We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just at the bank of Brahmaputra & at centre of City Guwahati”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Numaligarh
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Just at the bank of Brahmaputra & at centre of City Guwahati”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is a govt tourism hotel 3 star rated. Location is excellent in Guwahati just on the bank of Brahmaputra very near to Kacharighat (O point of Guwahati). The High Court is just opposite. Panbazar / Fancy Bazaar & Paltan bazaar : the Rly station, Bus stand are within around 1 KM at the same time is free from Guwahati rush.
Pure Assamse style hospitality. Conference, parties etc are held here. A large space in front for parking etc and also large space at back upto Brahamaputra river.

3 star rated, It is a safe hotel for family also. Food OK . Assamese ethnic food are made available.

Room Tip: Facing Brahmaputra is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zinia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    56
    43
    12
    2
See reviews for
30
16
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

There shouldnt be any big reason to stay here. Its not that reasonable also in terms of prices. The breakfast isnt upto the standards. The rooms are dingy. Though I havent seen the river side room, but I am sure it would be must better than the other side.

Room Tip: River side is a must here. Otherwise you will feel cheated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Property is poorly maintained and very dirty. Why can`t the Government run Hotels learn from their private counterparts on how to keep their hotels clean and aesthetically appealing. Anyhow, given the fact that Guwahati does not currently have too many stay options, this Property does not have much competition and hence, much motivation to improve its standard. Even the banks of Brahmaputra adjoining the Hotel were dirty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manoj677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guwahati hotels

DELHI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked the hotel for organizing a whole day conference, and I must say it was very well
coordinated and organized.
The food quality was good.
Tea and food was served on time.
Conference was well coordinated.
Event management was done by their in-house people and it was of high quality and standards.
On the whole, a very satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGG_ACID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun_Brahmaputra, Manager at Hotel Brahamputra Ashok, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and appreciating our effort to make your conference a successful one

I am happy that you liked the quality of food served

We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next conference / Stay at Brahmaputra Ashok.


Regards
Team Brahmaputra Ashok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel has a splendid location....amazing view of the River Brahmaputra...while most floors would have a decent view, any floor higher than 3rd would be the best. The service is also good, staff quite accomodating. My son loved the traditional welcome though the food, specially the continental cuisine needs an overhaul.

My recommendation - ask for a higher floor, dont keep checking on service, dont book cars through the hotel (more expensive than a stand alone travel agency outside) and you would have a great stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor than 3rd floor. An early request to the hotel is usually accomodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun_Brahmaputra, Manager at Hotel Brahamputra Ashok, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that you liked our location , view of mighty brahmaputra river from your room .We have noted your feedback on the continental cuisine. We look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel.


We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent is the word that comes to my Mind.The way 112 people were handled were remarkable and on top none had any complaints.I mean all the guys had come all the way from NLP,Dhemaji,Tezpur,Margreta,Tinsukia......the list goes on.
The only place where i felt there was work to be done was the Bamboo Houses made on the rooftops of Trees were not upto the standard set in the other rooms.We did'nt avail them as they were very gloomy and the steps were also quite upright.
Rest was fun,food was good and there was no dearth of the servings.
Looking forward to going again
Thanks

Room Tip: Nearby the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSD_Babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I chose the hotel after a gap of more than one year and was not expecting such a good renovation The rooms now give you a pleasant feeling and are brighter too. Service has also improved and the staff is concerned about your comfort.
It's better if you get a river view room on second floor and above because they have erected a temporary structure for parties in the back.yard which obstructs the view on the lower floors

Room Tip: Rooms near the pub are a problem on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rakeshgoswami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun_Brahmaputra, Manager at Hotel Brahamputra Ashok, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that you liked the newly renovated rooms of our hotel
. Our staff continues to be our strength, thank you for appreciating their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Arun kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.6 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#1 of 61 in Guwahati
181 reviews
6.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#2 of 61 in Guwahati
383 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#4 of 61 in Guwahati
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
10.2 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#17 of 61 in Guwahati
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#11 of 61 in Guwahati
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brahamputra Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brahamputra Ashok

Property: Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
Address: M.G. Road, Guwahati 781001, India
Location: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brahamputra Ashok 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brahmaputra Ashok is a chain unit of the Ashok group of hotels. The hotel is centrally located on MG Road, Guwahati. For the past 23 years, it has served as the gateway to the Guwahati & northeast region. All 50 rooms are well furnished and newly renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Brahamputra Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing