We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
121
73
15
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
73
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive india full moon cafe experience diving pedestal fan port blair hot water off season vinny tents hammocks hut island luxury beach resort pets advance
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 218 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

Island Vinnies is the headquarters of Dive India, the pioneers of Scuba diving in the Andamans. Just adjoining the beach, the standard huts and cabanas provide the basic facilities. Their in-house restaurant 'Full Moon Cafe' is one of the best in Havelock. Basketball, table tennis, volleyball are some of the activities that can be played in the evening. Centrally located, this place may not boast of flamboyance, but it provides the most natural habitat feeling especially with pets lazing around.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank ShabbirBaldiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

Our experience with this hotel is unpleasant.

On arrival in Port Blair, we were told that we had to obtain a permit in Delhi and were deported (see permit alert post elsewhere on this forum). This is following a July 21, 2017 memo issued by the government that tightens regulations and that this hotel was blissfully unaware of.

We had to cancel our booking and generously offered to compensate the hotel for any reasonable expenses made. To add insult to injury, the hotel insisted that I forfeit 50% of the deposit, which is in no relation to the true costs to the hotel.

Not sure why a hotel would want to fleece its patrons. If you want to spend your vacation haggling about the price of every glass of water - Island Vinnies is your place. If you want to enjoy famous Indian hospitality - look further.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank ijsbrand d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Andamans vs the Maldives, check the price before making a choice.

We traveled as a family of 4, had an indian visa as we work in India for 3 years and got deported from the Andaman. The immigration said we needed a special permit. Another foreign family of 5 arrived with us and same situation. We were 9 with children to experience hell! Dive India, and island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana (diving club) mentioned on his website we could get the special permit upon arrival at the airport but not true!!! We paid $1200 advance already and they did not refund 100% when we claimed full refund- diving package costs $1000 for 3 rescue diving package. We decided to go to the Maldives the following day: much more beautiful, no hassle re-visa or whatsoever and yes, believe it or not: less expensive!. We are now enjoying the Maldives, diving everyday with Rasdhoo dive club and stay in Ras beach inn: full board 2 rooms $900 + diving package $1100 (3 rescue diving certificates + 1 PADI). Yeaah! Love the Maldives! Forget bout the Andaman. And you know what? now it's raining in the Andaman. Here in Rasdhoo: 35 degrees celcius everyday! well done choice but lost money. For sure, we won't go back there and prefer investing in the Maldives.

Room Tip: avoid all of them including diving package
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Calie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

This place is usually offered to DiveIndia customers as a part of the Scuba Diving package. I stayed here for the same reason. The Cafe was closed for off season and they were refurbishing the Cabana's.

I got an upgrade from standard hut to the cabana as the standard huts were not in good shape.

Cabana was good and cozy for our stay. We were there for 8 nights and never had any problems. all the cabana's have a sit out area, a hammock, attached toilets and 24/7 hot water.

A good choice to stay if you are not looking for luxury and a room with cemented walls.

The place is on the beach which is amazing for a good swim and snokeling around.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadMaTriX_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

The resort is iconic. It has basic rooms with functioning amenities. Stayed in both the huts and the cabanas. Both value for money. This property do NOT have manicured lawns and bottle water and that is fantastic. They are not an eco resort but definitely keep ecology in mind. The Full Moon Cafe is the best restaurant on the island. The food there is amazing and well priced.

Room Tip: The cabanas are nice splurge if you can afford it. If not then the huts are basic and clean too.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tushar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews