We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wild Orchid

The Wild Orchid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good bar”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It's one of the few places on Havelock where you can purchase alcohol, so it's very nice for an evening beer. Thay have a beautiful terrace overlooking the jungle. It's very cozy and the music is nice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank athariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    54
    21
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tandoori fish is great”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The red snapper is the actual name of the restaurant

The food is generally good , the prices are resonable!
We choosed fish from:
The display and they cooked whole fish tandoori.
The fried fish fillet is also great !
We also liked the butter nan and the garlic nan(bread made in the tandoori woven)
Make sure that the waiter is understanding well your order in english!
Take a Sula wine!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaMariaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We did not stay at Wild Orchid but made it a point to visit the restaurant for lunch based on reviews on internet.We ordered prawns, fish with tartar sauce, pepper chicken, noodles with chicken in garlic sauce.The tartar sauce seemed to be an extension of Indian raita and prawns were just okay. The service was bit slow, but may be they prepare the food fresh and hence take a while. Overall we did not find the food to be that great, it was just average.
The ambiance is good, and the waiters were very polite and friendly. The restaurant has a rustic look with thatched roof and paintings of different types of fishes all around which we found to be unique and interesting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krpune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
480 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Best Professional Restaurant on the Island”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is the best laid out restaurant with a nice bar. Has weekly live music. The long list of specials are posted on a wall behind the reception. We had fish, paneer and Saag-Alu with Laccha Paratha. All were excellent. Charging for sliced onion was tacky!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Havelock With Wild Orchid”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon vacation with a bit of nervousness but went back filled with amazing memories and experience of true Andamans. Clean and cozy rooms with ample water supply, courteous, kind and co-operative staff, helpedme with whatever we wanted, nice bar and the most important AMAZING SEAFOOD at their Red Snapper restaurant. Great ambience of both the roms and the restaraunt. The money spent was well worth it. The beach was just behind the hotel, convenient to take a swim at any time of the day, just the thing you expect when you go to Andamans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaviDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Orchid also viewed

Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
 
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
 
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
 

Been to The Wild Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing