We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A near-perfect stay”
Review of SeaShell, Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SeaShell, Havelock
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Sea Shell Havelock was a lovely stay for us in April 2013. The quality of the cabins (we had a chalet) was great and certainly a step above the majority of cabins on Havelock, which tend to attract backpackers. Like a previous reviewer before me, here's my review of the following:

Staff: extremely friendly, provide a welcoming atmosphere and great service. We stayed here for 9 nights, and they went out of their way to talk to us and be helpful every morning and evening.

Location: the location isn't as good as I thought it would be, as the majority of accommodation resorts and restaurants on the island are the far side of the central market - making it imperative to hire a motorbike / scooter (don't forget your driving license!) or make friends with a local tuk-tuk driver. The location, however, is close to the jetty for the ferries, and one restaurant, Barefoot.

Food: mixed.....their breakfast buffet was pretty weak - tasty but very few options. Their bar menu had a range of Western and Indian options, but they rarely had anything in stock of the Western variety. Saying that, when we ate from the bar (lobster one night, and spaghetti another) the food was exceptional - really excellent. Eat their chips - they were really really good!

Quality of accommodation: very very good. Clean. comfortable, felt a little bit luxurious given you're on a tropical island. It's definitley a step above the rest of the accommodation of the island, and attracts a different sort of visitor because of it. There's also a bar which often plays music but will always turn it off by 10.30pm.

Overall, a great place to stay, particularly if you're not looking for backpacker accommodation - as a couple, it worked great for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flower1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 525 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here this January end as a part of our andaman trip. It was our 5th marriage anniversary and I wanted it to memorable. After lots of survey I narrowed down to their hotel in Port Blair and booked a package including a stay at this resort. Overall I am quite satisfied with the resort. The property is quite big, restaurants, lounge, etc. They have a kind of private beach though you cannot take a swim in the waters. However the sun-beds present you the option of viewing the nature unhindered.

Location:
To start with the location is good. Almost all resorts in havelock are adjacent to the beach, so theres nothing special about it though. However its very close to the jetty which is an advantage.

Rooms:
They have quite a few category of cottages to suit all budgets. However we felt the chalet category of cottages though lowest price-wise are the best located. The chalet cottage we stayed at was quite cosy with clean decor, cosy bed and good amenities. The cottages are air-conditioned and the AC is good. The cottage no. 110 we stayed at was closest to the private beach.

Food:
They have a restaurant and a bar. Both are very good. Food though a touch pricely is of good quality. The breakfast buffet though should have more options. The bar is well-stocked and have mocktails and cocktails aplenty.

Staff:
A big plus point of this chain of hotel and resort is its staff. All are very well-bahaved, always up with a big smile, you get what you ask for. During all our stay we never had any request that was not responded to.

Special note:
The time when we were staying the resort had lots of young couple boarders which was somehow good for us. The environement was that bit more romantic. If you are going on any special occassion the resort has the option of booking a candle-light dinner and a bed decor (obviously on shedding some penny but worth it). The resort has very good view of the sea and the time spend on the sun-beds sipping freshly cut tender coconuts or a chilled beer are worth experiencing.

Negativity:
Since Havelock overall has not much of action specially after evening the resort will be better of arranging some entertainment/sporting options for the boarders. At evening excepting sipping at the bar theres not much to do. The resort has no intercom and since its quite a huge property you need to walk all to the front-desk even if you require a bottle of mineral water.

Sister resorts:
Its a sister resort of its hotel at port blair as well as neil island which is also a plus-point. While booking your Port Blair hotel you can actually book a tour package from sea shell covering havelock and neil (the two islands are a must visit if you are touring andaman).

Summary:
Overall its worth the money they charge you. Havelock itself is very beautiful and scenic and the resort makes the stay that bit nicer. A good hotel/resort is so very important for a tour to be memorable and thankfully Seashell didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: Take the chalet cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank souravsg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at SeaShell as part of our MakeMyTrip package to Andaman, and we loved every bit of our stay here.
Located near a beach (not a sandy one but strewn with corals and mangroves and palm trees), the hotel is just about everything you are looking for to unwind. My husband and I took long walks along the coast and discovered colourful oysters.
The cottages in the resort are surrounded by palm and coconut trees and you may also find the hotel staff fetching a few.
The hotel lays out a buffet for every meal. While the food is fine, you may start craving for variety soon. Sea food lovers may not enjoy the food here. The good thing though is that the local market is at a 10-15 min walking distance from here. While there is nothing much to shop (you will find touristy stuff, including Kashmiri clothing and handicrafts), you will come across plenty of eating joints and a couple of good restaurants. The resort also has a bar which, apart from serving drinks, serves some good food. You may want to skip the buffet some time to try this out.
My husband and I hired a bike one morning and rode to the Radhanagar beach. We had enjoyed the beach with the group the evening before and but had the beach to just the two of us early in the morning. The bike ride was fantastic to say the least.
Oh yeah, the resort also offers massages though they may not have a masseuse readily available at all times.
You may also go for scuba diving from the resort. An expert group is always available for this.
I don't have many words to describe the experience we had. Posting a few pics of the hotel to help you get an idea.

Stayed as a couple in October 2011.

Room Tip: Any room is good. You won't be staying in the room as much as laying down under the umblesas in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuradha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

pros:
1. Nice location on the beach with palm trees
2. Room is good sized e.g. mattress can be added with some space left over...and nicely appointed,
3. Good service...welcome drink..room cleaning..etc..all great..

Cons:
1. Food was only buffet...good choice but indifferent quality....still wonder why the only good fish/ sea food we had in our 8 day stay in Andaman was at Sinclairs Hotel and "New Light house restaurant both in PB....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The property is close to jetty and has a access to a beautiful beach behind the property. The staff is good and helpful. The security guard was really good person and very helpful. Food was ok and can be improved. The lagoon rooms are very specious. The probem is that you dont get hot water here however you will not need the same:-). I would suggest to rent a bike while staying in Havelock as it is the best option to explore the island.

Room Tip: take a room closer to beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pappupass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Seashell hotel in Port Blair ( Andamans ) was a lovely hotel. Great food, nice rooms, well located.
We loved the music on the terrace during dinner.
The food ( especially fish) was really good and fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for three days during April first week (2013). The stay was just awesome. We were lucky to get the best view room. We opted for a Lagoon room and the view from our room was breathtaking. The beach at the backside of the property is so crystal clear, serene and gorgeous! We even had candle-lit dinner and the service and the food was very nice. The managers-Manoranjan and Shiladitya were very friendly and co-operative. I would like to mention the security guard- Ramesh who helped us out in smallest things like arranging for a bike or auto or even change! He would always go an extra mile to serve customers. Breakfast was just ok, howvever the last day's breakfast compensated for the rest of the days'. A small issue was: when we checked in the room was not ready so we had to stroll around the beach for about an hour...but that was absolutely fine since the beach is so beautiful that you don't mind! :-) I would certainly visit Sea Shell given a chance. Sea Shell rocks!

Room Tip: Room #126 is perfect for a good beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beautintelligent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
2.0 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Havelock Island
668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#6 of 12 in Havelock Island
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Neil Island
381 reviews
13.8 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
139 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 12 in Havelock Island
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaShell, Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaShell, Havelock

Address: 3 Havelock Island, Havelock Island 744211, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Havelock Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range: $168 - $789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaShell, Havelock 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach side resort provides an excellent view of the clear emerald waters and coconut trees studded beach. Its well-appointed suites with modern amenities, warm and welcoming staff ensure that guests are comfortable and cared for. Dining options include our all-day dining "Urban Tadka" which serves a multi-cuisine fare. "Fluidz" our bar gives you splendid view of the sea with the mouth smashing mocktails, cocktails and flavorsome seafood. With well trained staff manning the kids play zone, couples can relax and enjoy the serene beauty of the resort, or indulge in some spa therapy or choose our in house scuba diving centre to explore the ocean. With the swimming pool having a kid's pool and a Jacuzzi, you are bound to have a memorable and fun time with your family at SeaShell, Havelock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your SeaShell, Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashell Havelock Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing