We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Property”
Review of SeaShell, Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SeaShell, Havelock
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were sold this property stating that they have their own private beach but sorry to say that's a big lie and because of this the rooms are highly priced

Restaurant too small and even the air condition did not work properly

No room service and at times they did not even have stock of coke and beer

At times we had to tell the people at the reception to switch on the motor for the water for the bathrooms and this we had to do by personally going to the reception as the intercom was not working

A few good things - Good location from the ferry point hardly 5 minutes walking. Good food and yes we were allowed to party hard and till late at night and the waiters did try to give us good service

Room Tip: dont settle for room numbers 119 / 120 / 121 / 122 as they are just opposite the main road and the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mundraravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 545 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Sea shell resort is one of the best resorts in Havelock Island. It has amazing rooms with all necessary amenities. It offers a wide variety of seafood, followed by breakfast buffet which is complimentary and is very well made. Though it is a very small island , it is very peaceful and worth visiting.It is only at a 2 minute distance from the port.The location is excellent.The resort is very well maintained and managed. It also has a small portion of beach adjoining with it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sugandh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

In November we were at Sea Shells and we saw the tripadvisor certificate of excellence in this hotel, and the truth is that was terrible. One poor waiter in charge of the whole restaurant, what made the service terrible. Food was below average and prices similar to high standard restaurants we paid 2500 bucks for 3 main dishes, one appetizer and one pasta dish. The rooms were very badly kept. The atmosphere awful! So, before you get into a hotel with a tripadvisor certificate, go online and check based on how many reviews they got that certificate. It was a waste of a nice opportunity to had a great stay in any other hotel because we trust the certificate of excellence.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rinki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A lot has been written about Seashell Havelock, and hence I would like to keep this review short.
First of all, the pros...the location is excellent. It is very close to the jetty as well as the small market area in Havelock town. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. There is a small beach adjoining the property which has some stunning views, though it is not fit for swimming. There are enough sun beds with umbrellas where you can just sit back, relax, read a book or just take a short refreshing nap anytime during the day. There is also a bar located in the middle of the property which is a nice place to spend some time in the evening.
Now the problem areas.... there is no hot water, no room service, no intercom and they accept only cash. Even the food is not as great as compared to the price. Nevertheless, please note that no where in Havelock you would get hot water or credit card service. There is a major power issue in the town and hence this is a standard problem across all properties. We were told that when the resorts/hotels were constructed, they were given the choice of either ACs or Geysers and all of them chose the first one as the weather is hot and humid almost throughout the year. Hence ACs are a must and hot water is seldom required.
We chose the Lagoon rooms which were very nice and spacious with all modern amenities. There is a small patio for the lagoons. The Cottages are beautiful but with a major disadvantage of having the bathroom in ground floor and bedroom on top floor. Chalets are small and currently there is some construction going on next to it, so there will be some disturbance there for sure.
Breakfast spread was decent, nothing great.
Overall we like our 2 night stay at Seashell and would love to go back due to the serene atmosphere the property has.

Room Tip: Choose the lagoons, chalets are small and cottages have the bathrooms on ground floor. Carry mosqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krpune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Dont get startled by the title! These are the only two flaws of this property! The resort is located at just 2 mins drive from the jetty. The food was decent enough. The rooms were cottages and were equipped with all facilities as found in other SeaShell properties at Port Blair and Neil. yes, ther is no hot water owing to the electricity shortage on this island. The resort opens up to the shore which is lined with corals. But come high tide and the water line touches the resort! A good number of relaxing chairs are aranged facing the shore. The resort arranges candle light dinners on request by the shore line. The resort is well maintained and has a decent landscape. Since, the resort has maintained lot of trees, the mosquitos maybe a menace when walking outdoor. Although not a big problem.

The havelock market, AXIS and SBI ATMs are further 2 mins away from this resort.

Room Tip: None of the rooms face the shore, so any room will be good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annoyket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had the time of my life at Havelock. Of the various resorts that I saw in Havelock, there was none that came close to Seashell in terms of ambience, service, food or the view. Stay at this resort and you don't even have to bother going out! Best food on the island and very reasonable rates!My suggestion would be, don't look else where!

Room Tip: Another great advantage that you have is with the location. It is very close to the Jetty, so you sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shashank_5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The resort has a mid size area, with cottages reasonably spaced out.Cottages look nice exterior. Inside is crammed with the bed width being small and extra mattress on the floor making it difficult as well. However, the fantastic view of the calm sea, makes more for all that. During the low tide one can take a sea walk & look out for many sea creatures. It could be risky so watch out. Their food was very good, including the lachha paratha. A tender-coconut-wala comes in to sell fresh-plucked from their trees. Late evenings, you can relax in under the huts on the beach chairs watching the calm sea. Again, watchout for crabs, scorpions, etc..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Rajakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
2 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 13 in Havelock Island
580 reviews
1 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Havelock Island
700 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#2 of 6 in Neil Island
142 reviews
4.4 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 13 in Havelock Island
1,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
Silver Sand Beach Resort
Silver Sand Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Havelock Island
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaShell, Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaShell, Havelock

Address: 3 Havelock Island, Havelock Island 744211, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Havelock Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range: $171 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SeaShell, Havelock 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach side resort provides an excellent view of the clear emerald waters and coconut trees studded beach. Its well-appointed suites with modern amenities, warm and welcoming staff ensure that guests are comfortable and cared for. Dining options include our all-day dining "Urban Tadka" which serves a multi-cuisine fare. "Fluidz" our bar gives you splendid view of the sea with the mouth smashing mocktails, cocktails and flavorsome seafood. With well trained staff manning the kids play zone, couples can relax and enjoy the serene beauty of the resort, or indulge in some spa therapy or choose our in house scuba diving centre to explore the ocean. With the swimming pool having a kid's pool and a Jacuzzi, you are bound to have a memorable and fun time with your family at SeaShell, Havelock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your SeaShell, Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashell Havelock Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing