We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive India / Island Vinnie's”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Havelock Island
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dive India / Island Vinnie's”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for 10 nights in Dec '12. Couldn't have had a better experience. Booking was easy and the fact that Vinnie handles this personally puts you at ease (esp since i was booking from overseas). The website is refreshingly friendly and informative.

Our connections were handled perfectly. Once there we loved the tented cabanas. They don't have air conditioning but i didn't miss it given the perfect weather. The full moon cafe was the best food we ate on the island, staff and people were very friendly.

The cafe does not unfortunately have a liquor license but there are several bars a short walk away.

Instructors are very experienced not just at the technical bits but also at handling novice divers.

In short, wouldn't change a thing. Had a brilliant holiday and made loads of friends. five stars all the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabbit4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    70
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
72
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Considering that you already know that you're going to stay on a tent with attached or shared bathroom and so you're not expecting any luxury, Vinnies is a great place to stay in Havelock, especially if you dive or are interested in diving.
The tents are good, clean, with spacious bed (but no cover sheet, only cover bed), shelf to put your stuff, hammock and chairs in the "verandah". The tent itself is not big, but has enough space considering that you're not going to spend much time there. Bathroom is not exactly a piece of architecture, but usually has hot water and the shower is good - there's lack of space to put your things, but it's ok.
Dive India is in the same place and is excellent: we did the Learn to Dive and advanced diving course and it was great, our instructors Melissa and Vikram were very patient, clear and friendly and know how to manage panic within their students. We also did a night dive, which I highly recommend (Sid, our instructor, was great also). Everyone is very professional and the equipment is in good condition. Also, the food on the boats is very good!
People there in Vinnies are easy going and very nice and the Full Moon Café is a nice place to meet everyone and share experiences. We met a lot of nice people there!
Also, the food is fresh and tasty - we've been to different restaurants in the island - but they don't have any alcoholic drinks.
The location is good, near all places in beach #5 - you can easily rent a bike or scooty to go to beach #7 and other places. The beach in front of Vinnies is not the best one to sunbathing and doing nothing, but a short walk to the right and you'll find good spots for this also.
Havelock is a paradise and we highly recommending staying at Vinnies. Because, above everything, their service was flawless - they picked up us at the airport, at the jetty and they accomplished everything they've promised. They even helped us solving a huge problem with Travelguru regarding our booking and advanced payment (travelguru's fault that Vinnies quickly solved).
I hope we can come back there soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beccab00
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am very happy to recommend Island Vinnies and DiveIndia. As several reviewers have pointed out, it is important that you realize that this is a place that's all about the diving. If you are looking for a Maldives-type experience then you are really looking in the wrong place. If you can come without such unrealistic expectations of luxury and simply expect a comfortable, friendly and professional dive experience then you really can't go wrong.
The accommodation is perfectly comfortable with effective fans, working plumbing, and even quite warm water which is not always to be expected in such far flung locations. We had no huge problems with Mosquitos as we came prepared, and the nozzle nets in the tented cabanas were in good order.
The Full Moon Cafe, is sometimes slow but always serves very good food with an excellent choice and only occasionally were things not available. Again, very good indeed for a remote destination. I should be pointed out to westerners that there is no alcohol served there (as in much of India) but you can always go and stock up at the wine shop in the nearby town and can sometimes even find ice at the local shops to chill your beers! The prices in the cafe constitute very good value for money.
In terms of arranging transfers and ferry meet and greets, we were very impressed indeed, and were grateful for the help when a delayed flight caused a missed ferry.
The real strength of the place lies in the dive shop team. They are a tremendously professional, patient and well educated bunch of young men and women who do a superb job. M husband has dived in 15 countries and he thought them the best team ever. I needed to brush up my dives after a long gap of several years and felt very safe and encouraged; helped, but not smothered. The ratio of dive masters and instructors was good, and even though it was the busiest time of year there was always elbow room on the boats.
The best thing, though, was the fact that my two sons did there first dive there and had absolutely first class help and instruction. We were very grateful to the staff for their patience in making it a truly special day for us all.
All in all, I hope to go back when our boys are certified and dive further afield. The coral nearby was not living, and poor vis due to high winds took the edge of the more accessible sites. However, my husband went further afield and said it was amongst the best diving ever. So what are you waiting for? Get out there to Island Vinnies!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had a seriously fun holiday at Vinnie's. The staff, the dive shop , the instructors and divemasters all made my very first experience diving an absolutely fun one. Did my NAUI OW with Henning who made the course fun and but always ensured we were perfect with our skills and safety. Would also strongly suggest Melissa & Vikas , both of whom have a lot of experience and a lot to teach themselves. Though the standards seem high overall with the teaching and divemasters. Only 4 students per instructor at any given time.
The housekeeping is faultless,though recommend you save your money for the dives and stick with the upgraded hut for accomodation. Be sure to sign up for as many dives as you can whle you are there. My course was 4 days so I went in for the 6 night package which included 2 fun dives- was just right for me.They also have night dives during the 4 full-moon nights(plan ahead if you can). Spend the money on the transfer service as it saves you a lot of trouble with ferry bookings and getting to and from Havelock.
If you're taking a day off take a scooter (Rs 350 for the day-pricey!) not a bicycle to Radha Nagar beach - it's 10 kms each way. Also important to find time to laze around the property and spend an afternoon napping on one of the many hammock's strung up by the beach. The Full Moon cafe is where you will always find yourself when you are not diving. The prices are reasonable and the portions are massive. No alcohol served but easily the best food on the island.
I missed the kayaking with Tanaz but looked like fun. Plan to sign up next time.Also plan to spend more time on Neil , the dive sites are supposed to be less crowded (though crowds usually mean 4-8 more people at any one site at a time). Going in Dec-Jan usually means a couple of days of rain but dives continue and it usually clears up

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoodykaBoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our bunch of friends had been to this place in the last week of nov this year, one important point to mention about this place is its not so luxurious as it may seem and this place is all about diving and water activities as the beaches located here are very supportive for the aforementioned activities.We purchased an adventure Andaman tour frm 99andaman.com which offered us Island Vinnie at Havelock & Fortune resort in port blair fr 2 days.Agent is well known fr Andaman and on their suggestion we chose island vinnie

the location of this place is hardly 20 minutes from the port and its located just by the side of sea shore and is surrounded with lots of coconut trees as well as hammocks. The total resort is built up of Cabanas and hut houses the concept was really pretty impressive, the cabanas are having double beds and a storage shelf as well as an attached bathroom with hot water availability, and its all covered up in mosquito nets as the major problem with this place is mosquitoes menace, and they even provide Lounge chairs out side cabanas facing sea, overall its very strange experience staying here we felt like one should definitely experience this at least once in a life time, food is really excellent in this place and even reasonably priced,

Full Moon café is really awesome they have very friendly people and the range of cocktails as well as deserts served by them are ample in number and are very impressive they kept on taking our impression day by day with varied varieties, they do cook food in different styles up on request, over all very satisfactory experience.

Coming to the main attraction of the resort there diving team is definitely an asset to the place as they are well trained and are very professional in conducting diving programs, they are highly skilled in calculating the environmental issues favorability for diving, the marine life at this place is really a visual treat for the divers, get ready to be distributed by dog barking at nights.

Room Tip: anything with allout or kachhua chhap
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ravinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris France
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed there for 1 week and we really appreciated it. There is few kinds of accomodation at a very afordable price, you also get a 20% discount on your room price if you dive. We visited a few places before choosing it and i guess it was the best option.
Located in a very nice and well kept area (clean tropical garden)
The staff was friendly but slow.
Bamboo huts at the back side are cheap(ask for cleaning if you lock the room), and the common bathroom very clean. Few toilets and bathroom , cleaned few times per day and never had to wait.
Hot water if your lucky.
Very nice restaurant on the beach, quiet, relaxing with good ambiance music.
Good food and serious dive center.
Very friendly staff, smily and helpful
We have a very good stay
We will recommand that place
Many electricity cut off, but like anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank last4road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a lot of research about dive schools and places I zeroed down to Dive India, Havelock Island. It was impulsive to go with Island Vinnies as the Dive school was at the same place.
After a few mail exchanges with them I and my wife opted for a 6 day dive course and 10 day accomodation with them(Check for their Specials: http://www.islandvinnie.com/rates_specials.html).
Unfortunately the diving part of the trip was a dud to me due to a bout of flu.Wifey completed her diving course and I kept myself engrossed in Clive Cusller novels on a hammock by the beach courtesy of the resort.We even braved a hurricane where the island was shut for 3 days with travellers stranded in havelock until it calmed down. All in all an excellent trip.

Whats so "Bang On" about the resort ?

- The location: "The resort is on the beach which is advantageous because you sleep to the sound of waves, you can step out of your room and see the beach at about 20 mts away, you can take a stroll whenever you want"
- Clean rooms
- Available housekeeping: You can get your sheets changed or rooms cleaned at any time during the day.
- Friendly Resort Staff: They helped me with things to do, help me hire vehicles, information(I needed this during the hurricane),
- Super Cool diving staff: They help you in the learning and they are your guides for entertainment in the island
- Hammocks on the beach: Need i say more
- Amazing restaurant: Yummy food : Extraordinary desserts
- Value for money : Especially if you take packages; Nowhere else will you get all the above mentioned services for the money they take from you.
- Sam and Frodo - 2 labs who actually run the resort.

Room Tip: Go for the Tented Cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbhishekSooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
0.2 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Havelock Island
621 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 12 in Havelock Island
371 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
372 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 12 in Havelock Island
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana

Property: Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana
Address: Havelock No 3, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Vinnies Tropical Beach Cabana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Island Vinnie`s Tropical Beach Cabana Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing