We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is away from city but doesn't have any advantages of it. The surroundings are stinky and the rooms are not great either. It has a CCD and a small restaurant to eat. Overall average place and not VFM in anyway.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank RanjithTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 386 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

This review is only based on the experience in attempting to book the hotel on 20th October night for three nights. Had discussed with Mr.Bhaskar.
Its extremely positive and professional. We did not ultimately check in only due to the distance from the main center of the city.

Room Tip: If you have a cab, then this is the place to be in; prices are not inclusive of the breakfast though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

ginger is budget hotel, don't provide breakfast even, room size is also not big. food quality is good. location is little isolated so good for group traveller or business travel. parking n garden is ample. there is free wifi but I faced problem in that also. staff is friendly but service is little slow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navendu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mr. Navendu,

On behalf of Ginger Hotels, I sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with our warm hospitality; which is the general norm of our hotel. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the deficiency in service.

Your feedback regarding Wi-Fi connection, room size and complimentary breakfast has been taken with the respective department heads for corrective actions. Also the respective teams have been briefed to be more efficient & quick while dealing with the guests requirements, so that our guests don't face any such inconvenience.

However, we would like to inform you that the room size is standard across all Ginger Hotels in India. Also we have Twin rooms available which are bigger in size, wherein they have two separate beds.

Thank you for bringing it to our attention; we will definitely work upon the feedback shared & look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property a better at your next stay at Ginger Hotel. Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, and we are glad to know that you liked the food quality & parking facility provided by our hotel.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Satisfactory service, very good hotel at a very reasonable price. Good value for money. Hotel staffs are very polite and very cordial. Breakfast and dinner was excellent. One can enjoy the scenic beauty from hotel rooms. Rooms are quite specious, with Mini Bar and Tea/Coffee service. Free shuttle service from the hotel to the nearby 6 miles market. Airport is around 1 hour journey by city roads. One can reach Airport faster through highway. You can have free wi fi service also.
I shall strongly recommend someone to try this hotel which is a very good value for money. This hotel can be booked online also. They have special offers for corporate bookings and group bookings. One should check with hotel for the special offers.
Lounge is quite spacious. Gym is also very good. One can have a stroll around the hotel in the night. The behavior of the staffs are very polite. Very homely atmosphere, they are always free to help you.
You can always try them in your next trip. We always stay at Ginger for all of our corporate trips. This chain of hotels are very good. They have hotels in many cities across India.
Happy staying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It's very disheartening to see how such a good brand of hotels is getting killed by its management. As Im staying in this brand of hotels for last 7-8 years and also at hotels of similar standard. The location, services, facility everything is terrible in this hotel. You won't get an auto or rickshaw anywhere near. U will be bound to take their highly priced taxis, that is too after 9 am. The so called gym doesn't have any instruments except few rusted dumbles. Treadmill is non functional, cycle is broken and nobody fixed them even after 3 days & repeated complaints. The room service is very poor-very limited food items, too late service and attitude of service people is very poor. If you want to go out in morning & want to have a breakfast, you either have to take their over priced buffet (e.g. Rs. 100 for 2 boiled eggs) or wait until 11.30 am for room service to start. If you complain for their shoddy services or facilities, the reception people says its not their problem. If you have nothing to do in Guwahati & want to stay within your room most of the time and if you have lots of money to waste then only you can select this hotel. Otherwise, their are many better options available in Guwahati. Do little research and you will find one.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adityansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mr. Aditya,

On behalf of Ginger Hotels, I sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with our warm hospitality; which is the general norm of our hotel. I note with deep regret that our services did not meet your expectation during your recent stay at Ginger Guwahati.

Your concern regarding the service, facilities, F&B offerings, gym equipment's, price, staff & location of the hotel, had been taken up with the respective department heads for corrective actions. Also the respective teams have been briefed to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't face any such inconvenience. Furthermore, we will ensure that periodic checks are done for the gym equipment's.

I have also instructed the staff to be more proactive while dealing with guests' requirements & to ensure that we provide our guests quick service & a great hospitality.

Thank you for bringing it to our attention; we will definitely work upon the feedback shared & look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property a better at your next stay at Ginger Hotel. Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you.


Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is far from the city center. While the hotel was good, clean room and nice food, but had few issues. The Wifi was not working and even after escalating the issue was never resolved. Also, I was told breakfast is included but had to pay for it separately.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Rajiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mr. Rajiv,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation.

We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at Ginger Guwahati, your concern regarding the WiFi connectivity has been taken with the technical & maintenance teams for corrective action. Your concern regarding the complimentary breakfast has been taken up with the department head for corrective action. Also I have instructed the staff to be more proactive while dealing with guests' requirements.

Thank you for bringing it to our attention; we will definitely work upon the feedback shared & look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property a better at your next stay at Ginger Hotel. Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, and we are glad to know that you liked the cleanliness and dining of our hotel.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.


Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is far away from everything and transportation is quite expensive. The hotel food is very basic and not many places to eat around except a resort closeby. The rooms are very basic and the common areas are not air conditioned. the internet was one of the worst I have seen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Hotel Guwahati, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Ushdra,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, we thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the hotels Location, Rooms, Dining and Internet service during your stay at Ginger Guwahati.

Your feedback regarding Internet service, Dining & Rooms has been shared with the respective department heads. Also the respective teams have been briefed to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't face any such inconvenience. Furthermore, we will ensure that periodic checks are done for our rooms.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Guwahati, thank you for bringing it to our attention; your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best.

Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
5.5 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 72 in Guwahati
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 72 in Guwahati
502 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#18 of 72 in Guwahati
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
5.1 mi away
Hotel Lilawati Grand
Hotel Lilawati Grand
#53 of 72 in Guwahati
97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Treebo Grand Bhabendra Alay
Treebo Grand Bhabendra Alay
#22 of 72 in Guwahati
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Hotel Guwahati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Address: VIP Road | IHM Campus, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati 781036, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: $41 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Guwahati 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ginger Hotel Guwahati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing