We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for divers (Great budget accomodation)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Havelock Island
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place for divers (Great budget accomodation)”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

the resort is really a dive centre with some rooms for those that need it. The rooms are fairly basic and small with just the bare minimum (we stayed at the top end tented cabana's)
Positives:
1) At 2000INR its quite cheap
2) The tented cabana's are close to the beach and you can hear the surf
Negatives:
1) not very clean by most standards (we ended up cleaning the place and buying a new bucket and mug)
2) Mould on the tents can be a big problem for asthamatics
3) Ventilation is poor

Now for the rest: The dive centre and restaurant is what really gets the review points up
The Restaurant: Great food and really cheap the menu is quite varied and covers most tastes, Ask for what you want and it come the way you want it, among the many restaurants I've visited across the world Id say that this is the kind of restaurant I would go back to often..
The dive center: I think it the best place to learn diving this side of the world the instructors are great and make sure you feel comfortable... The dive sites are great and the Dive masters/instructors know the place backward.. when I dive in Andaman again it will be with Dive india..

Back to the resort, its not the kind of place you want to go with kids and family unless they are all divers, all there is to do is dive and laze around. all said its probably the best place for divers in Havelock.

Notes:
- The diver food package is not worth it it's cheaper to just order what you want
- Take a lot of bug spary you will need it for the mosquitoes and flies
- Take a disinfectant and hand sanitizer (gives you mental peace)
- Dive everyday the sites are worth it there is a good 7+ days worth of diving at havelock
- Do a course there if you need it the instructors are the best from among those I've seen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xavier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    70
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
72
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

our stay was a nightmare and we were very disappointed by this hotel : rooms aren't clean - there is a lot of mosquitos even in the room and a lot of bugs running everywhere.
Diving wasn't the best we had on Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
Food was medium quality.
we can't recommand that hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consuelo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pahalgam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Don’t worry about may season mates , a dive into sea and u shall experience no heat..trust me, its like kashmir inside water..lol..Alrite,I visited south ndia last month with my wife. Our trip kicked off from the virgin Andaman Islands.. My wife was quite apprehensive as she had heard a lot about local travel agents robbing the daylight out of tourists and hence I thought it prudent to pre book our travel thru some reliable ones..we shortlisted thomas cook & 99andaman.com & selected later for its cheap rates & good hospitality

The Vinnie's Tropical Beach Cabana Resort located in the Havelock Island is one of the finest niche resorts in Andaman. Tented cabanas, the specialty there were great and a welcome change from the usual Indian resorts we had seen in pics. The mozzies were a minor concern but the opening flap of the tent, if kept closed accounted for them and ensured a peaceful sleep.

Vinnie, the head of the resort is an excellent diver and consequently sea diving is a must try if you are here. The Dive India dive center and the SSI Open Water groups are located nearby and once you give diving a shot you are bound to relish the experience as me and my wife did.

The final icing on the cake is the fantastic restaurant of the Beach Cabana – the Full Moon Cafe which laid out the most delicious gourmet of Indian cuisine including everything we had heard and more. The chicken tikka masala was exceptionally good and we both could return here just for this dish!! Thus all in all an amazing stay at Andaman and highly recommended.
No regrets & as good trip as I thought..Bravo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Island Vinnie's was everything one could've hoped for while on a dive holiday. They have the most amazing divemasters, hassle-free arrangements for travelers, really good food, beautiful stretches of beaches, very friendly staff and take you to the best dive sites around. The huts are basic, but clean and well maintained. (you don't spend much time in them anyway; what with the sea 30s away!) We went in a large group, spent about 10 days there, got our open water certification, decided we couldn't get enough and did the advanced course too! Met some really nice people, had amazing food and, of course, got totally hooked to diving. Their enthusiasm is contagious, and I'm definitely going there more often!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varsha_Yeshwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

With endless beaches, scrumptious food, friendly divemasters, great dive spots and their own doggie mascots- Island Vinnie's was the perfect base for our Andamans adventures. The tented rooms are pretty basic but exactly what you need after a glorious day in the sun. Pre-booked our entire dive+food+stay package at a great deal. Communication was fairly easy and their website is fun fun fun. We spent about 10 days here doing our open water dive certification and can't wait to head back. Go here to relax, dive and make some lasting friendships.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ0seph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Did my research on Trip Advisor and had the most overwhelming favourable points for Island Vinnie & DIve India. Decided to head on with the flow, no regrets!

Enquiries, quotations and dive packages were handled smoothly (expect replies within 24 hours), no hidden costs and everything is clearly laid out, black and white.

We stayed at the tented cabanas. Place is decent and accommodation closest to the beach. It's no 5-star rooms - very basic, 2 single beds put together but with ample space to store belongings, and a basic, functioning toilet/bath - I have no problems with this, after all, you spend most of the time outdoors, not cooped up in the tent (hammocks, please!).

In between dives on the boat, we were served with samosa, bananas and one of the best chais (tea) I've ever had! And of course, the Full Moon Cafe. Everyone gushes about the place and I am no different. Every single item I've ordered during my 5 days stay there has exceeded expectations.... But just be prepared to wait between 20-30 minutes before your order arrives. But I promise, it's worth the wait :)

Dive masters and instructors are very attentive and a friendly bunch. It's good fun and highly recommended to sit with them and swap stories, great opportunity to learn more about diving from these experienced people. Belly rubbing of the two friendly dogs running the resort will earn you brownie points as well.

Room Tip: Tented cabanas, more expensive but definitely worth the price - nearer to the beach and dive centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suyin_ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Undoubtedly, the best place to stay and dive and eat on Havelock! Been there twice and definitely, not for the last time! Highly recommend DiveIndia if you are looking for great divemasters, efficient arrangements around the stay and dives and decent cabanas/huts to stay in!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onmywayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
0.2 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Havelock Island
621 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 12 in Havelock Island
371 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
372 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 12 in Havelock Island
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana

Property: Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana
Address: Havelock No 3, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Island Vinnie`s Tropical Beach Cabana Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing