We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Honeymoon Resort in Asia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barefoot at Havelock
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“#1 Honeymoon Resort in Asia.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

What can we say about this resort. We went for our Honeymoon 4 yrs ago and promised to return on the 5th Anniversary to relive the moments. This place is out of the world, serene, quite, the beach is simply amazing and the sand is like Talc. The cottages are excellent and the concept of huts in the midst of jungle is good. They maintain a very peaceful atmosphere in and around the resort.
1. The Restaurant dishes out the best of Continental and Indian food (Even the foreign guests enjoy the food).
2. The resort provides free towels and mats for resident guests, so that they can spend quality time at the beach.
3. The ‘Best beach in Asia’ is just a few steps away from the reception.
4. The Resort also offers customized and personalized trip to ‘St Lawrence’ island, which is the best experience on the trip.
5. Staff is very courteous and overall the Resort offers true value for money.

Room Tip: Prefer taking the newly built cottages if you're a little specific about facilities and make. El...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogeshGupta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    248
    45
    20
    16
See reviews for
307
533
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had our honeymoon there. We spent 5 nights at havelock and as suggested to us by quite a few of friends that Barefoot was the place to be, we booked a stay here. And we were not let down. The cottages here are located apart from each other, that you feel that you are alone in the whole place (privacy at its highest). About rooms, they are as good as you would get.
The restaurant also served very good food. We were Jains, so had some special requirements in food, but the staff was well versed with all the specifics of Jain food and never ever faced any problem with regards to that.
Just as my friends told me, I also tell the same thing that if you want to be at havelock, which you must if you are going to Andamans, then Barefoot is the place to be! :) (Also, book in advance during holiday seasons, difficult to get rooms)

Room Tip: we stayed in AC villas for a couple (forgot the name), which were good. Most rooms are well spaced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaylakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Barefoot is probably located at one of the best locations at Havelock at beach no.7
Its almost 1/2 hour scenic drive from the jetty. I stayed here with my family (wife kids & parents) . We stayed in the Andaman Villas ( 1 & 5). Probably Vila No.1 is older and hence is maintenance prone and the interiors have a washed-out look. The AC drain pipe got choked and it had to be rectified at night.
Nothing can match the location of the resort.However don't look for worldy comforts outside the Resort. The resort has a section of beach no.7 as private. The best time to be at the beach is at 6:00 AM (during sunrise) when there is practically no one there. We were all vegetarians and the food was good. Only problem were the smelly glasses that we each time had to ask to be washed with warm water.
The hotel staff is helpful and does go out of way to help you. My wife managed to arrange a b'day cake for me as a surprise(chocolate flavour only available).

Room Tip: Choose Andaman Villa numbers 4 or 5 as these were constructed later and are in better shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAKUPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

In the other reviews you can read of the many great things about Barefoot. I'll sum it up:
Its the best option in any of the Andamans and is very nice. Excellent staff, amazing location, all good.

4 things that were Annoying, and that, at the price, I would have expected to be resolved.

1. Booking was a royal Pain. I know it was high season, but the booking process was so cumbersome I almost canceled my visit. Massive cut and paste e-mails from the booking team, too many attachments, no clear communication, awkward reservation system where you send scans of credit cards and passports. Give me a break. For the price I would expect much more

2. A month in advance they were unable to book our ferry tickets. This is a service they offer and they were completely unable to help. At the end of the day we had to enlist a 2nd travel agent to arrange for this. Super annoying, again, almost canceled the trip because I was like, wow, I can't even get to the island?!

3. Swim with the elephant. We really wanted to swim with the elephant. Online it seemed like the elephant is just one of the residents and you can go for a swim with him whenever he is in the water. Not the case, He only swims with groups of 5, for almost $200 USD a head arranged by the dive shop, AND, you need to make a booking. Had I known I needed a booking then I would have made one, or attempted to make one months ahead of time when I was attempting to book my ferry tickets.

4. No sunset drinks. ok, I know I'm getting down in the weeds here, but at an expensive resort you would think this would be a normal request. I understand that drinking in the Andaman islands can be a touchy subject but I also expect a high end resort to manage these relations.

At the end of the day I've paid the money to relax, feel comfortable and chill out, not to be arrive weary and stressed from the booking process only to be told that, sorry, no elephant for you and forget about your sundowner. I write this because the resort is amazing and if they could resolve these issues they would be on their way to the TripAdvisor award that seems to alluding them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCaptainHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Barefoot Havelock and were very impressed with the hotel.

Staying here gave us the opportunity and privilege to experience one of the most beautiful parts of the world. What impressed us very deeply was an inherent respect and awareness in Barefoot’s philosophy of the spectacular environment it is in.

Each staff member we encountered at Barefoot seemed completely devoted to their jobs and was willing to go above and beyond their duties for their guests. Barefoot is fortunate to have staff of this caliber and each staff member in their own right is a strong asset to the hotel.

We would like to personally name and commend these people without whom our trip would not have been as extraordinary. John, Jane and Neil at the front desk who were especially congenial, courteous and helpful. Shiv our waiter who made us feel like the restaurant was our personal kitchen. Rajendran who took us trekking in the rain forest and introduced us to Rajan the elephant and whose passion for the environment rubbed off on us.

At barefoot Scuba Resort: Mike who took us fishing and David who took us Kayaking. Ambi, Nikhil, Rahul, Praful, Nalin, Karan and Emma who patiently and fondly taught us how to scuba dive and catalyzed a fun activity into life long hobby for us.

We will always have warm memories of our trip and will be happy recommend Barefoot to any one who wish to visit the Andaman Islands. There is no doubt that we will come back to the Havelock and that we will stay at Barefoot again.

Room Tip: Andaman Cottages are spectacular. Tents are 'ok'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmerchant009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went to barefoot for new years and had an amazing experience. From the moment we checked in we were treated with a lot of care. The resort is in an extraordinary forest setting and the rooms are warm and welcoming. Radanagar beach is one of the best beaches one could ever experience. We would highly recommend a forest trek with Rajendar the yoga instructor/guide from barefoot. We found the staff to be warm and profressional, and tried their best to customize everything to cater to our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShekarSudhaNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Barefoot at Havelock is surely the best lodging option currently available at Havelock Island.
It lies in the middle of a rain forest close to the magnificent Beach n. 7, an immense and wonderful white shore shaped on the ocean where the biggest population is represented by small crabs. The sea is not as calm as expected, often with big waves breaking on the shore but the environment is unique, very wild, with the emerald green jungle all around and an elephant sometimes appearing on the beach (for the few tourists pleasure).
So the scenario is upscale. But the beach is public and you don't find any kind of beach equipment in front of the hotel. In other words you cannot expect to find sun lounges or beach umbrellas.
The resort is composed by two different kind of bungalows, with or without A/C
The A/C bungalows more expensive seem to be slightly better than the others but in winter time there is no need of A/C. The bungalows are wide and clean also if the not A/C ones appear a bit dated.
The restaurant offers a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner with an huge menu and a lot of choices, vegetarian, not veg, indian or european. The general level of food is very good, absolutely surprising.
The service level is adequate and in general the indian management (that recently replaced the italian management) seem to put the due attention to the customer needs and details.
What is a bit below the expectation is the organization of scuba and snorkeling activities not managed directly in the hotel but delegated to the sister Barefoot scuba company located in another village on the island.
To snorkel you are obliged to make a boat trip with the affiliated company because there the beaches around are not suited for snorkeling and this is a pity.
One of the most fantastic beach you can see is really very near at a short walk on the main beach (Neil's cove) but here you risk to be a bit worried by the potential crocodile menace (you can check the sad story concerning this beach).
There is also a Spa offering Ayurvedic massages and other therapies.
In any case you can stay at Barefoot in a very pleasant ambiance and perceive the wilderness atmosphere with all the comforts, It has a certain price not so low and something surely should be improved by the new management in order to improve efficiency and general quality eventually with some adjustments to the structure of some bungalows and the management of activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lionitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
4.4 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
561 reviews
4.4 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
509 reviews
4.6 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Havelock Island
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Neil Island
364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silver Sand Beach Resort
Silver Sand Beach Resort
#9 of 12 in Havelock Island
630 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coral Reef Resort
Coral Reef Resort
#6 of 12 in Havelock Island
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot at Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot at Havelock

Property: Barefoot at Havelock
Address: Radhanagar Village (Beach No 7), Havelock Island 744101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Havelock Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot at Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover India's best kept secret - the Andaman Islands - at the Barefoot Group's first eco-retreat called 'Barefoot at Havelock.' Located exclusively on what TIME Magazine in November 2004 rated as the best beach in Asia, our small resort is set in rain forest and tropical fruit trees behind a pristine 2 km white-sand stretch of the quirkly named Beach No. 7 at Havelock Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Barefoot at Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot At Havelock Hotel Havelock Island
Barefoot Havelock Island
Barefoot Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing