We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good neat place to stay , but far away..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
kolkata
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good neat place to stay , but far away..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Similar to any other Ginger Hotel.
Good Neat rooms .
Limited room service menu.
But at Guwahati, there is a problem distance.
From the city, you will geta not mode of tarnsport, but whicle leaving from the hotel , you will not get any public transport- auto/ taxi..... at times can be a problem.
and the front desk has no solution.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buntyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    87
    58
    24
    18
See reviews for
50
34
19
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meerut City, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

i stayed their with my wife for 3 days in march 2012, room was a bit small but clean and tidy with normal amenities. hotel is situated far from the city so, personally i would like to suggest not to stay there if you don`t have your own vehicle or you may end expending more money on traveling than your hotel+food cost. internet connectivity is poor, menu has just one veg and one non veg item(so plz take meals outside), while booking hotel they said that breakfast was complimentary but i ended paying full charges. Receptionist had problems understanding English and god knows why some Indians can`t even understand Hindi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saurav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We kept having trouble with our access cards to our rooms and had to make constant trips back from our floor down to the lobby to get it reactivated, and it still wouldn't work. I got the wifi password almost four hours after I asked for it, by which time I had already missed the deadline for my pre-scheduled Skype conference call. And once I got it, it wasn't strong enough to support a skype conversation. The bathroom was dirty, and the "clean" towels that they left in there had big stains on it. The staff did change it after I asked for a change though. There was an error with communication between the online agent and their system, and my poor elderly parents were initially denied their breakfast which was supposed to be complimentary (but it didn't show in their system). The air conditioner in my room did not work either. Checkout was another LONG tedious process because they ended up charging me for their so-called complimentary breakfasts and so they had to go and undo all those charges. It's not a place I will go back to, nor will I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

me and my wife spent the night of 31 dec,2011 at this hotel.actually,they had organized a new year eves party and we decided to stay for the night after the party got over.location wise,its away from the city.so,people with work in the heart of guwahati city may not find it convenient buts its awesome beauty and very good communication to the city might still make them think otherwise.the rooms were clean with all necessary ammenities.the bathrooms though congested were clean with all necessary toileteries.considering it to be a budget hotel,the breakfast appeared good.the parking place is great.overall,it was a good place to bring in the new year.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hima2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Its a business hotel. But the service is just disappointing. Its not well maintained. The room service and house keeping is also not upto the mark. Overall stay was not a satisfactory one. But still its quite in business.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheetaldib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

I was very, very disappointed with my stays here (yes, I actually went here twice–there aren't that many hotels to choose from in Guwahati and somehow I imagined it might be better the second time). The first time we waited HOURS and I mean HOURS to check-in (and this wasn't an early check-in. We arrived at approximately 4:00 p.m. When we finally did get rooms they were dirty and the internet didn't work. Restaurant and lobby were dismal. The only nice thing was the staff. They TRIED to do right by us but they seemed to have so little to work with. Second stay was only moderately better. They did help by getting us a car to the airport for a reasonable price. Finally, the price we paid booking in advance wasn't particularly cheap. Overall as I said in the beginning a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Effala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Overall, this was my first stay at a Ginger and I found the experience disappointing, given this was a hotel by the Tatas.

Cons:
1. Wifi which for all practical purposes does not connect.in the room (I was in room 120 - dont know if it does in lobby etc)
2. Rooms can be better maintained - linen was stained, no toilet paper (despite there being a holder for the same!), no soap.
3. We came back to the hotel at 3 AM and the main gate was chained! We shouted for the guard, but there was no response. I then had to jump the gate and then found no one manning the front desk either. Finally found the staff asleep in the room next to the front desk. And apparently the guard was off on walk around the property - ridiculous that they would not have someone manning the gate at all times if they were going to chain it!
4. Location - Quite far away from the city, and very difficult to get autos on the main road.
5. Over priced - we paid 3k/night for the room and this was minus breakfast.
6. Very minor, but though there were 2 of us staying, we could only get one access key to the room. Apparently generation of a second key invalidates the first. Found this quite a silly system.

Pros:
1. Hotel can put you through to a cab operator. The airport drop rate of 650 is quite competitive, even when compared to the radio-taxis
2. Food is decent. Breakfast buffet was quite good and the dinner spread looked good though we didnt try it

Disclaimer: Review written in context of what I'd expect from a business hotel. I haven't stayed at a Ginger elsewhere or at other hotels in Guwahati (may very well be the case that Ginger is the best budget hotel in Guwahati!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
6.2 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#5 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 60 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rains Inn
Rains Inn
#4 of 60 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Lilawati Grand
Hotel Lilawati Grand
#45 of 60 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Hotel Guwahati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Hotel Guwahati

Property: Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Address: IHM Campus | VIP Road, Upper Hengrabari, Borbari, Guwahati 781036, India
Location: India > Assam > Guwahati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Hotel Guwahati 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ginger Hotel Guwahati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing