We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite haunt!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Havelock Island
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Undoubtedly, the best place to stay and dive and eat on Havelock! Been there twice and definitely, not for the last time! Highly recommend DiveIndia if you are looking for great divemasters, efficient arrangements around the stay and dives and decent cabanas/huts to stay in!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onmywayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went there for open water diver certification, stayed there for 10 days and dived with them.
Friendly staff, Instructors who really care to ensure that you learn diving properly, Good dive masters who know the sites, Good food, friendly atmosphere and two lovely dogs.

The instructors are very helpful and they answer all your doubts patiently. They did give me and other students enough time to learn properly and to master the techniques. We were constantly encouraged to practice what we learned in theory. It was a struggle, but we learned :-)

i chose one of the learn to dive package and the accommodation and food was included. I loved it because i could try almost everything on their menu and it was delicious..

The rooms are decent, but not top notch and i've felt that this place is best for divers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stay a week there and in neil in their new center, diving with dive India, enjoying the food and the island. This is a place to recommend as you will get the best hammock of the island on a very nice beach, very good food, helpful and friendly staff.

The service is top quality as if something doesn't go smooth they take it into account and do help. Thanks!

Dives are safe and enjoyable as the groups are small and the dive masters friendly.

Great place to recharge your batteries if you do so by diving! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Only the best to say about this place. We stayed for 7 nights, went diving almost every day, ate all our meals at Full Moon Cafe (couldn't get enough of the great food and nothing beats the atmosphere!). Neiv and Adil do an amazing job at running the restaurant and are generally awesome people and an essential element of the great atmosphere. The tented cabanas were very comfortable and spacious. Loved the shower! Vinnie was really helpful over email in helping us book accommodation and diving. Also a great guy to share a few drinks and laughs with. The diving was definitely a highlight of the trip. Everyone at Dive India was awesome - all smart, experienced divers who were great instructors but also really nice guys to get to know. I did my Advanced SSI with Tanuj. Great instructor, always professional and a lot of fun to dive with.

We had such a great time we spent the whole ferry ride back to Port Blair discussing our next trip back. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiraWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Where do I start? This is my second trip to Island Vinnies. The first time (Aug 2012) was so perfect, that we couldn't stop raving about it, and when we announced our plan to visit again this month, 12 (yes, TWELVE) of our near and dear ones decided to join us.

GENERAL NOTE: If you want an amazing scuba diving experience, and want to stay in basic, no fuss, clean, affordable accommodation while you do this, then look no further. If your idea of a great holiday is air con rooms, 500 thread count sheets, chilled champagne, rose petals on your bed, jacuzzi's, lots of TV surfing etc etc, then you'd best avoid this place (and the rest of the Andamans for that matter).
The vibe at this place is very diver friendly, down to earth, laid back. Everyone is really friendly, and extremely helpful, but not at all obsequious, and no one will be wrestling your luggage from you, pulling chairs, or holding doors. The ambience is also greatly enhanced by Sam and Frodo – the DiveIndia dogs, who are so chilled out, they are practically Zen. It’s also unbelievably non commercial . They didn’t charge us for anything in advance, or even upon checking in. All payments were made on the last day of our trip, and when we accidentally forgot to pay for something minor and wrote offering to settle it after our trip, we were told to forget about it, since it wasn’t worth the hassle for us or for them!!

PRE-TRIP COMMUNICATION: Vinnie was incredibly patient, prompt and precise - answering the gazillion questions, confirming our reservation, and accommodating the many many changes, additions, and cancellations that occurred along the way, and deserves a medal for his fortitude.

ARRIVAL: The meet and greet service is brilliant - super hassle free, and very cost effective, especially if you are travelling in larger groups.

ACCOMMODATION: Our group stayed in the standard and upgraded huts. The standard huts (INR 500 a night) are very basic, with shared common bathrooms that were pretty clean the entire time (not a single dirty bathroom incident experienced by any of the 9 people in our group over 7 days). The upgraded huts (INR 900 a night) are also very basic, but with attached bathrooms, with hot water and showers. The huts are small, with basic metal cots, and just about enough room to put your suitcases down. They are however, extremely clean, and if the focus of your trip is diving, and you just need a place to sleep – these huts are perfect. On the days that you aren’t diving, you will be likely to spend most of your time on the beach or lazing in the wonderful hammocks with amazing sea views. (again – refer to the general note at the top of this review). Robi who manages the huts is extremely helpful and always cheerful, happy to do anything to make your stay perfect.
*Other accommodation options are the tented cabanas – they look lovely with person hammocks on the verandahs, but I didn’t see the insides so wont review those.

LOCATION: Incredible. Right on beach no. 3, which is absolutely beautiful. A 15 minute walk to the local market, with quite a few other restaurants nearby. Did I mention again that this place is ON the beach? A 30 minute rickshaw ride to beach no. 7. Also about 10 minutes or less by rickshaw to the Havelock ferry. Ergo, perfect location.

FOOD: Probably the best food in Havelock. A pretty eclectic menu, with Indian and continental. Depending on what you eat the average meal will be between 250 to 500 a head. They didn’t have a liquor license when we were there, so couldn’t serve alcohol. They also have actual salads, made from real vegetables, which is hard to find on Havelock. The dessert of the day is pretty delicious, but latecomers probably won’t get any, since they sell out pretty quick.

DIVEINDIA: the affiliated diveshop- definitely the best in Havelock. All the instructors are highly qualified and great teachers, but if you are lucky enough to get Vikas or Sayed to do your open water training, count your blessings, and pay your respects to the scuba gods. We did our open water with Vikas – an incredible teacher, with such passion and commitment to helping newbies discover the underwater world. Almost, if not all, the good divesites around Havelock have been discovered by DI. Apart from being awesome teachers, there is a strong emphasis on safety, no cutting costs with substandard equipment. Most of the instructors are keen naturalists, very knowledgeable about the marine life and ecosystem and hanging out with them will teach you a lot more than just basic scuba skills. Some of the dive schools in Havelock are very lax about the theory part of the diving certification, but DI is fairly strict about doing the course right, understanding all the theory, and they expect students to actually take the exam seriously and to pass, all in all producing better, more aware divers, who are less likely to get themselves killed through stupidity. A big thank you to all the the instructors – esp – Sid, Zoravar, Ninad, Vikram.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anattaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Well-located hotel, right on the beach and houses Full Moon Cafe and Dive India dive shop. Perfect for divers. We have stayed in the tented cabanas and the upgraded huts, both with an attached bathroom. The rooms are very basic. The cabanas are better and bigger than the huts. Worth the extra little bit of money although they are a bit moldy. The rooms are cleaned everyday. Good value for money. I would recommend to take your own towels although they do provide bath and beach towels. Carry a bottle for water. They provide free water for the hotel guests so you can keep refilling. Plastic disposal is an issue on the island. Laundry service is also available so you can pack light!
The meet and greet service where they arrange for your ferry and taxi transfers is a must. It is very convenient.

Room Tip: Tented cabanas are with the extra money. They are also better located as they are away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liveformynextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

(GREAT value for money) 2

The hotel has both cabanas with shared bathrooms and tented cabanas with attached bathrooms. We stayed in the tented cabanas with attached bathrooms.

The Tents were set up on a concrete slab. so each room gets a front porch with 2 chairs and a hammock. inside the rooms were basic - 2 single beds which work great as a double bed for couples. A free standing cane shelf unit and a beanbag. Space inside the tent is limited so if you are traveling with large bags expect to be cramped.

Bathrooms have a wet and dry area and are very basic. There is a geyser and running water with an over head shower... Lighting is dim especially in the shower area. Overall the bathrooms could be kept cleaner, made brighter as less claustrophobic.

Housekeeping will clean your room, change sheets and towels as often as you ask them to. They have 2 electrical outlets in each room. They have a floor fan and mosquito repellent for each room. The tents can be locked. If you want they have lockers in the reception area.

Overall vibe of the hotel is superb. The full moon cafe and the dive India shop are part of the hotel. The hotel and diving staff are permanents at the hotel and fun - interesting people to hang out with.

They have a semi-private patch of sea front. The mangroves on the hotel property give u good shaded spots to hang out at on the beach. They have also strung hammocks at different parts of the property. Great for afternoon naps.

Vinnie is always around and seems to be running a tight ship. He interacts with guests if they approach him.... At no point did we think he was aloof or snobby.

The hotel draws a large diving crowd and by that token is a relaxed place. If you are looking for luxury this is not for you.

I would return in a heart beat...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Policy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
0.2 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Havelock Island
730 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 13 in Havelock Island
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 13 in Havelock Island
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 13 in Havelock Island
603 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
418 reviews
13 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana

Address: Havelock No 3, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Havelock Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range: $73 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Island Vinnie`s Tropical Beach Cabana Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing