We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, nice place”
Review of Wild Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Orchid
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good food, nice place”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

One of the nicer places on the island. The service is very good and the restaurant is also great. The rooms are nice and clean. The beach is small and sea is shallow on this side of the island, but that counts for most places here. There are enough options for nice beaches around the island. The only downside is the construction of a new complex just down Wild Orchid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolandinho2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    147
    65
    23
    10
See reviews for
113
182
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We travelled in rainy season there but still the service was very good although almost empty. The price of room was reasonable after discount due to low season - stayed in A/C luxury room, so can recommend. And the top in this resort was the restaurant. As I said not many guests came this time but the options of meal were still full of variety - order Tuna steak or Trevally fish fillet - the best I have ever eaten during my travels to different countries and islands.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinPestik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We enter into his hotel asking for a room, we didn't book it in advance here, because I felt they were very rude in their communication by email, it was a bad experience, so, we did our booking in another hotel and something happened with that booking and we were looking for a new accommodation. Thanks God, they were having one room available for 2 nights because the other hotel was really unpleasant (Silver Sands).

Rooms are nice, specially what they call a suite. Good AC, nice plasma tv, good bed, clean, nice bathroom but some times with out water. The water runs off in the middle of my shower, but I think this happens to all the hotels, except the barefoot.

The high light of this hotel is their restaurant, it is very good one, good chef, delicious garlic naans and delicious lobster, tuna steak and the snapper fish, every thing was really good.

The service is ok, some of the staff are trying hard, and some other really don't care. There is a construction going on next to the hotel, and it can be little bit noisy some times, but it didn't disturb us.

Last thing, in this side of the island, during low tide (11 am to 5 pm), you will see the water 1 km away.

The wild orchid is one of your choices in the Andamans, I can recommend this hotel, just be aware of the points I noted here. If you want to know more about Havelock, read my other reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beto201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jadwet, Manager at Wild Orchid, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from the Wild Orchid.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. Providing the best customer care is very important to us in all aspects of our day to day functioning and I apologise that in this instance we have fallen short.

We have implemented an ongoing to training procedure to ensure consistency in the service provided by all of our staff from email etiquette to waiting at the tables.

With regards to the construction issue unfortunately it is not part of our resort and despite the fact that this does not disturb majority of our guests, we have pressurized the local authorities to enforce time restrictions to ensure no construction work takes place during times which would disturb our guests.

I am also glad that you would recommend our hotel to others as well as you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you visit once again and notice all the new changes implemented. Should you wish to visit us please email myself directly on imranj@wildorchidandman.com

Kind Regards

Wild Orchid Management Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

So this was our honeymoon trip.. just what we had expected... amazing place, lovely food and good hospitality. Ideal for couples looking for a week's trip within moderate budget :) Its famous for its food so you may just come across some famous celebs too. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the beach coz the waters just recede in this part of the island but never mind coz there are lots of beaches you can explore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are almost the same good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nams2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have seen the nice pictures on tripadvisor - unfortunately they did not reflect the actual situation. There is a huge construction site in front of the resort (for another 2 years).
The noise is not accepable. A nice and peaceful vacation during the day is not possible at the resort.
The rooms are cleaned only every second day, so you better take your own spray to get rid of the bugs.
On the way to the beach there is lot of trash to see.
A peaceful rest during the night is not possible if you are having the room next to the entrace as there a millions of frogs.
And the staff: Some are friendly, most of them rather not.
The restaurant is ok.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrin_Haeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jadwet, Manager at Wild Orchid, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Wild Orchid,

I really appreciate your honest feedback and would like to apologise for the fact that your expectations were not met while staying at our resort. With regards to the construction, unfortunately we were not notified of this and has nothing to do with our resort, however we have been pressurizing our local authorities to impose building restrictions so as not to affect our guests and as a result are pleased to say that due to these restrictions all of our guests have not been inconvenienced by the construction.

All of our rooms are cleaned daily and was very surprised to read that this did not happen in your case and I have personally dealt with this issue. Despite the trash not being on our property, we have cleared it all up at our expense and have pressurized the neighboring resort owner not to use his land to dispose his plastic bottles.

Due to the 80% of Havelock still being covered with forests, the sounds of nature unfortunately cannot be avoided wherever you stay in the Islands.

By imposing ongoing service we have also ensured consistency in the level of service provided to all our guests.

I would once again like to once again thank you for your feedback and provide reassurance that all the concerns have been dealt with.

Many Thanks

Wild Orchid Management Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The rooms and restaurant at this place are nicely designed in that they use bamboo, thatching etc to give a cottage feel, but they are comfortable inside with a big bed, hot showers, outdoor sitting area (with hammock). We stayed in an older AC room which wasn't huge, but comfortable. There was construction work going on at the time we stayed there and we were not warned about this. Although I was disappointed to see this when we arrived, it didn't impact our stay too much except to spoil the view down to the ocean (assuming there was something to see before the construction). We asked and paid for a non-AC room, but were upgraded to the AC room because the room we booked was adjacent to the construction site. I felt they should have warned us about this when booking. It probably wouldn't have changed my decision to stay there, but I would have been prepared for it.

We also stayed at the Emerald Gecko at Havelock and looked at a few others places from the beach side. Wild Orchid looks to be one of the best kept, most comfortable options. What I disliked most was the beach access. We had to walk past the restaurant down a trail (marked by ugly glass bottles, and with broken bits in the trail). Maybe this access was temporary because of the construction work, but it seemed a shame to be in a beach "resort" with the limited access. The actual rooms are close to the road, not close to the beach, but most of the rooms are situated along the beach trail (so passing the restaurant is not required).

The food in the restaurant was great, and the staff were all very friendly. One annoying thing I noticed was that the staff were never ready to serve (or even take an order) at the start of the appointed meal times. This was a minor problem a couple of times because we had organized to go somewhere, or because the kids were sleepy and needed food (and we were left sitting for up to 20 mins). Mostly I just found it irritating that staff were in the dining area but didn't bother to at least take an order.

Despite the downsides I would stay here again. The beach in this area was really lovely, and I thought Wild Orchid was among the best options along this stretch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Polten, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

3rd time Havelock, 3rd time Wild Orchid. Staff still top and utmost friendly but rest sucks. way to beach dirty and full of garbage, beds on beach old and uncomfortable - mattress shall be for a fee of Rp 700 per day!. beach itself is divine and an absolute highlight!
Shock when we arrived - huge construction area from another resort just in front of the wild orchid. After discussions they were able to move us in a more quiet hut. the resort has seen better times, management did better in the past - especially during tsunami warning no one from Mgmt was present, no information was given. no client service at all.
restaurant and food still excellent and recommendable, but if they continue like this - top spot at havelock ist gone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roland b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jadwet, Manager at Wild Orchid, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would firstly like to thank you for your ongoing visits to our resort, and am a little disheartened to read about your most recent visit. It is imperative to us that all of our guests leave the resort with the best memorable experience and would like to apologise that this did not happen in your case. Despite the garbage not being on our land it was an eyesore to our guests and we have not only cleared it up at our expense but have pressurized the neighbouring resort owner not to dispose of his rubbish there. We have also invested in new lighter and comfortable sunlougers which are free for our guests.

With regards to the construction, unfortunately we were not notified of this and has nothing to do with our resort, however after pressurizing the local authoruties building restrictions have been imposed so as not to affect our guests. The feedback from our guests has also been very positive. Furthermore I would like to not only thank you for your continued visits, but would like to add that should you be interested in visiting the islands again, staying at the wild orchid or any of our sister resorts including our newest retreat ‘The People Tree’, please email me directly on imranj@wildorchidandaman.com.

The Wild Orchid Management Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
0.7 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Havelock Island
621 reviews
1.7 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
372 reviews
12.5 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#2 of 6 in Neil Island
136 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 12 in Havelock Island
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid

Property: Wild Orchid
Address: Vijay Nagar, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wild Orchid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, your hosts, are dedicated to making your stay a delightful mixture of discovery, relaxation, luxury and simplicity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wild Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing