We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...Different Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havelock Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eco Villa Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Havelock Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

One has to have a different expectation when one is in Eco Villa Palm Beach Resort.
We stayed in Triplex which is close to Reception and a bit inside the beach front - but no qualms to the location of the hut since we would down the beach side table or sit on the beach itself.

The resort (if it can be called a resort) offers another experience which is a bit rustic (though there is a geyser in bathroom, and a TV, Fridge fully stacked...some huts also had AC), and since it being rustic one feels close to the nature. The ground/earth around huts are all mud and sand - though aesthetics are tastefully done. Since the ambiance is done natural/eco friendly setup once shouldn't complaint of cat, dogs, frogs etc.
The kids collected lots of shells on the beach of the resort...

Our room was a very different experience a two & 1/2 story ( Triplex) bamboo hut, with nice balconies - but when the view and sitting outside the hut is fabulous why would stay inside.

While we are sitting outside and enjoying the peaceful stars filled night, we met the owner/manager Mr. Sajan - we were soon engaged in a engrossing discussions around environment sustenance...Mr. Sajan seems to be person with his own mission and commitment towards environment - he seems to be pretty much into reptiles, crocodile, dugone, tortoise... preservation activities...the discussion soon moved to eco-friendly buildings and architectures - wherein again he seemed to know a lot !
While we were having discussion we did take the opportunity to complaint to him on the food being on higher side of prices...however got to know that much of the food on menu had to be brought into island from outside and the price of it by the time it reaches becomes quite high.

Anyhow we had two breakfast (though very limited) and two dinners - we enjoyed the food thoroughly, I guess when you have less of it you enjoy more of it :-)
I loved the taste of the tea (english breakfast) prepared here - being a bit finicky about the tea, milk, sugar combination.

Room Tip: Pick any villa or hut but enjoy the resort in general especially during mornings and evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent location with breath-taking views. Huts are very eco-friendly. Best place to relax and cool your heels. You will have no net connectivity as there is no wi-fi facility. TV facility is also shaky. However you and your children will not miss this at all as you are bound to lose yourself in nature's lap when you are at the resort. One suggestion is that something needs to be done for the erratic electricity supply, though this also did not bother us at all. To sum up it is a wonderful different experience. Will love to stay here if I visit Havelock again. Kudos to the management, please keep the good work going.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a beautiful, nice and well maintained place. Our AC cottage had a television and fridge. We get our cottage cleaned as we wanted. Service was really good and friendly.
Only bad thing about Eco Villa is that I don't think it is worth that money it costs during high season though the place is fine. And if you want to go for a snorkeling trip, we understood the fee is 4000 INR if you book the trip from Eco Villa. From the market place we had the snorkeling for 800 INR.
But still, I warmly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very uncomfortable beds, 4 cm mattresses on a hard board. Hot water very rare, in 5 days, we could only get one warm shower. Small and smelly huts. Electricity was out most of the time. One room is 89 euros. For that price you can get much better on Havelock. The worst is the organization, the boss had made arrangements for transfers from Port Blair and we had had to pay everything in advance. We missed the ferry, it is impossible to come from Calcutta to port blair and take the ferry that same day. So we had to pay one night in Port Blair and an extra one on the way back. Total, we paid four times for two nights and the boss M. Sanjen did not refund anything, he did not acknowledge his poor organization. Now the staff is very friendly. The island is very nice but quickly and anarcchically developing. Hurry up if you want to enjoy it.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Eco Villa in Dec 2013. Having read a lot of the reviews, I was slightly disappointed with the experience.

Pros:
- Location on the beach
- View of the beach
- Clean property and helpful staff
- Truly eco-conscious (availability of garbage bins to collect plastics, use of CFL)

Cons:
- The management has not maintained the property. While sleeping, we could constantly hear termites chewing on the walls.
- Power backup does not exist - and should be provided for at least two lights and one fan in every cottage. With power outages for 12-14 hours a day this was a big inconvenience during the stay.
- Only one table available in the cottage that is not sufficient to manage your personal belongings.
- Restaurant service can be more efficient (the food was excellent though!).
- Check out time is 9 am

Overall:
The property can be transformed into a world class eco-friendly resort with some effort.
The owner is planning on renovating the property so make sure you plan your visit accordingly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyDivision2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Out of the world views, environment, atmosphere, service. So relaxing that you feel like spending the whole day in villa admiring the nature.

Prices a bit in the higher side but definitely gives you that much worth peace.

Room Tip: Duplexes offer a good view and an awesome porch to sit back and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jatin2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

On an island where accomodation is available for 300-500INR a night, this ones a bit steeply priced, with nothing significantly extra to offer except a room amazingly close to the sea. There are others that you could find close enough too. Depends on how much you think that's worth.
Pros-
Great location in terms of commute and view from the room, the view could make every other concern with the place seem much smaller, its stunning
Great service- Sajan, the resort owner was a friendly guy always willing to help with a smile and so also the staff
Meet and greet services-Airport and ferry transfers they offer are quite a convenience
Cons-
Electricity kept going, probably a problem on the entire island
Geysers barely worked, so hot water was a problem
Insects in the room, something you cant avoid due to their 'eco' make i guess
The beds were quite hard and gave me a body ache
Verdict-If you're diving, stay at Island Vinnies, else, this is a decent alternative.

Room Tip: We stayed in a duplex villa for 4, in bungalow no. 2. Ensure that you have mosquito nets on both dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KrupaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock Island
2 mi away
Munjoh Ocean Resort
Munjoh Ocean Resort
#4 of 13 in Havelock Island
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 13 in Havelock Island
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Havelock Island
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wild Orchid
Wild Orchid
#5 of 13 in Havelock Island
416 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
418 reviews
13.8 mi away
SeaShell, Neil
SeaShell, Neil
#1 of 6 in Neil Island
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Villa Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Villa Palm Beach Resort

Address: Beach 2, Govind Nagar | Havelock Island, Havelock Island, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > Havelock Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Havelock Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Havelock Island
Price Range: $168 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resorts spread in 1.5 Acres of land adjoin to sea in Govindnager village. The distance of cottages and huts are 1 to 5 meters from the beach offering a breathtaking view of the Andaman Sea, lush landscapes, coconut palms, and unspoiled beaches. With its exotic tropical beauty and relaxing hospitality, this getaway is the perfect place to enjoy relaxation and rejuvenation of the mind, body, and soul. The cottages is equped with referigerater, cctv and hotwater with green back up for electricity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eco Villa Palm Beach Hotel Havelock Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing