We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Area is very Dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed there 3 days.Trust me it was really hard for me to sustain that shady hotel, the rooms were untidy and full of mosquito, sheets and towels were really unclean and please don't ask about food. And the staff seems to belong to some third grade hotel.Check in experience poor, Wi-Fi not able to use.The power cut is a usual feature.

Room Tip: Do not choose this bad hotel at high cost although it belongs to a big chain of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ps5_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 394 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at hotel for 7 days and believe me it was really hard for me to sustain that shady hotel, the rooms were untidy and full of mosquitos, sheets and towels were really unclean and please dont ask about food. And the staff seems to belong to some third grade hotel.

Above all it was a beautified dharamshala.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vach17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hi All,
Being a frequent traveller, I have seen hotels offering value for money across multiple Indian cities and parts of Europe. If you want value for money, look for other options. Check in experience poor, Wi-Fi not able to use, credit/debit card payments not working, in room services needs improvements. Oh just forgot to add, the access cards are actually dummy and you need to look for help from security to help you open the room door.
Guwahati is still waiting for value for money 4/5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Sen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ginger Hotels, a big chain of hotels managed by a well known group..."The Tata's"...
The Guwahati property is certainly not the one to be counted... Though the building and interior were maintained, but from the lock to the cleanliness to the towel to the power, were among the horrible instances, which i think are not the part of the "Tata Group" standards.
To start with, the room lock of all the rooms were not working. There was a security personnel who was opening all the doors for the guests. So be it day or late night, for every access to my room, we had to depend on the security. Secondly, the bathroom towels were so dirty, that i was confused whether the room service team has exchanged it from Bathroom floor towel. And not just once but 3 times out of my 5 day stay, it happened. Where in every time, it was pointed out to the staff, but... Thirdly, 2 times the water bottles seal was open, on complaint they just pointed us to the canteen which was chargeable... Though the room floor was clean, but the bedsheet was not changed for all the 5 days (i am not aware if that is a process). The moment you open the window, cigarette buds, dead mosquitos were lying on the Window AC surface. Study table was not cleaned all the 5 days.
I have stayed in a few Ginger properties, but have never seen this kind of 1 Star hotel service.
Moreover you do not expect this kind of service from a hotel maintained by such a renowned group...
Buck up guys, i know you can do much better. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mridul_Goel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

There are definitely better hotels in Guwahati, but Ginger is not all that bad either, excepting for the location which is a little far from the main areas of the city; hence it may get a little difficult if you depend on public transport; generally the hotel staff will help you book a cab, so nothing much to worry either; The location is however quite peaceful, very open with good surrounding view; Rooms are small but neat & tidy; bathrooms are clean too; Food is pretty good & quite a variety for breakfast, which also includes south indian amongst others; Overall the experience was good, hence cannot be ruled out as an option...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malavika_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been to this hotel in the first week of 2012. I liked the place very much away from the rush and noise of the city. The rooms are pretty good and comfortable, though the facilities are basic. It is a self service hotel with very little help should be expected though.

The food is limited choice but the buffet is costly though. Idly Chilly was an innovative dish. The pricing on the web is sometimes quite cheap especially the last minute prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subratasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been to this on 28th & 29th December, 2013. Here is the feedback
There will be no one to help collecting your luggage
The rooms are micromini.
The partition walls between the rooms are so thin, even when someone closes the cupboard, the sound pierces through
We were given a room, where the basic handshower was broken, the wooden writing table tops were all broken
Once the dinner is over, the staff will manage the metallic chairs & tables & there will be terrible screeching noise
The culinary skill seems to be genuine trouble. Upon ordering Thai red chicken curry from the menu card, we were served with shredded chicken in extremely salty soy sauce with a bit of lemon grass! Hoped to see some red dots at least :-)
In the room there is an electric kettle with teabags, coffee/sugar/creamer sachet, however, the size of the paper(!) cup is terribly small! Even if we were more than one person, still, there was a single glass kept for drinking water!
However, only good part is their staff. Special thanks to their reception folks. Very helpful.

Soumya

Room Tip: No idea at all. Higher floors may have some less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soumyabrata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 73 in Guwahati
519 reviews
5.5 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#15 of 73 in Guwahati
177 reviews
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#23 of 73 in Guwahati
101 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Lilawati Grand
Hotel Lilawati Grand
#50 of 73 in Guwahati
98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Treebo Grand Bhabendra Alay
Treebo Grand Bhabendra Alay
#24 of 73 in Guwahati
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Hotel Guwahati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Address: VIP Road | IHM Campus, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati 781036, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: $41 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Guwahati 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ginger Hotel Guwahati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing