We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Polly Harper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Polly Harper Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Geneva B&B and Inns
1 review
“Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very clean and well kept. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, but what an amazing experience. Only downfall is in winter all the wineries close so early:(. My husband and I had an amazing anniversary overnight stay. We had the place to ourselves which we liked very private. Its absolutely adorable all the care and planning you can see went into the place. We would def go again and I've already encouraged friend couples to see for themselves. Loved the jet tub!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilditchcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Incredibly clean. We've stayed in score of B&B's. Never found one this clean! Extremely well decorated-just short of over decorated. Very cozy, comfortable, and romantic. Read the other reviews here; they're spot on.
Very unusual setup for a B&B. No interaction with the hosts except when you check-in. You cook your own breakfast (well, in our case, a quiche, 3 minutes in the microwave—easy) with other goodies. Just-okay breakfast, taste good, big even though you think it's not. In Polly's room, you dine alone. Romantic, but odd for a B&B. Very little interaction with the other guests. Great for some, I suppose. we enjoyed it—this time. Great for that very special, romantic get-away, gas fireplace, etc. Just very nice. Close to the top-notch Ferrante Winery and "Italian" Restaurant. Also close to the wonderful South River and Grand River Wineries. Hint: Eat lunch at Grand River and dinner at Ferrante. Then another day, enjoy a bottle of wine at the converted chapel at South River. Unfortunately, we missed the grand opening of a winery almost directly across the street from Polly Harper B&B. We also did not have time for the trail down to the river. Next time. Advice: Take your own pillow if you can, their pillows (and bed) are very firm. If you like to party, Debonne Winery and Brewery is also just west of here.

Room Tip: Look at their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I went on an anniversary trip overnight. We stayed in the Annie Harper Room, and had a wonderful time! This room was totally affordable and the care that was taken was fantastic! The room was ultra clean, and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding! Because the Annie Harper Room does not have an eating area inside their room, you eat in the common area. I loved it that no one ate with us. We had the whole common area to ourselves! Waiting for us first thing in the morning was homemade quiche, and beautiful homemade pastries like scones and blueberry streusel, along with bagels, fresh fruit in parfait glasses, orange juice for each room, cereal, coffee, and tea. The owner also let us know that there was popcorn that we could pop if we wanted a snack at night!

When we arrived, there was a sign on the door that said to go next door to register. This is the owners' home. We arrived, and the owner was very kind and full of information. She checked us in and gave us our keys. You get two keys, one is the front door and one is your room key. The front door is locked, so it is secure. There are only 3 rooms in the Polly Harper which is nice too. When we walked in, it felt so welcoming and inviting. There is soft classical music playing when you walk in, and soft lights are on at all hours in the common areas.

I just can't say enough about the care that the owners take to make this a great stay. Please don't pay attention to any negative reviews on here. It was a fantastic stay and I have not one complaint. Clean, Friendly, Plenty of Fresh Homemade Food, and tons of care have gone into making The Polly Harbor a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marchellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms and setting of this B&B are simply lovely! The Inn sits right on a beautiful vineyard on a country road. It is peaceful, quiet, and very cozy! Another great feature is that it is literally a 30 second drive down the road to the BEST winery in Ohio, South River Winery! The Inn keeper does not serve breakfast in the morning, rather, they leave a variety of food out on a tray and in the refrigerator labeled with your name. You just help yourself to pastries, fruit, cereal and quiche, which you warm in the microwave. The upstairs guest rooms are both very spacious and tastefully decorated with country charm! The location of this B&B is truly special with the surrounding vineyards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Oh
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Beautiful, unique inn: absolutely spotless, well appointed, extremely quiet with LOTS of privacy and in a wonderful setting conveniently located to all of the wineries. One negative: breakfast was delicious and ample, but they had a very unusual set up for serving-it was pick up your own in the kitchen and take it to your room (and heat up your own quiche). We also had only one coffee filter in our room: since we made coffee the night before this was an issue in the morning as we could not find extras anywhere. We hated to call the innkeeper for such a simple, but to us, irritating oversight. The in room jacuzzi was very nice, and the water pressure and temperature fabulous. Room temperature was also easy to regulate; towels and linens vey soft and bed very comfortable. We were surrounded by grapevines and beautiful flowers.

Room Tip: I don't think you could pick a bad room in this inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyonabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Polly Harper Inn could not be any more perfect for visiting the area wineries. The innkeepers are very cordial and unobtrusive. The rooms are immaculate. The breakfast is wonderful. Breakfast is left downstairs in the morning by the innkeepers (they live on property in a separate house). We had quiche, fresh fruit parfaits, bagels and various sweet rolls. You can eat in the common area or take it up to your room. We will definitely stay here again AND recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmp309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Polly Harper Inn on the first night of our 20th anniversary getaway! What a beautiful place! Sue greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room..The Polly Harper Room was divine! Spacious, remarkably decorated, it was just perfect for our celebration! The gas fireplace in the room was lovely for the chilly, rainy night and the whirlpool tub was beautiful. The eating area off the bedroom was perfect for our meals (we stayed in!). The 27 step staircase to the top of the Polly Harper tower was lovely at night. The lighting (candles in each window, nightlights along the stairs and lights in the trees on the property) is a wonderful touch. We happened to have the entire house to ourselves. Breakfast was delicious...quiche that we just popped in the microwave, fruit, scones, bagels, pecan rolls, coffee, juice. We took ours back to our room to enjoy at our private table overlooking the grape vineyards. As others have stated, if you are looking for interaction with the owners or other guests, probably not the palce for you....but that is NOT what we were looking for and we were not disappointed in the least! We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
14.2 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
#1 of 6 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
8.2 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Polly Harper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polly Harper Inn

Property: The Polly Harper Inn
Address: 6308 S River Rd W, Geneva, OH 44041-9349
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Polly Harper Inn Geneva, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing