We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Beautiful and Great Value”
Review of Emerald Gecko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Gecko
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, Beautiful and Great Value”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Emerald Gecko is located at Beach no. 5, on the east side of Havelock. It is located at around 100m from the road and directly at the beach with lots of trees for shade. We stayed for a whole week with our family of six, four kids aged 3, 8, 11 and 13 years old. They have not been bored for a minute. The restaurant is good and serves fast. We stayed in Bamboo bungalows which were the right accommodation for a holiday at the beach. No AC, no computers, no TV. Instead playing in the sea, diving, snorkling, gathering shells, building sand castles and floating objects. Parents relaxing... This is how a holiday should be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IIHappy_FamilyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    111
    18
    14
    12
See reviews for
43
133
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here Dec 2012. I saw the excellent reviews however this was not my experience. The restaurant food was OK. The Bungalow was sooo hot during evening. I had one close to the sea so all the stray dogs wander there especially during he evening hence I had to leave the door closed with no air. OMG was it HOT. I found the place dirty, overpriced and the staff sullen not suprising as it is peak tourist season then. My bungalow was close to the kitchen so I observed how hard they worked from early morning to late in the evening in a very basic kitchen.
I would never return to Emerald Geeko. The place needs a good cleanup. My advice would be to go somewhere else that has Aircon with nice clean rooms. There are plenty of places to go that are better and cheaper by far than Emerald Geeko. I was booked to stay one week, looked elsewhere and I found a lovely place much cheaper with a clean restaurant, pleasant staff and a good night light. If you decide to stay at Emerald Geeko please bring a lightbulb with you as the huts are very poorly lit. Maybe the huts with the stairs are better as they get a breeze upstairs where the bedrooms are located ,also the stay dogs cannot come directly into your bedroom space. VERY OVERPRICED, BASIC FACILITIES.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maycole666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel is situated on Beach no 5, Havelock. I booked a Bamboo lodge accommodation for 1 night. Being a eco friendly resort, it was mentioned to me at the time of booking that no AC , TV will be available and I didn’t feel that requirement during the stay. The resort is barely 10-15m from the beach and the beach is kind of private. I stayed most of the time lying on the beach. The bamboo lodge accommodation has a attached bathroom with open roof and covered with bamboo from all four sides. Despite being so close to beach, bathroom was very neat and clean. Resort personnel were very nice and helpful. Very calm and nice stay. NO phone network.
Black Beard is the resort restaurant which served great food. Indian as well as continental meals were available. Fixed breakfast menu was included in the room tariff. They can arrange for candle light dinner but mosquitoes in the outdoor are a great problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibhutiprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We returned after two years, and Emerald Gecko is still a perfect place for us to stay, this time for 18 days. The location is superb, with constant cool breezes and shade amongst the palms and mangroves, space for our hammocks, and great people to meet. Manoj and his team are always helpful and smiling, and the included breakfast offers a good range of tasty options. Black Beard Restaurant offers a comprehensive menu, including some excellent fresh fish. We always hire a scooter, and that was arranged for us with ease, and Manoj was able to get us petrol when it was in short supply on the island. We appreciate the drinking water fill-up, and also took advantage of the convenience of their ferry bookings and pickup/drop off service. They were also able to make some train reservations for us. We find our bamboo log cabin very comfortable and clean, and enjoy the outdoor shower, especially in the rain. Havelock water is always a pleasant temperature, but there is also hot water available to collect if it is needed. We had a great time, and find Emerald Gecko a uniquely special place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

pluses:
The place is definitely beautiful, peaceful, serene and on a very beautiful beach - beach #5.
Staff is probably the best that I have seen at any such property.
Well ventilated huts.
Water refilling station near the reception.

minuses:
Many people have called this a budget hotel in their reviews but only one review was correct, the huts are definitely overpriced for the amenities. I have paid only half of this in Goa around new years for a hut.
Well ventilated huts. However, they were built in such a way that any reptile (small or big) could creep in. I wish they had window nets.
The fan was slow and it was very humid in late feb / march.
Their restaurant, Black Beard didn't have any licensee for selling alcohol hence we had to buy our own.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skwatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Situated on a lovely strech of sand near the end of the beach, this cluster of huts is well maintained and very peaceful. We stayed in a bamboo cabin about 150 meters away from the beach: it had an outside patio, an attached bathroom, good mosquito net and a fan plus a friendly social scene buzzing due to the physical closeness of the cabins.

During our 11 day stay most of the patrons were middleaged europeans/canadians with children or couples in their 30es. The staff at the resort were very helpful and we ended up organizing snorkeling trips+onward travel trough them. Would recommend taking their meet and greet service and skipping spending an extra night in Port Blair organizing ferry tickets.

There is however a large number of stray dogs on the property: the pack of dogs staying outside the resort on the beach are very friendly but also very territorial. This brings me to the only complaint we have - one morning the dogs attacked a small puppy on the beach, that crawled under hut nr. 1 severely bleeding. All children (us included) on the resort were upset& worried over the puppy and kept trying to get it out and trying to get the staff to help and do something. They told us not to worry and they would take care of it, but for all I know the puppy bled to death under that hut. In India dogs are considered worthless vermin, I see that: my objection is, that in service industry you shouldn't say you going to take care of things and then fail to do so. Especially, if you are running a buisness geared towards an european clientele with perhaps slightly different perception on things.

All and all we were really happy with Emerald Gecko: being able to get hot water from the waterboiler on the yard was a nice plus, as were the clothelines set up in the sun to dry our clothes. It is by no means luxorious, but well worth the money. With a couple of tweeks it could be paradise regained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuusaTuomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Feb.

1. The cottages are nice - clean, comfortable and very functional.
2. No running water available in the rooms in the afternoons and early evenings. have to go to the reception and ask them to start the motors (which they do very promptly).
3. The restaurant is very nice - good food and excellent ambiance, especially when they layout the tables outdoor in the evening. No alcohol available.
4. The restaurant service is verrrryyyyy slow - almost always during my stay I was repeatedly told that they were short staffed. The reasons ranged from them making it to the finals of a local cricket tournament to staff simply not being available. It does irritate you when you're on a holiday and have to wait for an hour for a cup of tea or for 45 mins for your breakfast.
5. Having said that, the staff is very courteous, polite and friendly. They try their best to minimize inconveniences to patrons despite being severely constrained. Kudos to them.
6. The front desk was very efficient and helpful. They helped us out with boat tickets for the return to Port Blair and other local stuff without charging anything extra. They also allowed us a late check out without any hassles.
7. It has a beautiful beach. Do i say more?!

Overall, it's a good place with a good team. It's owned by the same entity that owns The Wild Orchid in Havelock which is a posher setup, and I feel they divert resources from here to ensure Wild Orchid is well run. They would do better to support the current team which has some great people by resourcing them better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitg_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
1.0 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Havelock Island
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 12 in Havelock Island
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 12 in Havelock Island
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
503 reviews
11.8 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
361 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barefoot at Havelock
Barefoot at Havelock
#1 of 12 in Havelock Island
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Gecko

Property: Emerald Gecko
Address: Beach # 5, Havelock Island 744211, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is essentially a ‘better’ back packers budget resort and therefore have limited facilities. We are very popular with international guests looking for a relaxed beach hut type atmosphere. We also take pride in being environmentally friendly and hence do not have air-conditioning TV's and telephones. Hot water is available by bucket only at the wood fired boiler near to the rooms. We try and reduce the impact tourism causes on our little piece of paradise as much as we can. Therefore our Policy is against surplus usage of resources. Our property is rustic, made with organic material (bamboo mat walls, thatched roof), open to sky showers etc and therefore may not be suited for all (If you do not like open spaces and are scared of nature then this place is not for you) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Emerald Gecko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing