We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Scuba Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Barefoot scuba is a brilliant place for spending your time in Havelock. It is located pretty close to the ferry and even the market area. Ideally, a person can rent a scooter from near Barefoot scuba and then head off to either of the beaches.
Havelock would be the best place to spend most of your time in the Andamans. The resort has a nice cafe called cafe Del Mar , which has reasonable priced food and all the food tastes brilliant!

Doing Scuba diving is a must and is one of the most interesting experiences a person can experience! I did a course there , but ppl can do a single dive as well. For those who do the course , can also stay in the Bamboo shacks at the resort which is very cheap !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnirudhKaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 366 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Havelock Island is an amassing place if your thinking of visiting think no more just go. The beaches are comparable to the Maldives but the atmosphere is so much more chilled, just like Thailand 20 years ago. Barefoot is a perfect complement to the island and my husband and myself had a great stay at the resort. Staff were super friendly, the rooms and we had a sea facing cottage were good, slightly shabby round the edges as you kind of expect from India but the bed comfortable and a great view of the sea to wake up to. Oh and the restaurant excellent, you must try the butter chicken. To die for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auds2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and couple of my colleagues stayed at barefoot in its budget shacks. We planned this for the diving site and gr8 reviews online. Boy we were in for a surprise. Not only did we love the site for its serene location , lack of hustle bustle and untouched pristine beaches the cafe has a gastronomical delight. The dive was also a great experience and these guys also packed lunch bags for us which was not part of the package too.
Highlight was the beach football with the divers and the cooks on the backdrop of a overcast sky. Loves it.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank live2travel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great 5 Stars PADI scuba team. Clean, committed, friendly, professional.
Went out for the deep dive sites like DIxons, Jacksons, Johnneys, Broken ledge etc. all very nice. With speed boot about 45 to 1h trip one way. With "slow boats" almost double it...

My son (10 years) did the junior OWD with Dutch Instructor Ramco & French Instructor Anne - both very professional with a good feeling for young children needs. Both spoke some German as well. My son did the OWD within 4 days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

If you are looking for a pure diving holiday - there is no better place to stay at Havelock. The A frame huts seemed like a bargain, but my partner and I stayed in the duplex bungalows - which worked perfectly. Close to the beach and to the dive shop - I would rather stay here and dive and then explore the island post.

We did out AOW course with the resort with Nikhil, who taught us the ways of the deep. We stayed on for a couple of more days and got as many dives as possible in.

The Divemaster crew was an absolute riot with Rehaan, Anuj and Hanna joining/leading us on multiple dives. They were great both underwater and above water. We did not have any issues and explored divesites aplenty. Dixons pinnacle was probably our favorite site and we dived it on multiple days.

I would recommend checking with the diveshop on the sites the speedboats go to. They are better than the wooden longboats and you can complete 2 dives and be back before noon, as opposed to closer to 2 pm.

Would highly recommend this place and the DiveMaster crew.

Room Tip: The bungalows on the far right (while facing the beach) have less through traffic and are further aw...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JosephRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

the resort staff and the divemasters are fun as they're very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
one is stress free when training under them. A tourist's comfort and safety is very well looked after by the highly qualified and experienced instructors.
i'd recommend this resort for those who're interested in trying a hand at diving . with its fabulous location, one can have a great vacation and a learning experience together.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Thought I didn't stay at the resort I did my advanced open water diver course through them.the staff was most professional and Vinod was a great instructor.he was extremely patient and knowledgeable.he made every effort to ensure that we saw everything there is to see down below.saw 3 shark in 1 dive.that was the best experience. Besides that saw turtle, sting ray, scorpion fish , octopus and the list just goes in.one of my best holidays

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank SoniaTravelCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havelock Island hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Havelock Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#6 of 12 in Havelock Island
377 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 12 in Havelock Island
1,053 reviews
1.0 mi away
Havelock Island Beach Resort
Havelock Island Beach Resort
#1 of 17 in Havelock Island
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Scuba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Scuba Resort

Address: Beach No 3, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock Island
Price Range: $2 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Scuba Resort is the only 5 star PADI Istructor Development Dive Resort in the Andamans.With 4 types of rooms to suit budgets ranging from 3 Euros per day to 50 Euros per day,this resort has always been renowned as a melting pot of Havelock where you get to interact with a wide variety of fellow divers & travellers.Also famous for Cafe Del Mar the oldest and best known restaurant at Beach No.3. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing