bamboo trees. the ambience is pleasing and hospitable. The reception was warm and helpful. Our stay was booked in advance. In quick time we got our key. Since this a budget hotel we were to lug our wares ourselves.Even inside the design and build of Ginger hotels is exact replica, even the design and material of the balcony grill.
The corridors are airy with good natural light. Rooms are lined around a central open space, reminiscent of old Indian housing design of central lobby - aangan in Hindi. Rooms are spacious and spanking clean. Ginger have made a very thoughtful provision of a room with iron board and iron, and RO water filter on every floor.
The buffet breakfast is good, with good choices. But the buffet dinner was not equally good.
The place has secluded charm, with quiet surroundings. The flop side is finding conveyance is difficult. Fortunately we had provision of conveyance already in place, so this aspect did not pinch us.
To sum up I will say this hotel is good value for money from a trusted brand name, ensuring consistent quality of service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lawn side have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dranuragjhansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
5.5 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 63 in Guwahati
172 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#2 of 63 in Guwahati
210 reviews
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#15 of 63 in Guwahati
93 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palacia Inn
Palacia Inn
#32 of 63 in Guwahati
10 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 63 in Guwahati
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Hotel Guwahati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Address: VIP Road | IHM Campus, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati 781036, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: $34 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Guwahati 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ginger Hotel Guwahati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing