We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barefoot at Havelock
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent a part of our honeymoon at Barefoot and the courteous staff, the lovely cottages and design of the resort, the beautiful beach and the wonderfully silent jungle, all this made the stay very memorable. I would totally love to go back!

The only slight let-down was the food. The sea food, whatever we had was good, but other kinds of Indian food is not that great, though not bad either.

Room Tip: Choose any of the cottages, we were at the cheapest one, but that was very comfortable too, even tho...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimisha_Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
There are newer reviews for Barefoot at Havelock
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

After a 24 hour journey from London we arrived at Barefoot exhausted, but we were welcomed by the lovely staff and the most beautiful scenery which made it all worth it. We stayed in the tented cottages which were like a scene from Harry Potter, when you walked in you didn't expect a four poster bed, a mini bar, changing room and big open bathroom. Beyond our expectations.

The staff were lovely especially John, who saw to our every need and our lovely waiter Sean. The food was yummy! Fresh and so tasty. We also did yoga, which is set in the most beautiful surroundings overlooking the forest everything is lush. The teacher was brilliant and so friendly, he also does yoga massage, gutted we didn't know about this until the end.

Would highly recommend staying here, has a lovely chilled vibe and you are minutes from Beach number 7 which is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been too. Go! Go! Go!!!

Room Tip: The tented cottages are a little cheaper than the actual cottages, but are still lovely and cosy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at barefoot for 3 nights in the 2 nd week of February. It was a great experience!
Clean, comfortable cottages, helpful and courteous hotel staff and good food in the restaurant.. What else can you ask for?
The location of the hotel is out of the world! Amidst a dense forest and yet just a 2 min walk from the beach.
The beach is stunning and the visibility under water is superb.
If you want to snorkel or dive, this is the place to go.
The scuba diving instructors are very good and with a one on one instructor my 1 st attempt at diving also felt so easy!
Great holiday, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yams14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back after celebrating our 2nd Wedding Anniversary over there and words just can't just describe how we feel. In short the place is paradise, with a lots of greenery, peace and quite and an awesome staff n health spa. Completely isolated from the mainland and the hustle and bustle of daily city life. A very special mention to the manager Rajesh, Julie, John &Neil. Thank you for everything. Looking fwd to come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but would personally suggest u take the Nicobari cottages, which are very ver...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the tented cottage at barefoot - (the budget option). However, these were very smart, with a four poster bed, a separate dressing room, bathroom, and are in the style of an African safari tent.

The cottage was decorated very nicely, however the one flaw is that there were a few wild visitors to our room every so often - given that the resort is in the middle of the jungle this can be expected but some guests may not enjoy this side of things.

The restaurant is good, while our waiter, Sean was superb, remembering exactly how we liked each dish and taking responsibility for us at every meal.

Barefoot's flagship feature however is its position on beach number 7. It is truly stunning, and one could stay there for weeks on end.

The one major flaw with the barefoot group however is their relationship with 'the nest' in port blair. While it seems hard to avoid a night in port blair, avoid staying in their sister hotel, where the staff are unfriendly, do not speak english and the hotel (if you can call a half built apartment block that), is out of town with no taxis available. This was a dampener on a brilliant week at barefoot, and i would advise you to try to find somewhere else to stay!

Room Tip: Tents on the ends are perhaps quieter!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The atemosphere of barefoot is wonderful with a beautiful rainforest backdrop. The beach is only 100 m away and is probably the best beach we have visited.

The restaurant was reasonably priced, with the wait staff very attentive and helpful.

Unfortunately we caught bed bugs in one of the huts, and staff failed to believe us despite showing them multiple typical bed bugs bites. They were very quite unhelpful and did not offer an alternative room, nor offer to clean the hut or our belongings. In the end we slept on a mattress on the ground.

Other than the bed bug fiasco, it was a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: the tents are very nice but quite far from the facilities i.e restaurant and beach. avoid the hut...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had travelled to havelock on march 2012. Before that we browsed internet for best location, and almost all the search results ended with Barefoot @Havelock. Price is on the higher side, but reviews were excellent. We booked the resort, opting for A/C villa as we were going on early summer (mid March). Booking process was hasle free. Contacted the reservation team through email, and response was quick, with all options properly described with associate charges (A lenghty email though!!). the reservation was confirmed within a day after confirmed payment.

Pickup facility were arranged by Barefoot, with Ferry charges (one can opt out for this, however opting is convenient). Luggages were properly tagged for Barefoot, and we did not have to look after it until we reached the resort. Resort is located few steps from the famous Beach No 7. Only a handful of resorts (one or two more may be) are located on the western side of the island. Isolated from the crowd, and with one of the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. A complete white sand beach.
Staffs were good, soft spoken and very helpful. Always eager to solve any issues. Foods are perhaps the main attraction of the resort. Extremely good multicuisine dishes. They also have a relaxing lounge beside the reception.

Rooms are extremely maintained, along with the bathrooms, and room service also was very helpful,

Will definitley go back..

Room Tip: Andaman Villas are A/C and on higher price side. If planning in December-January-February, then Non...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bidesh_Bandyopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
4.3 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
518 reviews
4.4 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
567 reviews
4.7 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Havelock Island
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 12 in Havelock Island
373 reviews
10.8 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
374 reviews
11.5 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot at Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot at Havelock

Address: Radhanagar Village, Havelock Island 744101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Havelock Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range: $169 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot at Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover India's best kept secret - the Andaman Islands - at the Barefoot Group's first eco-retreat called 'Barefoot at Havelock.' Located exclusively on what TIME Magazine in November 2004 rated as the best beach in Asia, our small resort is set in rain forest and tropical fruit trees behind a pristine 2 km white-sand stretch of the quirkly named Beach No. 7 at Havelock Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barefoot at Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot At Havelock Hotel Havelock Island
Barefoot Havelock Island
Barefoot Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing