We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Resort with Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We found this resort to be very convenient and accommodating. Best value in that surrounding area. I would recommend to anyone traveling to south of port Blair. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and greeted us with a smile and made sure everything was as we wanted. I remember the Manager Name "Vikas Chouhan" . He has very efficient work ethics and know exactly what to suggest the guest .He arranged the most beautiful and old school type candle light dinner for me and my family. It was totally awesome experience and can't never forget those spectacular moments.

Very clean and modern facility,through out our 4 nights stay. Location is close to beach. I will definitely stay there again on a future trip to this area. The rate is very good for the value I received.

Room Tip: North side of the entrance.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
There are newer reviews for Munjoh Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 567 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went to Havelock in a group of friends in Jan. Being stressed out, tired city folk, we wanted a complete end to end travel solution and just wanted to enjoy our few days off.

After looking at some of the top rated resorts, we contacted each one via email and phone. The guys at munjoh were the most responsive and professional in their replies and understood our requirements instantly. They did everything for us, the travel arrangements cars and ferry and sea plane on the return.

After a long journey we reached our final destination, the awesome island of havelock! I will never forget the sight of the beautiful water right from the jetty! Suddenly all our aches and pains were gone.

We were picked up and checked in efficiently.
The rooms are all so pretty!!!
Being a group we had various room categories and each one of us individually felt that every room we stayed in was perfect.

Their beach!! It is the most beautiful beach i have ever seen! And so serene and peaceful, i could sit for hours reading my book.

After 2 whole days of rest (the sun sets really early for us city nightbirds) we started our adventures.

First stop- diving with doongi dives. How cool is that you get into their speed boat from their beach itself!! We had seen other resort divers being lugged on trucks to go to the jetty and were pleasantly surprised when we had to board the boat from the resort itself!

Next stop- sightseeing. Awesomely organized and thought of and great fun! They packed in radhanagar, kayaking and some trekking along with yummy refreshments and beverages.

Then some of us tried the spa service. The masseuse is such a cutie and has the softest calming touch. I was so relaxed, i went to sleep :/. They also offer beauty services that looked pretty good.

Last stop- candlelight dinner on the beach the last night we were there. We weren't really sure about this one because we had heard it was only for couples and uber romantic etc but we were gently co-orced into it by the munjoh staff for a memorable send off. Thankyou guys!!
It was the most incredible setting i have ever eaten in! It was out of this world! I have not seen more stars in my life and your beach set up is just amazing.

The food was fantastic each of the meals we ate there. The chef gotam met us and asked us preferences and allergies and cooked up some wonderful 'specials' that we walloped.

All in all an amazing, a hassle free holiday experience.

The andaman islands are unreal, please go already.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amiti g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

perhaps the best place to stay at havelock.we spent two nights there,first night in a cottage with a living room,a kitchen,a grand bedroom and a grand bathroom with attached dressing room.the next night we spend a night in one of the luxury villas.both were wonderful stay.the walk down to the private beach from the villa and the beach with all its layout is a tell tale experience.the restaurant with its ambience and the food quality was perfect.the breakfast was great.the resort staff very courteous.spa experience was also great.in a nutshell,a very soothing stay.

Room Tip: choose any room.everyone is a marvel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hima2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to havelock on a trip with my wife on 10th march 2013 and stayed for 2 nights. a wonderful place in terms of location. the rooms were very clean, brilliant ambiance, very quiet, only sound u could hear was the breeze and the roosters :) the private beach is a nice place to be in the afternoons with a beer accompanying you, tho it can be taken a bit more care of. i was pretty impressed with the food quality. initially i had a dilemma about this place after reading a few comments from users here, but i must say i was amazed by the services and hospitality i experienced there. Staff was really helpful in terms of guidance and support. especially the one on the front desk, Mr. Vikas chauhan, he was a wonderful help throughout our stay, every time we required something, vikas was our go to man. Also sunny and nikhil were very friendly, logical and helpful. thanks sunny for helping me with choosing the water sport and guiding me selflessly towards it. also there was a slim guy whose name i cant recall, but he helped us with our transportation every time we missed our meals..yes we missed them lots of times :D over all a wonderful experience and all the credit goes to the place and even more to the staff, who made our stay very comfortable, and assisted without any fuss.
And since now i have the first hand experience of this place, I would strongly recommend everyone visiting the island to stay at munjoh..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhupenderk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This has to be the Coolest resort in Havelock. You'll live in some of the finest cottages that are built with great taste. All of them have wooden interiors and a spacious sit-out deck. You can pick a beverage from the resort's fantastic multi-cuisine restaurant and sip it the whole day at private beach (about 150 meters away). The resort beach has hammocks and sitting arrangements under tree shades facing clear green waters. It's a rare experience!

You don't have to pre-plan your scuba diving or other activities at Havelock. Simply speak to 'Nikhil' at Munjoh and he'll plan the Best for you at justifiable rates. The reception and service approach of the resort manager 'Sunny' is warm and unique. He'll ensure you get the Best of everything at all times. There is also an arrangement to have a beach side candle light dinner at night and it comes at a price. Its an expensive stay, but one won't regret it.

Negatives: Restaurant service takes time and is slow. So have patience.

Room Tip: Choose any room, there is no sea proximity fuss. Families of 4 can choose the Garden Cottage with 2...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

At first the pros
Absolutely amazing beach, friendly staff, clean and neat place, large property and fairly large rooms, decent food. The property is a fairly new one and is supposed to be the best as per the locals in Havelock

The cons
The hotel is Work in Progress. By that I mean all rooms are yet to have 24hrs hot water ( i dont think they plan to have it anyways). Refrigerators are not available in the rooms as of now. And yes no room service!!! The layout of cottages is weird, since half of the garden cottage balcony faces a wall about 3-4 feet away!!! hence the relaxation element is just not there
The main issue is the rooms come at a minimum of Rs 8500 (approx 150 USD) per room night. At that price the above mentioned missing items are expected to be present.
But if any of you put the beach at topmost priority... THIS IS THE BEST PRIVATE BEACH AROUND!!!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagdish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent our last winter vacation at the Andamans of which we spent about 4 days at the Munjoh Resort in Havelock. To summarize it in one word - it was amazing!!!. The natural beauty of the island is surreal. The resort with its idyllic cottages among a palm grove next to the beach create an environment of unmatched peace and tranquility. It is an excellent place to relax and unwind.

My highlight was the sunrise at the adjacent beach (Beach No. 5) and the moonlight stroll on the beach post dinner.

The food is excellent; breakfasts sumptuous.

Rahul / Sunny Bajaj - the manager is a nice jovial guys and is always available for helping out the guests. In fact, they went out of their way to rebook me on the afternoon Catamaran from Port Blair to Havelock after I missed the morning one due to flight delay.

I would recommend their local transportation package. Even though it is a bit pricey, it takes away a lot of the hassle (and haggle) associated with arranging local transport and Makruzz Catamaran tickets.

The only thing that did not go well was our attempt to do Scuba with their sister organization - Dungi Dives. Due to some confusion, the boat left without us and we ended up going to the Ocean Tribe scuba - which by the way was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but I would recommend the ones that are independent cottages near the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saikat_HYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
2.0 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Havelock Island
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 12 in Havelock Island
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
374 reviews
12.0 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
136 reviews
4.4 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 12 in Havelock Island
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munjoh Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munjoh Ocean Resort

Address: Beach 5, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Havelock Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range: $195 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munjoh Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Villas & Suites, nestled amongst swaying betel nut and coconut trees and a natural fresh water rivulet meandering through to the azure waters of the Andaman Sea on an exclusive beach front. 'Your Own' private beach resort- with personalised service, unique luxury & comfort and complete guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Munjoh Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munjoh Ocean Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing